We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takeaway”
Review of Gurkha Kitchen

Gurkha Kitchen
Ranked #71 of 1,434 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$27
Cuisines: Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Namaste & Welcome Crowned by the world highest peaks the vibrant Himalayan Kingdom of Nepal remains almost the most enigmatic of countries to visit. The Gurkha Kitchen present an outstanding experience. Enjoy the pleasure of our cuisine.We offer a combination of traditional Nepalease recipes and delightful Indian dishes with a sedutiv western approach, carefully prepared by our Nepali chef ANDEEP and served to you in traditional surrounding by helpful and friendly Nepalese staff. Thank You Namaste !! We open on Sunday for Buffett from 1pm till 9pm !!
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Takeaway”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We have a takeaway once a month and it's delicious! I recommend the himyalan chicken ! Also ate in on valentines day with the hubby !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    92
    37
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Still the best in town”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my family still love comeing here. I would come everyday if my diet would let me. The food is always amazing. The price is still good.the owner is very nice and so his all is staff. I would recommend this to anybody. you want be dispionted at all

Helpful?
1 Thank louiselawson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham, england
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Who would have thought?”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We went here on a whim, having heard good things. It was fairly quiet on a Tuesday lunch service. The set lunch for £5.50 was tempting and looked fantastic but, having traveled to Bilborough, we decided to try the Nepalese set menu and Nepalese beer. It was superb. I think it was probably the first time either of us had eaten Nepalese food and the flavours, while similar to Indian (which they serve as well), were exciting and new and most certainly delicious. The building (an old pub) is slightly dated but the service and quality of food made that irrelevant.
We left £40 shorter with enough of a doggy-bag to do us for tea as well.
The staff were charming and friendly and we even managed a pint in the Pelican afterwards without being beaten up.
Well worth a trip out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Went to Gurkha Kitchen with my family to celebrate our sons birthday. We were offered a menu and thought we might choose from that rather than the buffet (it was Sunday) but it seemed the waiter was really pushing for us to have the buffet, The food was really nice and tasty but not hot enough (temperature or spice). The service was really awful even though they were not at all busy, Good value for money but we willl not bother going again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited here many times for the lunchtime special, which consists of a main, starter and vegetables on one 'prison tray'. Don't let the prison tray thing put you off as the food more than makes up for it and I believe the tray is just for the lunch special.
Stunning quality for the price and one of the best meals of its type in Nottingham.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BOOOOOOOOOOoooooommm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha Kitchen also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Beeston, Nottingham
 

Been to Gurkha Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing