We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm lost for words.”
Review of Stage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stage Hotel
Ranked #47 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I'm lost for words.”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

When I booked this room last year for £100 (4 sharing plus breakfast) I wasn't expecting the Hilton.
A weekend at Trent Bridge means roughly 5 hours sleep.....in this instance it was 5 hours of rough sleep.
The place resembles a Transylvanian castle, which I suppose is why the staff are mostly Romanian...though not great with English, they were pleasant enough.
The room had four single "beds"and several other items of furniture that looked like they had been salvaged from Ann Franks attic.
No towels, broken sockets,a kettle than none were brave enough to tackle.
Walls with holes, walls with stains, walls with someone's wipings.
A door that could possibly be opened with a soft shove.
No hot water...and a lovely view of the bin area...under which there may possibly be some bins.
We had room 38 which could easily be someone's room 101.

All that said, we had envisaged lower end accommodation and it was so poor it was funny.
Next morning we debated breakfast and decided to give it a go.....mistake.
As well as being inedible it was also indelible....it is etched on my mind as the worst cooked breakfast I have encountered, however one of our number said he had eaten worse.
He needs to get out more.
The Romanian waitress unspeaking and dressed in clothes at least two sizes too small flitted in and out and a member of staff hovered about the buffet probably to fend off people getting a second helping.
The coffee was ok, the tea was cold.

If the person you are with means anything to you at all Do Not come here....but...four mates together, up for the test match...go for it.
Bring a towel though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    27
    45
    51
    246
See reviews for
50
75
35
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Crikey, I'd never stayed at a hotel like this before where they only give you one towel and there's cigarette buts and urine in the toilet ! On telling the manager he apologised but still didn't offer to send a member of staff up to clean it let alone offer for us to change rooms, after walking bck up to the top floor with our suitcases because there is no lift I went for a shower (the shower would be recommended for the tiniest of people only) which I found I used soap bar on the floor and an empty shampoo bottle...yuk !! The whole bathroom had not been cleaned !! The walls were that thin we were woke in the early hours to hear another couple obviously having a much better time then we were !! The only good thing about his hotel would be the location, other wise if your happy to shower in someone else's filth then go for it !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LT-w84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Is Oscar here - I stay this horrible place for uk£40 and no breakfast. Is most feelthy smelling piss and toilet place I not even keep goat here. It stinking so much I think people peewee anywhere smell is bad for nose. I scratch itchy all over after sleep dirty bed. Oscar hate place need burning down all over.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lenbonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A group of us stayed at The Stage Hotel for the Ashes cricket in July 2013, only because their other hotel The New Gables sent us there. Even though we booked at The New Gables 4 months ago, we were notified the day before arriving that there was a double booking and were sent to the Stage Hotel. Coming from Australia specifically for the Cricket the stress that this put on us to find a better hotel than the Stage Hotel, when thousands of visitors arrive on the same day was huge. We were left no other option but to take the room at the Stage.

Although the hotel requires major renovation work, it was ok’ish. It was great how the hotel brought the Cricket theme to the hotel room, sleeping was just like sleeping on a day 4 cricket pitch, hard, a few cracks and inconsistencies appearing.

The shower on the other hand reminded me of a Japanese garden, with the taps on full the water pressure was a small trickle; all that was missing was some large goldfish and Jackie Chan.

Although we did not spend a lot of time in the hotel, mainly from choice, I can recommend this hotel to people with visual impairments as most features would JUST pass their accreditation requirements but the hotel doesn’t look great.

Look elsewhere first, second and third. Do not book at The New Gables!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Oh my goodness where do i start! On arrival we parked in the very dodgy car park and checked in as we walked up the stairs to our room it stunk like the men's toilets in my local cinema one word disgusting! the heating was on full blast i wouldnt complain usually but it was one of the hottest days we have had in a while. The room was small but that was not a problem and the bed was fine considering we had read some horrendous reviews, as we had been travelling for two hours we decided to have a shower then realised we had no towels! complimentary toiletries included one little shower gel and a soap! No mirror in the actually room and when i went to use the one in the bathroom i had to get a chair as the mirror was too high up to see in ( i am only 4ft 11) plus as no mirror in room could not straighten my hair! We were rudely awakened at half 6 the next morning by another guest knocking and rattling our door trying to get in! We went down for breakfast which was ok toast like cardboard and hash browns the same only decent things were coffee and tomatoes! Before we checked out we had a walk along the corridor OMG shocked is not the word no carpet on the floor and the smoke alarm hanging of the wall! This hotel seriously needs to be condemned or taken over and given a major make over! Will never stay here again!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Stage Hotel was barely worth a 1 star rating. Had to ask for towels and toilet paper at reception. There were peeling walls that resemble cruskit biscuits, pubic hairs left in the shower from the previous occupant and mould on all the shower grout. That was if you could get under the shower head – practically set high enough if you are 5 foot or smaller. To finish up the carpet on the floor had left over nail clippings and glitter from someone’s previous shenanigans. Worst hotel experience ever!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We arrived to find another guest complaining about dirty ear buds found in their room when they arrived. Music booming until 2.30 am and young man on the reception desk seemed to find this highly amusing!! Had to ask for towels and loo roll! Breakfast an absolute disgrace ...........inedible!!! breakfast room very very shabby. Whole hotel in need of a complete revamp, very very poor. Will certainly never return to this hotel or recommend to anyone it was disgusting!!

Room Tip: You will not find one in this hotel -----------do not book!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#21 of 49 in Nottingham
1,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
2,318 reviews
1.5 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#32 of 49 in Nottingham
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Hotel

Property: Stage Hotel
Address: 1-5 Gregory Boulevard, Nottingham NG7 6LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Stage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing