We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the faint hearted, but fantastic”
Review of Kinder Scout

Kinder Scout
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Not for the faint hearted, but fantastic”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We started this walk from the Sportsman pub in Hayfield and walked by the reservoir. There is a steady climb and some stunning views on the way. We decided to take the harder ascent via the stream that descends the peak. Be prepared to scramble at some points and take the right clothing. At the top of the steam there is a stunning and rewarding view, but it gets better as you take a further ascent to the peak. The view from here is nothing short of breathtaking and it is windy at this point. Apparently, it is windy all year around, but at nearly 3,000 ft above sea level this comes as no surprise.

You then take a fairly flat walk over the ridge and see changing scenery from big rocks, peat and what looks like a desert as times. Finally, the descent begins down a path that was laid a few decades ago until you finally reach a bridle way / track. It is very rocky and I recommend wearing sturdy ankle length boots and use trekking poles, otherwise if you have weak ankles like me you could be on the floor! There are varying pathways off to the right, but we elected for the roadway back to the beginning. All in all, it is about 9 miles and took us nearly 5 hrs. Our dog was shattered and slept rather well that night....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Youngklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    42
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ramblers dream”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We walked up to Kinder with our two children aged 8 and 10, we were well equipped and prepared as seasoned walkers... And yet we were still met with families wearing nothing but shorts, t shirts and converse boots!

We set off from Edale and literally had to scramble across rocks and along a waterfall for approx. 200m towards the plateau. The weather changed and the winds picked up with some drizzle however my children's sense of achievement coupled with the spectacular views made up for the change in weather.

Awesome walking and you really get an appreciation of just how quickly the conditions can change up there making for some tricky navigation. We cut our walk slightly short as I didn't want to put the kids off and we decided to quit whilst ahead with them. Next time we walk a slightly longer circular route taking in some of the other scenes and landmarks.

Go but just go prepared and well equipped. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not to be taken lightly”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Whatever route you decide to take to the plateau of Kinder, it will be a bit of a challenge. Just take comfort in the fact that once you get to the top it is nice and flat :).
Six of us did this walk on a punishingly hot day you need plenty of water, decent walking shoes and a nice packed lunch for the top.
Kinder waterfall was down to a trickle but it was still lovely and cold and refreshing.
The route that most people take is the trespass route we actually did reverse Kinder and came dowm that part and it is still just as hard with some steep steps, slippery pathways due to all the water that runs down. Just be careful and take your time whatever the weather. Enjoy and happy walking

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lamb_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“come walk on the moors up kinder scout”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is ware i spent my Sundays as a child with my brother and cusons what a place but you need to be fit to walk up kinder i have allready had my story of kinder in the stockport heritage magazine not far from the village of hayfeild

Helpful?
1 Thank dottybee393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just go do it and say you've done it.”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I'm scared at the erosion damage off paths but the walks are unparallelled in the brilliantly accessible Peaks. Kinder is the place to see amazing views of all corners of the national park. Unlike the other ranges in the UK, it's beautiful rather than awesome. However it's part of Manchester and East Midlands cultural history and anyone can come to Edale by train and do the 45 min stroll to the huge plateau. I am a casual birder and with no stopping or binoculars we saw pippets, curlew, hares, hen harriers, kestrel, larks, quail, black and red grouse, all the finches and (long tailed/great/blue/marsh tsit apparently these cuties are too rude for tripadvisor), all just there enjoy. Go see it before it dries out or erodes completely.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Huntsman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kinder Scout also viewed

 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Kinder Scout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing