We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here twice for business in the last 7 days. I'm a loyal IHG Priority Club member so tend to default to Holiday Inn / Crowne Plaza / Holiday Inn Express to get my loyalty points, (where these hotels are convenient to my plans). Holiday Inn has had a recent brand 'refresh' but this is a signage and marketing overhaul so some of this brand's hotel rooms are looking rather dated.
The Nottingham HI falls into this category. The rooms are clean and comfortable but so look rather 1980s compared to their Holiday Inn Express and Crowne Plaza counterparts.
The location is edge of city centre retail park and not very attractive, unless you want a view of the empty car parks around a Sainsburys and Macdonalds. It is a 5 minute taxi ride from the railway station but not a very attractive walk.
Service was excellent on both visits and a decent range of choice for breakfast & onsite free parking sets the HI apart from the nearby Hol Inn Express. The building is well maintained and was very clean in the areas I used.
I would stay again as it is easily accessible from the nearby A52 and has a good sized free car park but this is just a clean and comfy place to crash, nothing more.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed for one night. We arrived early and asked on off chance if we could check in, receptionist was very pleasant and we got straight into our room. Room was very comfy and larger than that in the hotel we usually stay at, decor was cosy, only gripe, they are very stingey with the tea/coffee in the room, but reception had no problem with supplying more when we asked - just would have preferred not to have to ask! Like others have commented room was very hot and air con controls were ineffective.
Bar and restaurant were very smart and we had a greatt meal in the evening, tasty and very nicely presented, though the service was a little rushed, and why do they insist on squashing the few people in the restaurant into a small corner so you're all on top of each other!
Hotel is in an ideal position to walk into the city along the canal, and being lucky with the weather we enjoyed a lunchtime meal and drink by the water in a local restaurant.
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel itself is in a good position. Next to Macdonadls, good for breakfast. Opposite Sainsburys, useful if you forget anything or need petrol. Bus stops are located outside the hotel to give easy access in and out of the city. It is also an added bonus that parking is free. While the hotel is situated on a main road. There is little noise to be heard from inside the hotel rooms. Good soundproofed windows. Everything in the hotel was clean and well maintained to all be found in working order. The bed was ok, a bit on the small side though compared with similar hotels of this rating. It would be nice to have a mini fridge and safe in the room as well, which again can be found at similar class hotels. All corridor and room floors are carpeted so this reduces the noise of other guests. Be advised they ask for your bank card when you check in to put a hold of £25 a night for extras! I think this is a bit on the excessive side, especially if you stay a few nights and I am still waiting for this money to be released back into my account. Surly it would be better to open a tab system by swiping your card and then pay on check out for extras you have actually had. My main complaint, and this is a big one for me. The room temperature is so hot it’s difficult to breath in the room. After reading a sign on the wall it advised they like you to be “nice and cosy” in the winter so they turn the air con off and the radiators up. We opened the window as far as it would go, not very due to safety latches, and left it open for the duration of our stay. We turned the radiator to what we thought was off. However, after spending the first night sweltering we asked at reception if it was possible to control the air con in each individual room. The receptionist advised that the radiator has to be turned to the symbol setting to actually activate the air con unit. She also offered for a fan to be taken to our room. We turned the radiator to the symbol setting, still no joy with the air con, so resorted to the medium sized desk fan. This did help, but it was still too hot. It is a shame that they can’t address this issue as I will not book here again because of it and will try the Premier Inn next door when I am in Nottingham again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank non-stop-orb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear non-stop-orb,

I want to thank you for pointing out what you enjoyed about
our property. I am concerned about the AC unit. I do hope that
decide to stay with us again and if you are having issues with
the AC we can send maintenance to
your room to get it fixed right away.

Thank you
Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Every thing was perfect. From the moment we walked in to the hotel. Nothing was too much for them. Made me and my family feel really at home. All staff very helpful. I will be returning to the hotel when next in Nottingham.

Room Tip: Just outside of the City. A nice 15 minute walk along the canal to get into the town. I would real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Very impressed with this hotel, great restaurant, rooms were comfortable and free parking. Opposite to the hotel is a nice Sainsburys, PC World etc etc amd the first time I ever saw a Costa Drive-thru!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbsentDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed here as a couple 3 times in the last 6 months. Free parking is a bonus in the city centre area and this hotel is only 15 minutes walk away from the Market Square. Batr staff are always cheerful and helpful, the bar manager even arranged for a bottle of wine to be chilling ready to take to our room when we knew we would be getting back after the bar had closed.
We have eaten breakfast and bar meals here and have not been disappointed which is more than we could say for the Express version in Nottingham centre

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romanycatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed here in room with two double beds on second floor at the rear of the hotel. On booking asked for a quiet room and we were placed at the end of the corridor as far from the lifts as possible. There were lots of people staying for the night whilst partying in town so we thought we may be disturbed. Thankfully, both nights proved to be very quiet, even with the window open.
The room was comfortable, clean and with plenty of wardrobe, drawer space. Usual style bathroom. The bar was very quiet, but that suited us. Breakfast was very good, range of juices, cereals, cold meats etc. together with hot buffet. All the staff we met were very pleasant. We would stay again.

Room Tip: If you are there on a Saturday and need a peaceful night ask for a room at the back and away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10scarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,566 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
0.9 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#18 of 41 in Nottingham
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nottingham

Address: 12 Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: £59 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Nottingham is a deluxe hotel located just one mile from Nottingham City Centre, on a quiet Marina location. The hotel is one of the finest and most sought after in Nottingham, its 128 Bedrooms, Conference Facilities, Meeting space and Eaton's Restaurant and Bar area are well renowned for Quality, Service and Value. Relax in the stylish yet informal atmosphere of our Eatons Brasserie and choose from our varied menu, serving modern British cooking along with reasonably priced quality wines. BT Sports available in Eaton's Bar. The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the city, boasting a wealth of sporting activities, Trent Bridge Cricket, Nottingham Forest Football Club, Nottingham Race Course, Holme Pierrepont or the famous Nottingham Motorpoint Ice Arena home to Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Team. Famous for its shopping destination and home to Paul Smith, the legendary Sherwood Forest and Nottingham Castle. The evenings truly come alive with a range of Entertainment Venues that includes several Theatres including Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Hall, Dusk Till Dawn casinos and many Night Clubs to cater for all tastes. With over 115 complimentary parking spaces available on site, our aim is to exceed the expectations of Service, Value and Quality every time you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing