We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average branch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Arrived at the hotel, tight car park. Exterior of the hotel is typical and of modern construction. A unremarkable building.

Reception tried insinuating we had booked a twin room not a double. We were told we were mistaken and they spent some time moving us to the appropriate room type after some unprofessional claims that we were mistaken - dis-proven by our printed booking confirmation.

The bathroom had issues with rust and other oxidisation to the metal work. I also had to flush the toilet which still had a floating visitor from what I assume was the previous guest.

The room was on the second floor, overlooking the Sainsburys car park opposite. Not an inspiring view, but the room was comfortable and clean. In spite of the room overlooking the busy dual carriageway and Sainsburys car park, it was very quiet. The only noise was when a member of staff woke us up at approximately 12 to 1 am knocking the wrong door. Suffering from pneumonia at the time, rest was very important.

Having read the previous night that breakfast was served from 6:30 am, we set off for breakfast early as a snowstorm was expected to hit our destination later that day which we were keen to avoid, only to find that the information we read was undermined by another breakfast notice which stated a different time for breakfast on the weekends, why the separate times for breakfast were on separate notices was never explained. It basically meant we had to depart without breakfast to avoid the snowstorm.

Overall, the hotel is unremarkable. We never ate there so cannot comment on the food. The staff attitude was never accommodating and at times confrontational and unnecessarilly so.

It has put me off using Holiday Inn for future trips.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Tsao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Mr_Tsao,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have stayed here many times on business and its great and just what a business traveller needs - even a leisure traveller too.

I have always been on my own but had two huge queen size beds which are soo comfortable. There are always loads and loads of pillows and you can choose from soft or hard but they are all good. There are loads of towels and the rooms are immaculate. The staff are very good on reception and behind the bar and in the restaurant (only tested for breakfast) and nothing wrong with the good buffet selection for breakfast. I sleep so well at this hotel it is very comfortable, and so quiet. It has free parking on site and its a pleasure to stay there. If you were staying without a car a taxi fare into town is only about £4.50 and a few minutes away and there are supermarkets and shops just a very short walk away. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Nottingham and I stay at a lot of hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel on a leisure break for one night at the weekend. We were travelling as a family with my two young children. The hotel is really nice, very clean and modern. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and specifically Leanne on Reception was great! The bedrooms are nice, and the hotel is only a 10 minute walk along the canal to the City Centre Shops. I would definately recommend this hotel as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0YST0NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Came here with my wife and two young children. The room was very nice and there was an extra double bed for the children and not the sofa bed described when I booked it so we were very pleased. The room's temperature could get hot but easily changed with the thermostat/air conditioning. Car parking was free so we were pleased as I think that hotels should provide parking and not charge their guests to use it. One gripe we had was that breakfast was not included in the price and to charge around £12 for breakfast is extortionate (we decided to have breakfast elsewhere and under half this price).
However the hotel is situated only fifteen minutes' walk from the city centre which can be taken next to the canal which is very scenic. There is a Sainsbury opposite and a bus stop right outside (which we didn't use). Staff are very pleasant and helpful but very disappointed with the lack of tourist leaflets for Nottingham. There were plenty of leaflets for Yorkshire and wider areas but would have throught there was more to do in Nottingham than the couple of leaflets present. There was also a PC with free internet access which proved very useful when researching for local sites. Would totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room at the back was very quiet and we were not disturbed by anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The HI Nottingham was perfect for what I needed. The room was large, clean and well appointed. It was relatively modern, but still in synch with the northern Englad landscape. Parking was free, but the internet and breakfast were not. Dinner was top notch and the caramel sticky pudding was to die for.

The bed was good sized for one and was moderately comfortable for one night. Two or three it may have been uncomfortable. The room even had an iron and ironing board. (I really appreciate being able ti iron my dress shirts) Service was ok, the restaurant crew was great, the front desk did not seem to excited by my existence, but my heart will go on.

Location was good, heating/cooling was ok. It was a little slow to warm up, but it got there. Overall it was a perfect stay for a tired business traveler. I would gladly stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prayzur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Last year it was good and this year it got even better.

The staff were much more helpful and friendly even though they were good last time.

For the first time we dined for our evening meal in the restaurant and it was splendid. A few weeks ago we ate at a top Paris restaurant. For 1/3 the price this food was better. We did the £16.95 + wine set menu and were well impressed.

The Hotel was clean and efficient with a hearty breakfast buffet. The rooms were good but this time the bed didn't seem that comfortable - it was a little on the small side from what we normally get in Holiday Inns.

It's a very pleasant 20 minute walk along the canal to the City Centre.

Room Tip: It's worth having and executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed here for the 3rd time as visiting Nottingham for the annual Ice Hockey Playoff weekend. It's a good location being about 10-15 minute walk to the city centre but the trade-off is free parking, which you don't get in the central ones.
It's fairly usual HI fare but helpful/pleasant staff, a clean building throughout. The food is good and breakfast especially. It is probably the hottest HI I've ever stayed in and they don't have air-con working in April so the hot bedroom is cooled only by leaving the window open - that is my biggest gripe. However, if you are after a base for Nottingham and surrounding areas this is a very good choice. Close by (2 minutes) are at least 2 bars and restaurants so it's easy to pop out in the evening if you want something different. Finally, if you are travelling by train it's only about 15 minute walk or 3 minute taxi ride form the station.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,567 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
0.9 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#17 of 41 in Nottingham
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nottingham

Address: 12 Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: £58 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Nottingham is a deluxe hotel located just one mile from Nottingham City Centre, on a quiet Marina location. The hotel is one of the finest and most sought after in Nottingham, its 128 Bedrooms, Conference Facilities, Meeting space and Eaton's Restaurant and Bar area are well renowned for Quality, Service and Value. Relax in the stylish yet informal atmosphere of our Eatons Brasserie and choose from our varied menu, serving modern British cooking along with reasonably priced quality wines. BT Sports available in Eaton's Bar. The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the city, boasting a wealth of sporting activities, Trent Bridge Cricket, Nottingham Forest Football Club, Nottingham Race Course, Holme Pierrepont or the famous Nottingham Motorpoint Ice Arena home to Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Team. Famous for its shopping destination and home to Paul Smith, the legendary Sherwood Forest and Nottingham Castle. The evenings truly come alive with a range of Entertainment Venues that includes several Theatres including Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Hall, Dusk Till Dawn casinos and many Night Clubs to cater for all tastes. With over 115 complimentary parking spaces available on site, our aim is to exceed the expectations of Service, Value and Quality every time you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing