We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no consideration at all”
Review of Midtown Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Midtown Hostel
Reviewed 21 February 2014

booked with booking.com weeks before was due to depart, to be emailed the night before our stay, to be told hostel was double booked and our reservation had been cancelled. although this left me in panic due to last minute we found hotel with breakfast included for 5pound extra and im relieved after reading reviews on bed bugs.

Room Tip: don't book
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank gemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Midtown Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

group of 5 lads booked this hostel a month in advance for a saturday night out. When we arrived we were told the rooms we booked were full so they put us into a room with bunk beds. I was also told they did not have a key to lock the room as the people before did not leave the key. 2 large black bin bags full of rubbish were outside the room also. The morning after we had
left a bit of a mess when we left but nothing that is unusual maybe a bit of food around the bin.
checked my account few days later the hostel had taken an extra 20 pounds without me knowing.
When i called back they said it was for cleaning the mess. I find this unacceptable is this not the cleaners job? I've never experienced anything like it and i have stayed in many hostels and hotels and havent had this happen. We chose this hostel due to the location but i would not return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ish_raz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in a shared dorm, the rooms & bathrooms are clean., It was freezing out but nice & warm inside. There are lockers for valuables. Very friendly atmosphere, feels a bit like being in someone's home, always people about in the kitchen & lounge, which I liked. Not as clinical feeling as some hostels.
Highly recommend it, if I was in Nottingham again I'd definitely book here, a great little hostel.
If you're used to staying in hostels you'll be happy with it.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank thirteene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

9 of us stayed here for 2 nights. 6 of us in one room 3 in another. This was a weekend stay for a clubbing/raving getaway.

Good points:
Location was very central - the best part of this hostel.
Staff were very friendly, relaxed and helpful.
Bathrooms/showers were clean enough.
Nice communal area, with Playstation 2 (lol) and board games and a table which we played drinking games on.
Access in and out of the hostel at all hours was very easy and accessible.
Had a lot of character.

Bad points:
In the 6bed room, we arrived to find out that somebody's stuff was still there and 1 bed was still unchanged from that previous occupant.
That occupants stuff remained in the room, taking up one drawer and a couple hooks on the back of the bed...(very strange, wrong, unfair) - NOT TOTAL/EXCLUSIVE OCCUPANCY!!
This hostel is situated very close to a bell tower which goes off at 9am and every hour there forth on the hour...this can be a problem if you want to get some good sleep.
Only 2 bathrooms/toilets.


This hostel is far from the best, but for £19 pppn and with its great location in the city it can do a very good job for you if you want a cheap clubbing weekend away with your friends. Having said all this, it isn't a hostel I would return to or recommend unless you were only interested in a cheap nights stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rui91E10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

It's been months since I stayed in a hostel with the same quality of friendly staff, excellent location, or welcoming energy. The rooms were clean and everything worked well. The staff was super entertaining and I felt completely amongst friends.
I absolutely recommend the midtown hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The showers did not work properly, the internet only works in the common room, and the staff do not respect the privacy of "private" rooms. The one redeeming factor is the Greek restaurant next door to the hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midtown H, Manager at Midtown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear ccspencer,
Our apologize if your stay with us was not as perfect as you wish. However I would like to inform that the showers are working, and the internet can be access in the second floor also without restrictions.
About the privacy in your room, when we need to check a room, we knock in the door. And the person that enter in your room, is not staff from Midtown Hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed for just one night in a triple room after a gig at Rock City. This hostel is about as central as you can get, the staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. We got up early as we were warned that the shared bathroom gets busy after 9:30. Bathroom was clean and tidy also. No complaints from me!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarcyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#21 of 48 in Nottingham
1,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 48 in Nottingham
659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 48 in Nottingham
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Hostel

Address: 5A Thurland Street, Nottingham NG1 3DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Nottingham
Price Range: £19 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MidTown Hostel has everything you want from a hostel; heart of the city central location, great services, private & shared rooms (max 6 or 7 people) and most importantly friendly & helpful staff who are always happy to help you out and have a chat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Midtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing