We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great walk but limited marking”
Review of Kinder Scout

Kinder Scout
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great walk but limited marking”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I have done this walk with my wife during my birthday weekend in Peak District. We have started from Edale village, followed the Pennine Way via the Jacob's Ladder and on to Kinder Low and then returned to Edale on a different path so in the end we have done a nice circle route.

The views are beautiful especially on a sunny day and the actual plateau looks like a lunar landscape with a greyish white surface that contrasts with the dark (almost black) peat and the blue cloudless sky (if you are lucky enough).

According to the maps that we had (printed from the Peak District website) the walk should have taken us about 5 hours but we have managed to do it in 4 hours even after stopping several times to take photos. So depending on your hiking skills and physical endurance you can finish this in half a day.

The only reason for which I am not giving this 5 stars is the limited marking found on the route. There were several occasions when we have deviated slightly from the original route because of unmarked forks in the route, the road becoming almost invisible through the grass and intersections with other routes not correctly marked.

However, I doubt it that anybody can actually get lost there because it is quite a popular route so you can always just follow others if you feel lost or you can just head downhill until you reach the first village.

Apart from this minor issues, it was a great day out and although it has a few steep climbs it is not too difficult for the majority of people.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    41
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire,England
Level Contributor
171 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Well worth the climb”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Nothing to dislike.Quite a pull up Williams Clough but well worth it.Very easy to get lost so navigational skills and suitable equipment are essential. It can be cold at any time of year.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Foggyphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Unusually flat hill walk, but don't that put you at ease”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We've walked up to and across Kinder numerous times and love the Kinder Plateau. Stunning views from the top make the effort getting their worthwhile. Some good pubs to end the day that serve real ales and fine food.

So many long walks taking in steep cloughs, plus good paths and the trackless waste of the Kinder Plateau. We've walked as much as 19 miles in a day, but normally aim for 6 to 10.

In the Summer paths are rocky and dusty, Winter can be frozen, or completely covered in snow (so no path to follow) which brings it's own problems. Other times they are boggy, especially across the central sections. Dry feet are unlikely unless you have good boots and gaiters/waterproof trousers.

Favourite scrambles up Crowden Clough (at the very top it's a steep scramble, a struggle for dogs) and Grindsbrook Clough. There is always water cascading down these, unless it's. Winter when much of them is covered in ice.

Conditions can change rapidly up on the plateau making for some tricky navigation. We have set off from Edale in blazing sunshine and by the time we've got to the top of Grindsbrook Clough the weather had closed in and visability was several metres. Correspondingly the temperature had dropped several degrees. We went from t-shirts to fleeces to gore-tex waterproofs. Despite this there were people on the top, ill prepared for the weather, with no additional clothing and unsuitable footwear.

We always check the weather forecast and prepare for something worse. It has saved us no end of hardship. Having endured hours of horizontal rain, white outs and hail that even a hardy labrador sheltered from.

Don't be fooled into thinking this area is suitable for the poorly equipped. People can die on these exposed hills.

Head up to Kinder prepared and you'll have a spectacular day out.

Remember to take some suitable snacks (as you burn plenty of calories on the hills and need to replace them regularly). You can never have enough.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank NeilAWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant views!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

As a Londoner-the fact I can climb Kinder Scout and see Manchester, Liverpool and Mt Snowdon pleases me greatly! A lovely day with a pub finish in Edale.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
362 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Not for the faint hearted, but fantastic”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We started this walk from the Sportsman pub in Hayfield and walked by the reservoir. There is a steady climb and some stunning views on the way. We decided to take the harder ascent via the stream that descends the peak. Be prepared to scramble at some points and take the right clothing. At the top of the steam there is a stunning and rewarding view, but it gets better as you take a further ascent to the peak. The view from here is nothing short of breathtaking and it is windy at this point. Apparently, it is windy all year around, but at nearly 3,000 ft above sea level this comes as no surprise.

You then take a fairly flat walk over the ridge and see changing scenery from big rocks, peat and what looks like a desert as times. Finally, the descent begins down a path that was laid a few decades ago until you finally reach a bridle way / track. It is very rocky and I recommend wearing sturdy ankle length boots and use trekking poles, otherwise if you have weak ankles like me you could be on the floor! There are varying pathways off to the right, but we elected for the roadway back to the beginning. All in all, it is about 9 miles and took us nearly 5 hrs. Our dog was shattered and slept rather well that night....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Youngklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kinder Scout also viewed

 
Edale, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Kinder Scout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing