We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOING DOWNHILL ????”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GOING DOWNHILL ????”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Used this hotel several times for a simple stopover and night out with family in City Centre.Previous visits have been ok but last visit (mid Jan 2014) was well below par.
Despite booking and paying in full online a week before (and commiting a no refund full payment) we still stood for 20mins at check-in whilst employee bumbled about on a computer,made us fill in forms,sign cards,produce credit card etc etc (why when all registered and paid online ?).Eventually found us a room on top floor (right next to lift).
Tv in room wouldn't work via remote-eventually managed to turn it on via a button on side-but couldn't change channels so gave up.Lamps (2) wouldn't work either,despite various combinations of on/off switching.Assorted stains on carpets.Plug mechanism in sink didn't function properly ,although these have been this way on previous visit.Curtains hanging off rail...need I go on.Only in the room 1 hour before going out for evening,then back-sleep-get up and gone so didn't have time or inclination to report faults...these rooms are just getting tired and worn...for a major chain it's getting pretty poor....we only go there once every few months but in future,I think we will go somewhere else....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boo2agoose2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear boo2agoose2014,

Thank you for your feedback. It’s a shame you were unable to bring the above issues to our attention during your stay as we would have done everything possible to resolve the problems. We always strive to deliver the best possible customer experience however it’s obvious that we fell short on this occasion. Please accept my sincerest apologies and I can assure you that I’ll be discussing your feedback with the team. I would really like to discuss your recent visit further and I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me on 0115 993 5000. Hopefully speak to you soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    306
    129
    33
    10
See reviews for
108
200
26
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
596 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

One night stay surrounded by food pubs and a Sainsbury, good location. Ten minute walk into town walk towards Sainsbury entrance and go left.As do many hotels it has the usual doors that bang and wake everyone on the first exit in the morning but great staff plenty to eat at breakfast not a bad place at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear iantoes,

Thank you for your review. I’m really happy you felt well looked after and ultimately had an enjoyable stay with us. We find it very comforting and rewarding to receive such great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here for one weekend night,polite reception and very clean and fresh bedroom and a comfortable bed, bathroom just as nice, surprisingly well soundproofed despite it being a Saturday and close to town. Breakfast was superb, and I am Swiss and picky! Diane the supervisor was very impressive as was Kyle?, there was another lady who was doing a great job but didn't catch her name. Of course you sometimes have to wait for things to be replenished, but do you want fresh food or not!? :) Ooo and Free parking aswell!

Well Done and Thankyou

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear RDJP,

Thank you for your 5 star review. We really focus on developing our staff and providing them with the right tools to deliver great service and I’m really happy this has come across during your recent stay. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to all of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Good standard of room ,clean helpful staff ,everything you need for a break . Very close to town short walk along canal to city , or a cheap taxi ride parking on site and lots of places to eat and drink around it.

All in all very good value

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asmith907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear asmith907,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay. We continually strive to deliver the best possible customer experience and I’m happy this has come across during your recent stay. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all the team.
Hopefully we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The room was quite adequate, clean, well presented and all you would need for that overnight stay. There was a small problem with the heat level in the room - it was extremely hot even though the radiator was stone cold.

Our first floor room was in the front of the hotel above the canopy over the front entrance. Noise from the guest toing and froing was non existent but opposite the hotel is a very large Sainsbury's store. Being so large, the car park makes an excellent race way for alternative driving methods!

What really lets this place down is the very, very poorly managed kitchen and staff levels at breakfast. There was some waiting for a table, which was not so bad, but the tables were being wiped using cloths of dubious cleanliness and then left wet to dry by themselves. Although being checked by kitchen staff quite frequently, the full compliment of food required from the buffet to make a full English breakfast was never there! Bread was the same - rarely stocked to a sensible level. My wife ordered poached egg and after a very long wait, came as a boiled egg (very overcooked poach), toast that was very well done and served on a very inadequately sized tea plate.

Not that this affected us but it certainly did affect later diners, with an hour to go before breakfast time closed the availability of food got worse. I seems that the chef was very anxious to avoid wastage to a level that it was to the detriment of service to the customer. If you want to avoid wastage in this last hour, why not cook to order. Sorry, there were insufficient waiting staff to do this!

This is probably one of the worse breakfast experiences we have had in recent years. It is appreciated that there were two coach parties in the hotel but these do not just appear. Given that such numbers are required to book well in advance, appropriate staffing levels can be hired as appropriate.

This is the second Holiday Inn I have experienced in two weeks and on both occasions the breakfast arrangements have been poor.

Room Tip: Maybe go to the rear of the hotel to avoid the noise from the street machines opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NodNodPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear NodNodPilot,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to leave us a review. It is nice to know that our room accommodations were adequate for your needs. However, it is regrettable that you were dissatisfied with your breakfast experience with us. This is definitely not up to standards and we will use your comments to improve on what we can offer to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here this week for one night on business. The experience did not start well as I had to wait over half an hour to check in as the queue was very long. I think it could have been easily solved with additional staff on the reception desk Having said that, I did have time to have a drink in the bar whilst waiting. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and well equipped and the bathrooms clean and functional. The main bar and reception area are pleasant. We had dinner at the hotel which started well with a short wait for starters which were very nice. However, we waited an awful long time for both the main course and dessert which were not of great quality and rather disappointing. Having said that, I had a great nights sleep, the breakfast was very good and the check out very quick and pleasant so I think the evenings issues may have been down to the amount of guests the hotel had that evening. As 3 star hotels go, the experience was good overall.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagertoseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear eagertoseetheworld,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. I am happy to read you enjoyed the room accommodations you received. I am deeply sorry to read that some aspect of our staff service and hospitality were not up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Illinois
Level Contributor
597 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The good news is the internet now works pretty well. The bad news is they still charge you 7.50 British Pounds per day... and they code changes every day so you have to continue to request a new one.

Rooms are clean, beds are comfy, and the bathroom had good water pressure etc.

Breakfast is decent, but there appear to be a number of rates... some with breakfast, some without, and some in between (better price on breakfast.)

All in all not bad, but still requires a bunch of effort on my part to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room with AC in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear David F,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. It gives me great pleasure to read that we have improved our guest experience following your previous stay. As you have mentioned we now offer a vastly improved internet service and I can confirm that we are currently reviewing our pricing strategy. Thank you for choosing to return to the Holiday Inn Nottingham and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nottingham

Property: Holiday Inn Nottingham
Address: 12 Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Nottingham is a deluxe hotel located just one mile from Nottingham City Centre, on a quiet Marina location. The hotel is one of the finest and most sought after in Nottingham, its 128 Bedrooms, Conference Facilities, Meeting space and Eaton's Restaurant and Bar area are well renowned for Quality, Service and Value. Relax in the stylish yet informal atmosphere of our Eatons Brasserie and choose from our varied menu, serving modern British cooking along with reasonably priced quality wines. BT Sports available in Eaton's Bar. The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the city, boasting a wealth of sporting activities, Trent Bridge Cricket, Nottingham Forest Football Club, Nottingham Race Course, Holme Pierrepont or the famous Nottingham Motorpoint Ice Arena home to Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Team. Famous for its shopping destination and home to Paul Smith, the legendary Sherwood Forest and Nottingham Castle. The evenings truly come alive with a range of Entertainment Venues that includes several Theatres including Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Hall, Dusk Till Dawn casinos and many Night Clubs to cater for all tastes. With over 115 complimentary parking spaces available on site, our aim is to exceed the expectations of Service, Value and Quality every time you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing