We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Igloo Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This hostel was a good price and a good location in Nottingham! I stayed in the annexe part, and the bed and pillows were SO comfy. Also the wifi was perfect never had a problem.
The only downside was the very very steep stairs leading up to the room I was not prepared for! Was quite hard to carry up my baggage.
The staff were friendly and it was a quiet neighbourhood I only stayed 2 nights.
Would definitely recommend it as the room was spacious and was a great room to sleep and relax.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Kaitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

excellent accomodation, great paintings on the walls in the new areas,clean,great beds,friendly and helpful staff ....I really loved the environmentally friendly aspect of it all! what a great place...keep up the good work guys it is inspiring! I recommend staying here anytime....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank simonekro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hostel is very nice,beds are some of the more comfortable I have been in a hostel. I had a 6 room dorm to myself for a couple of nights as this not the most traveled part of England. The staff keep the place clean daily,but, I do have a few minor complaints.
The tea towels in the kitchen could have stood a washing and they had been changed since who knows when.
The fact that the staff has to do your laundry is a huge drawback. I really don't need nor want someone else doing my kit.
The location,while good, is a bit of trek from the train station and if not familiar with the area you can get lost.
The other fact is unlike other hostels I have stayed in you have to knock on the door to get in which is a pain.
Other than that...I would recommend the place if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hostel deserves a review, as it was absolutely fantastic! I came with two people and we chose the private 3 share room in the brand new Annexe. The art work on the walls is AWESOME, and all of the beds were SO COMFORTABLE, better than most hotels! The room was also absolutely huge, it was really clean and for the price it was so much better than your average (but more expensive) budget hotel but just as good or better.

There were shared toilets with showers included, and they were very VERY clean. I never had a problem getting into the toilet when I needed to. The other guests were really quiet during our stay, and even though we left one window open one night as it was a bit warm in the room (we couldn't get the fan working for some reason) we all slept really well even though you can hear the street outside.

The annexe was close to the main hostel but in a different building. I didn't actually see or use the hostel part except to check in which was fine, but the lounge and reception seemed really cosy and cool.

Check in took longer than it should have as the receptionist answered a phone call in the middle of check in. I think this should not happen as you should focus on one guest at a time, and if they need the phone answered they should have a system where it transfers to someone else if only one person is on shift and can't answer because they're busy. But no big issue we waited on a couch and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful, and it was an otherwise smooth check in!

Also the location was really good for us, it was so close to the bus to Sherwood Forest and a really easy walk into the awesome centre of Nottingham.

I would HIGHLY recommend this hostel. It was as good as a hotel in the private rooms (even with shared bathroom) and the art on the walls is fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was a really hostel that came with being on the smaller side!! The staff were very friendly and helpful and we meet some really nice travelers here. The rooms were a decent size with good beds. Welcoming lounge room and good internet. The showers were a little tempremental and I learnt quickly to avoid a particular one!! The hotel is also very close to the bus depot were they run free city centre buses every 10 mins!!
Would recommended to other backpackers!

Room Tip: If you have a really heavy pack maybe request a room closer to ground floor if they are available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlieroyal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hostel has everything you need for a stay in Nottingham, Really comfy tv room, spacious kitchen with oven and microwave, free tea coffee sugar, laundry at £4 a load, great staff, 15 minutes walk into town, loads of buses passing the door, spacious rooms very good security, lockers in the rooms, hot showers,always clean

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsofpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had a good visit to Nottingham made possible by staying at the Igloo Hostel. Went to the Castle explored the City and spent the night out at a few bars. The room was large and comfy and the hostel itself which is situated in central Nottingham was very easy to find. The staff were very friendly as were the other guests.

Room Tip: I went for the solo annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#17 of 41 in Nottingham
1,258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Igloo Hybrid
Igloo Hybrid
#2 of 13 in Nottingham
99 reviews
1 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,613 reviews
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Igloo Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Igloo Backpackers Hostel

Address: 100 Mansfield Road, Nottingham NG1 3HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Nottingham
Price Range: £27 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Igloo Backpackers Hostel is proud to be the city's most popular stopover for budget-minded backpackers, tourists, weekenders and groups seeking rest and recuperation in a home-from-home with lots of atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff and nice people. We offer all facilities you would expect to find in a quality hostel and are within easy walking distance of all sights and sounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Igloo Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing