We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay for a tired business traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Ohio
Level Contributor
145 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Perfect stay for a tired business traveler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The HI Nottingham was perfect for what I needed. The room was large, clean and well appointed. It was relatively modern, but still in synch with the northern Englad landscape. Parking was free, but the internet and breakfast were not. Dinner was top notch and the caramel sticky pudding was to die for.

The bed was good sized for one and was moderately comfortable for one night. Two or three it may have been uncomfortable. The room even had an iron and ironing board. (I really appreciate being able ti iron my dress shirts) Service was ok, the restaurant crew was great, the front desk did not seem to excited by my existence, but my heart will go on.

Location was good, heating/cooling was ok. It was a little slow to warm up, but it got there. Overall it was a perfect stay for a tired business traveler. I would gladly stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prayzur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    303
    128
    32
    10
See reviews for
106
197
26
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England
Level Contributor
185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Last year it was good and this year it got even better.

The staff were much more helpful and friendly even though they were good last time.

For the first time we dined for our evening meal in the restaurant and it was splendid. A few weeks ago we ate at a top Paris restaurant. For 1/3 the price this food was better. We did the £16.95 + wine set menu and were well impressed.

The Hotel was clean and efficient with a hearty breakfast buffet. The rooms were good but this time the bed didn't seem that comfortable - it was a little on the small side from what we normally get in Holiday Inns.

It's a very pleasant 20 minute walk along the canal to the City Centre.

Room Tip: It's worth having and executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed here for the 3rd time as visiting Nottingham for the annual Ice Hockey Playoff weekend. It's a good location being about 10-15 minute walk to the city centre but the trade-off is free parking, which you don't get in the central ones.
It's fairly usual HI fare but helpful/pleasant staff, a clean building throughout. The food is good and breakfast especially. It is probably the hottest HI I've ever stayed in and they don't have air-con working in April so the hot bedroom is cooled only by leaving the window open - that is my biggest gripe. However, if you are after a base for Nottingham and surrounding areas this is a very good choice. Close by (2 minutes) are at least 2 bars and restaurants so it's easy to pop out in the evening if you want something different. Finally, if you are travelling by train it's only about 15 minute walk or 3 minute taxi ride form the station.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed here for business recently and was booked into one of the superior/exec rooms. The room had plenty of space, and the bed was bigger than a king-size and very comfy - with different pillows available (soft, firm etc) which I thought was a good touch. Plenty of storage space (if you need it for longer stays) and well stocked tea/coffee tray, together with a couple of small complimentry bottles of water in the fridge. Rooms have internet access available at a charge - can't comment on the speed/reliability as I didn't use it and a lockable safe for valuables. A big plus for me is the TV in the room offered SkySports channels as standard; a major bonus for me as I'm following the cricket! The room has air-conditioning, with easy controls, but I personally turn them off overnight as I'm a light sleeper and find the noise a bit intrusive. With regards to sleep, I had one of the best nights sleep I've had in a while. The hotel location is on the Castle Marina retail area, so not on a major road and the rooms are obviously well insulated from outside noise as I didn't hear a thing. I was on the B&B tariff and opted to have a tray bought up to my room (a very modest charge of £2.50 - well worth it in my book) - varied options for breakfast so would be surprised if there wasn't something to suit everyone. Bathroom facilities were clean and well stocked and the water pressure for the shower good (used in the morning) and plenty of hot water.
There's plenty of on-site parking at the hotel and the check-in/out process is smooth and the reception staff are efficient and friendly.

Would definitely use this hotel for any future business or social stays in Nottingham

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
568 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here twice for business in the last 7 days. I'm a loyal IHG Priority Club member so tend to default to Holiday Inn / Crowne Plaza / Holiday Inn Express to get my loyalty points, (where these hotels are convenient to my plans). Holiday Inn has had a recent brand 'refresh' but this is a signage and marketing overhaul so some of this brand's hotel rooms are looking rather dated.
The Nottingham HI falls into this category. The rooms are clean and comfortable but so look rather 1980s compared to their Holiday Inn Express and Crowne Plaza counterparts.
The location is edge of city centre retail park and not very attractive, unless you want a view of the empty car parks around a Sainsburys and Macdonalds. It is a 5 minute taxi ride from the railway station but not a very attractive walk.
Service was excellent on both visits and a decent range of choice for breakfast & onsite free parking sets the HI apart from the nearby Hol Inn Express. The building is well maintained and was very clean in the areas I used.
I would stay again as it is easily accessible from the nearby A52 and has a good sized free car park but this is just a clean and comfy place to crash, nothing more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed for one night. We arrived early and asked on off chance if we could check in, receptionist was very pleasant and we got straight into our room. Room was very comfy and larger than that in the hotel we usually stay at, decor was cosy, only gripe, they are very stingey with the tea/coffee in the room, but reception had no problem with supplying more when we asked - just would have preferred not to have to ask! Like others have commented room was very hot and air con controls were ineffective.
Bar and restaurant were very smart and we had a greatt meal in the evening, tasty and very nicely presented, though the service was a little rushed, and why do they insist on squashing the few people in the restaurant into a small corner so you're all on top of each other!
Hotel is in an ideal position to walk into the city along the canal, and being lucky with the weather we enjoyed a lunchtime meal and drink by the water in a local restaurant.
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel itself is in a good position. Next to Macdonadls, good for breakfast. Opposite Sainsburys, useful if you forget anything or need petrol. Bus stops are located outside the hotel to give easy access in and out of the city. It is also an added bonus that parking is free. While the hotel is situated on a main road. There is little noise to be heard from inside the hotel rooms. Good soundproofed windows. Everything in the hotel was clean and well maintained to all be found in working order. The bed was ok, a bit on the small side though compared with similar hotels of this rating. It would be nice to have a mini fridge and safe in the room as well, which again can be found at similar class hotels. All corridor and room floors are carpeted so this reduces the noise of other guests. Be advised they ask for your bank card when you check in to put a hold of £25 a night for extras! I think this is a bit on the excessive side, especially if you stay a few nights and I am still waiting for this money to be released back into my account. Surly it would be better to open a tab system by swiping your card and then pay on check out for extras you have actually had. My main complaint, and this is a big one for me. The room temperature is so hot it’s difficult to breath in the room. After reading a sign on the wall it advised they like you to be “nice and cosy” in the winter so they turn the air con off and the radiators up. We opened the window as far as it would go, not very due to safety latches, and left it open for the duration of our stay. We turned the radiator to what we thought was off. However, after spending the first night sweltering we asked at reception if it was possible to control the air con in each individual room. The receptionist advised that the radiator has to be turned to the symbol setting to actually activate the air con unit. She also offered for a fan to be taken to our room. We turned the radiator to the symbol setting, still no joy with the air con, so resorted to the medium sized desk fan. This did help, but it was still too hot. It is a shame that they can’t address this issue as I will not book here again because of it and will try the Premier Inn next door when I am in Nottingham again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank non-stop-orb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear non-stop-orb,

I want to thank you for pointing out what you enjoyed about
our property. I am concerned about the AC unit. I do hope that
decide to stay with us again and if you are having issues with
the AC we can send maintenance to
your room to get it fixed right away.

Thank you
Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nottingham

Property: Holiday Inn Nottingham
Address: 12 Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Nottingham is a deluxe hotel located just one mile from Nottingham City Centre, on a quiet Marina location. The hotel is one of the finest and most sought after in Nottingham, its 128 Bedrooms, Conference Facilities, Meeting space and Eaton's Restaurant and Bar area are well renowned for Quality, Service and Value. Relax in the stylish yet informal atmosphere of our Eatons Brasserie and choose from our varied menu, serving modern British cooking along with reasonably priced quality wines. BT Sports available in Eaton's Bar. The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the city, boasting a wealth of sporting activities, Trent Bridge Cricket, Nottingham Forest Football Club, Nottingham Race Course, Holme Pierrepont or the famous Nottingham Motorpoint Ice Arena home to Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Team. Famous for its shopping destination and home to Paul Smith, the legendary Sherwood Forest and Nottingham Castle. The evenings truly come alive with a range of Entertainment Venues that includes several Theatres including Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Hall, Dusk Till Dawn casinos and many Night Clubs to cater for all tastes. With over 115 complimentary parking spaces available on site, our aim is to exceed the expectations of Service, Value and Quality every time you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing