We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent albeit lavish evening”

Restaurant Sat Bains
Ranked #4 of 1,405 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$109 - US$160
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A Two Star Michelin restaurant serving modern British cuisine with eight bedrooms. Lunch on Chef's, Kitchen table or Nucleus. Wednesday to Saturday From 12.00 Noon. Dinner Wednesday to Thursday 6.30 Pm - 9.00 Pm. Friday and Saturday 6.00 Pm - 9.45 Pm. Booking Essential.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An excellent albeit lavish evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

It was a last minute decision to see if we could get into Sat Bans, they are not open on a Monday evening, however we were fortunate to receive a call to say there had been a cancellation on the Tuesday evening, yay! were are in. We were welcomed at the door and shown very comforatble seating in the bar to enjoy an aperitif and make decisions on our meal ahead.
What a dining spectacle, we chose the 10 course degustation with wine match, perhaps a little too much wine by the time we had finished :-)
Every course, amuse bouche's included, were gastronomic delights.
Staff were attentive, most imformative and very pleasant.
Michelin * restaurants do offer something special, and while the bill will sting the pocket a little, its not something we do that very often.
Well done Sat Bans!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,012
    88
    46
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Visited Sat Bains for the fourth time and every time has been a wonderful experience, the service is excellent, and the food is amazing we had the ten course plus cheese, at the end of the evening we were invited to meet Sat Bains and he very kindly signed our menu, it was our wedding anniversary and it is one I will remember as a bit special.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“High expectations largely met”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was, I think, my first Michelin 2 star meal so expectations were high and, largely, met. Extremely attentive service, delicious and interesting taster menu, and well matched wines. The dishes were introduced by a charming waitress but (only negative) her accent made comprehension difficult.
Standard room was good, nice extras, and excellent hospitality tray. Some maintenance issues (I repaired the over-sink shelf but didn't bother with the leaking wc valve!) but nothing serious.
Sat's very friendly presence, and influence, was very evident from early 'til late.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank rennatian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Words do not describe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I (Shane addison) my friend (dean marsh) and our fiances (Carrie-ann muxlow and Helen heyhoe) went to sat bains Thursday 26th June and had the kitchen table. Each and everyone of us have all said it was our best night out for food we had ever had! The staff were second to none and made it feel welcoming upon belief. To make things better our chef was sat bains himself and to have such a talented chef at our service did not seem real. he spend much time with us throughout the 10 courses in which nothing was left and down to earth is an understatement. The food was exceptional and will definately be paying another visit. Sat bains restaurant has the full package! I would like to thank Rubin ,Tom, sat bains himself and the whole team. See you all again soon.

Helpful?
3 Thank Shane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Started our night here with a few drinks. Then we had the 10 course meal. The taste of the food was fresh! but the portions were a bit too much for 3 Asian girls. We were very full towards the end of the dinner. But we got to visit the chef in the kitchen after our meal and got an autographed menu as a souvenir! Heard the chef will be coming to Hong Kong in October, will definitely go and have a look then ~

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kngg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Sat Bains also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Restaurant Sat Bains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing