We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be taken lightly”
Review of Kinder Scout

Kinder Scout
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not to be taken lightly”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Whatever route you decide to take to the plateau of Kinder, it will be a bit of a challenge. Just take comfort in the fact that once you get to the top it is nice and flat :).
Six of us did this walk on a punishingly hot day you need plenty of water, decent walking shoes and a nice packed lunch for the top.
Kinder waterfall was down to a trickle but it was still lovely and cold and refreshing.
The route that most people take is the trespass route we actually did reverse Kinder and came dowm that part and it is still just as hard with some steep steps, slippery pathways due to all the water that runs down. Just be careful and take your time whatever the weather. Enjoy and happy walking

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lamb_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    41
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“come walk on the moors up kinder scout”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is ware i spent my Sundays as a child with my brother and cusons what a place but you need to be fit to walk up kinder i have allready had my story of kinder in the stockport heritage magazine not far from the village of hayfeild

Helpful?
1 Thank dottybee393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just go do it and say you've done it.”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I'm scared at the erosion damage off paths but the walks are unparallelled in the brilliantly accessible Peaks. Kinder is the place to see amazing views of all corners of the national park. Unlike the other ranges in the UK, it's beautiful rather than awesome. However it's part of Manchester and East Midlands cultural history and anyone can come to Edale by train and do the 45 min stroll to the huge plateau. I am a casual birder and with no stopping or binoculars we saw pippets, curlew, hares, hen harriers, kestrel, larks, quail, black and red grouse, all the finches and (long tailed/great/blue/marsh tsit apparently these cuties are too rude for tripadvisor), all just there enjoy. Go see it before it dries out or erodes completely.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Huntsman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great walking”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Always a great area for walking, particularly when the sun shines and the rain stays indoors-but beware as the weather can change quickly and then you will need your map and compass!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Highest point in Derbyshire”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The Kinder plateau is the highest point in Derbyshire - except it isn't a point, it is a largely flat moor made of peat. Very good for walking, and it is easy to lose sight of people, though it is close to the huge conurbations of Manchester and Sheffield. Site of the Kinder Trespass, which was partly responsible for the right to roam - a right we are still fighting for against the landowners.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kinder Scout also viewed

 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Edale, Hope Valley
 

Been to Kinder Scout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing