We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Derwent Dam

Derwent Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great walk and nice views. Parking was very difficult ! I'd suggest an early arrival to avoid this small problem. All of the dams are of similar design but defiantly worth a good look. Shop was a little pricey but seen worse.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    83
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Spent the afternoon walking round part of the Derwent Reservoir with family an dog , it was a beautiful day which made it a most enjoyable time also saw the Ladybower Reservoir when there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyBrown65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TELFORD
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing place, quiet, peaceful and spectacular!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were in the area driving to Sheffield and we had some time to kill so we thought we would go and have a look. What an amazing discovery, I have been to Hoover Dam in Arizona and although Derwent is not as tall, you can get really close to the face of the dam here at Derwent. It's amazing to see the water cascading over the edge. The surrounding area and countyside is outstanding and we wished we could have stayed longer. (a return visit pehaps) We really wanted to walk up the valley further to Howden Dam, but we didn't have enough time. The visitors centre has enough to offer, food, drinks, information and toilet facilities. Have have to pay for parking but it's not too bad if you want to stay for a few hours or even the day?
One thing I did learn from this visit was that two villages were flooded in order to make the reservoir that leads out from below the dam, Derwent (some ruins can still be seen if the water levels are right) and Ashopton.
Bring your camera, there are plenty of great photo opportunities. There also plenty of picnic tables and seating near to the visitors centre.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ManHeadingNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Superb place. Lovely cafe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We parked in the car park of Upper Derwent Visitor Centre. You can pay for a 2-hr stay or pay for the all day parking. They have a beautiful cafe. We got some veggie pastie, sausages and coffee from the cafe and sat on the outdoor seating overlooking the reservoir. The view was beautiful and the food tasted so yum.

Then we walked to the Derwent dam. Derwent Reservoir is around 1.5 miles with Howden Dam at the north and Derwent Dam at the southern end. There are some steps and gate next to the Derwent dam that take you to a higher level and you can then continue your walk to the nothern part of the reservior. The walk is beautiful and it is lovely to see how the water flows on the dam.

We were having such a wonderful time in the valley that we never wanted to return back to the hotel.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LotusLakeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have visited this place during my Peak District birthday weekend and I don't regret it at all. My wife an I had a 3-4 h ride (on our bikes) around the dam from the main car park and we enjoyed it a lot. We were surprised to see it that busy at the beginning of the spring and we can only imagine how busy it might be during the summer months.

The car park is big enough to accommodate a lot of cars but there are also a few other smaller car parks around so I don't think parking will be a problem. The road goes round the dam with the water on one side and forest on the other side. There are a few other roads going deeper in the woods if you have the time or energy to follow them.

Be aware of the ducks in the car park, they are begging for food and they surround you like a pack of hungry dogs but they are quite funny in their attempts of getting your attention. They are harmless but they can be a nuisance if they see yourself eating.

A great day out for the family.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Derwent Dam also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Derwent Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing