We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent host, fine accommodations”

The Yellow House Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yellow House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 42 Nottingham B&B and Inns
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent host, fine accommodations”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Our stay at “The Yellow House” Bed & Breakfast was excellent. Comfortable accommodations, excellent breakfast, first class hospitality from our host Suzanne Prew-Smith. A great contribution to our UK vacation.

Clyde & Cynthia Arnold Dartmouth Nova Scotia, Canada

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephineNottingham, Owner at The Yellow House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for the compliments, I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    4
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
10
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

I booked this BB over the phone as family were visiting for a Birthday party and it was conveniently located. I hand delivered the deposit on the day I booked (50% of the costs so not insubstantial). When I looked at my email the next day terms the conditions had been added which said there was no access after 12pm. I asked if my brother and his wife could have a key but was told in a rather unfriendly way this was an absolute deadline. At that point I said that the accommodation was unsuitable and I would not proceed with the booking. However within a day the cheque had been cashed. The T&Cs are a confusing mixture of standard terms saying that if you cancel within a certain time you can have a full refund and her her additional terms which says no refund. Despite still having 3 weeks to let the room she refused to return my deposit. Only when I said I was a local constituent, (she is a local councillor) did she relete and return only half the deposit. I felt completely ripped off and would not advise anyone to use this B&B. I have also reported her to Trading Standards.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank GCOOKE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephineNottingham, Owner at The Yellow House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
I believe the law states that if you read the terms and conditions and then book; then you are bound by the terms and conditions as it is a legal contract. As I am a very small B&B, you have to walk right through my house to get to the loft room, so I have put it the t&c's that the door will be locked at midnight. This rule only affects maybe 5 - 10 % of people, and is quite helpful to me. Complaining about a rule after the fact, doesnot appear to me to be very fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We received an unfriendly "welcome" on arrival and unfortunately the host only began to thaw on departure! Although the room was clean and comfortable our stay was marred since we weren't treated as adults and were made to feel untrustworthy. In particular we were not trusted with keys to access the house and our room, had to confirm leaving and returning times and when we did manage to wangle a key the host put the house alarm on after we had left to deter us from arriving back earlier than her! Despite not objecting to the presence of a dog we do draw the line at a dog jumping around our sausages and bacon at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amelie186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephineNottingham, Owner at The Yellow House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
The advertising states quite definitely that there is a dog. The ground floor is open plan and it is therefore a situation where the dog is around; but not at the table! so the remarks about the dog are highly exaggerated.
The key is given out if the guests are coming or going when I am out of the house, it just doesn't seem necessary if I am in the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham North (Daybrook) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
0.8 mi away
Sunny Mount Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Elm Bank Lodge
Elm Bank Lodge
#18 of 42 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Yellow House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7 Littlegreen Road | Woodthorpe, Nottingham NG5 4LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yellow House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small but special Bed & Breakfast in a quiet pretty area; not too far from the city centre and equally easy to access the countryside. A mass of information about all local events and lots of detail i.e. menus from a variety of restaurents. Have a cup of tea/coffee immediately you arrive after your journey. Then retire to your comfortable elegant room up in the loft, ( 2 flights of stairs) to relax with the TV or have a good nights sleep. Breakfast is homemade,local and as much as possible organic, with a good selection of preserves to tempt you after the English cooked breakfast. Suzanne and her dog - Misza, are ready and waiting to welcome you to her home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yellow House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing