We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel rules”
Review of Stage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stage Hotel
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 19 February 2010

any hotel that charges £25 a night including breakfast, on suite bathroom and shower and a 24 hour bar can not be faulted in my opinion.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2010

We stayed here for one night on New Years Eve as many other hotels were booked up or were charging very high prices. The hotel isn't located in the nicest area of Nottingham but is within a 5 minute walk to the Forest tram station proving regular access to the city centre.

The good points of the hotel are that the rooms are all very large and can sleep three people for around £40 per room, the staff were very friendly and helpful in arranging taxis for us to get back, there is also free parking located behind the hotel which is a bonus in a city centre. However, the hotel itself is very run down in places - one of our party has a refurbished room which was OK but the other room was very old fashioned and needed updating and new facilities. The TV constantly needed tuning and we could only get two channels for a short period of time, electric heaters were provided in the rooms but looked quite old so wasn't convinced how safe they were. It was also very noisy but this was probably due to being New Years Eve rather than the hotel.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel in its current condition but would consider it if I was having a night out with friends in the city and just needed a bed to crash in.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireLouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Was staying at the Stage for 11nys but after 4 i had to leave. Couldn't stay there any more due to bad service i.e. Room only cleaned twice in the four days i was there, the carpet had got all stains on, bathroom all dirty around the top of the bath, sink not cleaned for the whole four days i was there. Breakfast was terrible, when i asked about how long the sausage had been cooked i was told it was cooked at 7am and i was at breakfast at 8.30. Thats not on. Bacon dried up, a small spoonfull of beans also all dried up,. I ended up only having egg on toast.Clock and radio in room didn't work. I could go on for hours. I run a hotel so i know how things should be. Will not go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wighty_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

I chose this hotel over others based upon its location and no real other reason.

If upon review, and my stay I would NOT stay there or recommmend this to anyone.

Staff, polite, but NOT warm and welcoming!
No heat in thoe room - an electric fire that is out of test and not working.
Room has had a coat of paint, but not well done. Even so has a dated feel to it
New carpet would be a major bonus!
Cleaning average, nothing special and could be much improved upon
Marks, scuffs, all over the building, duck tape holding carpet down ect... go see for yourself!
I would also point out, the car park is to the rear, and has NO lighting, thus is a major risk parking there - cauction is advised! very high securirty fencing between this property and its neighbours does make u wonder why! along with high sceurity shutters!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordNemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Receptionist courteous and helpful. Dining room and bar recently refurbished. Our particular room in need of update although en-suite clean and serviceable. Bar prices very reasonable. On the whole the hotel was run-down but currently being renovated hence the cheap (£44.00 B&B for 2) price. Breakfast excellent. Fantastic location for Goose Fair.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlmhowarduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 26 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 July 2009

hi stayed 1 night on business could not get in any of my regular hotels (due to graduation week) the hotel is cheap and cheerful but for the odd couple of nights very good value for money
i had a decent size double room a bit old fashioned could do with a paint job but newish furniture bath and shower ok
receptionwas friendly and helpful breakfast adequate without being too exiting help your self to everything
all in all if you are on a budget this is not the RITZ but certainly ok

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.5 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#29 of 41 in Nottingham
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
1,216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#17 of 41 in Nottingham
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Hotel

Address: 1-5 Gregory Boulevard, Nottingham NG7 6LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: £23 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing