We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B n B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunny Mount Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 42 Nottingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful B n B”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I stayed here a couple of times and really enjoyed it. The house was so clean and the staff very helpful. Breakfast was beautifully presented and tasted good to. I would recommend this B n B to any one wanting to stay in Nottingham.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    29
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
73
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Made a booking for a one night stay at this B&B via booking.com Turned up at the B&B on a cold Saturday afternoon only to find the landlady puzzled at why people had turned up. Instead of inviting us into the warmth of the B&B, she stood as at the door with our luggage in hand for at least 10 mins to understand why we were there as she was not expecting anybody.

She insisted that there was no fault of theirs and booking.com had messed up our booking. I called up booking.com customer service and they insist that they have 3 different methods (fax, same booking system and email) by which they inform all B&B owners of any bookings received (and that they had received a delivery receipt for the fax).

We received a cold welcome into the B&B (I don't think the owner smiled much at all during our stay) and were left on our own for half an hour whilst they tried to understand what the issue was (this was even though they did have an empty room within the B&B in any case). The owner did serve us tea in the end.

We were then shown to a room which was small and very cold - I asked about the heating a couple of times and the owner just pointed me to the knobs either side of the heaters and it took us a good half an hour to get it all working. The bathroom was tiny and freezing (with no heating whatsoever).

As part of my call to booking.com I requested compensation from the owner for the terrible reception on arrival and making us wait half an hour. She apparently explained to booking.com that there was very little difference between the room we would have got had they known about the booking and this one we had now been placed in. Although she acknowledged that she had been caught off guard, she didn't think that poor customer service justifies some compensation! She also informed booking.com that 'she would make it up to us at breakfast'. We noticed no extra effort!

I was really upset because through no fault of ours, we were inconvenienced, made to feel completely unwelcome (almost unwanted) and still paid for the room in full.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingussie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We only had one night and breakfast at Sunny Mount but enjoyed the service provided in every way. We had to attend a function nearby and after a long journey to Nottingham this was a real oasis, especially after some challenging navigation caused by nearby roadworks. We felt we had a secure parking spot behind the house and so opted to walk to our event. Breakfast the next morning made us wish we had also had the evening meals on offer. Though I cannot pretend to like Nottingham per se, I was really pleased that we were able to stay at Sunny Bank and feel secure and well cared for.
J and D

Room Tip: We had the room with a super view which was a bit cosy but the bathroom was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uffculme, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I have just returned from staying here and can say it was the best B & B I have stayed at for a long time. The owners were very helpful and went out of their way to help my elderly Mother who was travelling with me. The room was very well presented and they had made up a extra bed so we could share a room. The breakfsats were to die for, a very good choice and very well presented, a lot of thought has been put in to everything here We were tired Saturday evening so opted to take advantage of having an evening meal there and had the stuffed chicken followed by the Autumn berry pastry stack, both of which was home made and could easily of graced the table of a top hotel or restaurant. We enjoyed the fact that it was quiet and very comfortable. we shall certainly be staying again when we are in Nottingham

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed here whilst visiting Nottingham for a friends wedding. Being an ex nottingham resident I knew the area quite well, and the location is good for getting around Nottingham. The rooms are very well presented, and the owners were very helpful when we asked to use the room early due to arriving before the usual check in time (we were given an alternative room to change in) which was most appreciated. The bed was very comfy with quite luxurious bedding. Breakfast was served promptly, and was lovely, with very unique crockery and was presented very well. My only small criticism is the bacon was smoked, and was quite strong, I prefer unsmoked! The poached eggs were cooked to perfection, so all in all a very nice breakfast! Would definately stay again. My only other tiny criticism is the price, a bit pricey!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swordsj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Warm welcome with a lovely breakfast. We had the last available bedroom out of a choice of three so it was a bit small with a bathroom built in the bedroom. This was tiny and not good for privacy. Decor a bit twee and felt a bit 'changing rooms'. Not central at all, so you would need a car to pop out to eat, but a great b and b.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The B&B is within easy transit distance to Nottingham, and affords great views of the area. There is a comfortable sitting room, which, sadly, seems more for show than for use (I saw no one there during my stay). The accommodations comprised a suite, rather than just a room, with a nearly palatial bathroom, and a mini-fridge for convenience. However, while the space afforded me in the suite was large, it was unevenly distributed: I would have appreciated a larger bedroom at the expense of some bathroom space. There was no place to put a suitcase, so the bedroom felt very tight; the pictures online are therefore deceptive. I have to admit that I did not like the food: a shame since it seems one of the proprietors is, or has aspirations of being, a chef; until I requested no extra salt or seasonings be added it was very salty and spicy. I think the worst part, however, is that the B&B lacked the warmth one would expect from a B&B. It felt more hotel-like in ambiance, and it seems like the B&B is in transition to more of a spa-like facility (spa services recently began to be offered), with a resulting decline in the personal interaction of a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.0 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.9 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#33 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.3 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Mount Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Mount Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunny Mount Bed and Breakfast
Address: 310 Porchester Road | Mapperley, Nottingham NG3 6GR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Mount Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Bed and Breakfast, this great late Victorian property (built in 1903) with its high ceilings add to the feeling of space and freedom, along with stylishly designed rooms with attractive, welcoming layouts, is a home from home. We make it our job to ensure you have a fantastic stay. Visit us once, and you will want to visit us again and again ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sunny Mount Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing