We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A walk on the wild side!”
Review of Kinder Scout

Kinder Scout
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A walk on the wild side!”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Although I went in August it was a windy, misty day with no views whatsoever BUT it was so atmospheric I really enjoyed it. A true sense of isolation. I will return again - but will check the weather forecast first!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank T1z3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    41
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must Visit Place for all Walkers”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Historic place to visit for walking as we know it today and the birth of the National Parks. Views are fantastic and on the right day the wind will push the water from the waterfall back up.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lives up to its Victorian reputation”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

if you walk in the peaks and the lakes, you know what to expect! come properly dressed and prepared, follow the usual safety precautions and have a great climb!

Helpful?
Thank Manc_Mummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great walk for all abilities, but not too strenuous”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Lovely scenery, but go on a good day because if the weather forecast is in any way poor it can be bitter on the tops. great walking in this whole area and lots of great pubs, inns and other attractions.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great place to walk”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

highly significent place for rambler everywhere does get busy in the summer months but well worth a visit for any rambler intersted in the birth or walking freedom as we know it

Helpful?
Thank acr64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kinder Scout also viewed

 
Edale, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Kinder Scout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing