We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curry at its best”
Review of Tamatanga

Tamatanga
Ranked #31 of 1,413 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: tamatanga is a different way to eat indian. people love us for our awesome food and the laid back vibes.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Curry at its best”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A great place to eat excellent service. Really good food not the most extensive menu however what they offer is excellent in terms of flavour and appearance. Great value for money definitely the best food I have eaten in Nottingham.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkJohnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    192
    60
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A top curry house”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I dropped in with my partner about half ten in the evening on Friday 30th May determined to give Tamatanga a whirl after seeing reviews on TripAdvisor. The friendly waitress explained everything clearly and when the food arrived it ticked every box. I've eaten in some of the top curry houses in the country and this is up there with them. Just glad it's in my home city so we haven't got to go far when we visit again!

Helpful?
Thank JohnDerekShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great place for a casual lunch, ideal for a catch up with the girls. Although the wooden stools aren't that comfy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Went in 10.30pm on a friday but still the staff were friendly and helpful. The curry was the best curry that i have had. Would go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Very, very good - all round”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've eaten here a lot. The atmosphere is informal but professional. It isn't fine dining, but it is much better than even good pub food. It is also better than many other indian restuarants in Nottingham. the menu is varied enough and offers salad bowls and thali (selection of dishes) that you don't find on your average indian menu. The rice is nicely cooked and not too dry, the dishes are well portioned, have good quality meat and fish, are very well flavoured and when it says hot on the menu, it means hot. The do good offers on meals and drinks - esp at lunch time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamatanga also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Tamatanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing