We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room and excellent staff, food average though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great room and excellent staff, food average though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had a one night stay here recently with work.

I was impressed by the room when I first walked in as it was above and beyond my expectations.

I went to the restaurant/bar for food and ordered my dinner as I was keen to eat after a long day! I had the pasta bolognese which was a very large portion, however was a little tasteless. I was unable to finish it mainly due to the size of the portion!

I had to leave early the next morning and I was informed there would be a breakfast pack put together our to me, however, in the morning, the reception was not aware of this and the chef didn't know what to put in it! The staff were kind enough to offer me things they had available such as croissants and in fact as I was getting in my car, Mo (who was on reception) came out and gave me a pack he had out together which contained fruit and yogurt which was kind of him.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Steve C,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your recent experience with us. As mentioned in one of my previous replies our food offering is usually produced to a very high standard and I am disappointed to receive your feedback. Please rest assured that this will be addressed immediately and thank you again for bringing this to my attention. I will also be investigating why your breakfast pack wasn’t ready on check-out as we have systems in place to ensure every request is met. Hopefully we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    303
    128
    32
    10
See reviews for
106
198
26
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medway Towns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We dropped in here to break a journey and because its very near Sat Bains where we had dinner. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room fine. Breakfast also was good and my daughters enjoyed the room service while we were out! My only concern was the ridiculous £5 WiFi charge Per device - in this day and age that just feels wrong, however good value the rest of it was.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear kevjacks,

Thank you for your recent review. I’m glad you were well looked after by the team and ultimately had an enjoyable stay with us. We currently offer 24hr complimentary Wi-Fi access in all of our public areas and towards the end of the year Wi-Fi will be complimentary for all IHG Reward members. Once again thank you for your comments and I will be certain to pass all of your feedback on to the relevant departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have just stayed at this Holiday Inn and had a pre ordered dinner on the Saturday. The menu give you the impression that the food will be of a good standard but the reality is that the food is no better than the lower average chain eatery. I had the pate to start with aged salad leaves and it should have had smoked duck salad but alas the duck had flown off. the Roast Lamb rump had been cooked on the char grill that was not very clean and as a result I tasted the bitter flavour from the grill bars - Ughh. My dessert was served on a slate which considering I had as caramel sauce that ran over onto to the table was not a good serving plater. The staff were enthusiastic and tried very hard but were let down by a poor quality Chef!!!

The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Wilson385,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your recent dining experience with us. I must say that I am very disappointed to read your comments as it is our mission to consistently exceed guest expectation. Unfortunately on this occasion it seems we fell well short of our usually high standards. Following you feedback we have held several internal meetings to address the issues raised. I hope we have to opportunity to welcome you back again soon as I’m confident you’ll have a much improved experience.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Ideally placed and nice hotel, food always good plenty of parking. Staff always very friendly and helpful. I have always managed to check in at 2 with no problem.there is also other eating establishments within walking distance

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Kevin G,

Thank you for your 5 star review. It’s great to receive such positive feedback from a returning customer. We really focus on delivering the best possible guest experience and it gives me great confidence in the team when we receive such encouraging feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Very pleased with my recent stay, rooms clean, very good service. Perfect for a business overnight stay. I will use this hotel again for my next planned stays in Nottingham. I also liked the fact that it was on a retail park so had facilities close by.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear jackie0610,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It’s great to hear such positive feedback. We are really proud of our team and the high standards that they deliver.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn on your next visit to Nottingham.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We chose this hotel for a one night DBB stay. Reception staff were very welcoming, and we were given a very pleasant and spacious room. Dinner was very good, with a wide choice of menu, and breakfast was what we have come to expect of Holiday Inns - plenty of choice and as much as we could want. Close to the Castle, we enjoyed a good walk after breakfast before continuing on our way. We would certainly return if we want to stay in this area again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Richard T,

Thank you for your fantastic review following your recent stay. We work extremely hard to ensure that we maintain high standards across the whole hotel and it’s very comforting to read your feedback. We will be introducing a new evening menu very shortly and I hope you’ll have the opportunity to sample some of the new dishes the next time you visit. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to all of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed on Thursday night and again on Monday night in the same room and sadly found the hotel below average for a corporate chain hotel. We were on a D+B+B inclusive rate.
Staff were always busy and not immediately mindful of us.
The dinner menu was unexceptional and the food average, delivered with little care or enthusiasm. The first & second course took forever to arrive and we left before the pudding as the staff were rushed off their feet and we were being ignored. No apology but when I complained next day some recompense was offered.
At the end of our second dinner we were given a greatly inflated bill as "there is no system to tell servers that you are on an inclusive rate”. Beware.
Cleaning of room was shoddy with blood down the side of the toilet.
We are unable to recommend this hotel as nothing quite works as it should but we have been using this chain for many years.
Where is the Management in Nottingham?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbionLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Albionlancashire,

Thank you for your feedback. We always strive to deliver the best possible customer experience however it’s obvious that we fell short on this occasion. Please accept my sincerest apologies and I can assure you that I’ll be discussing your feedback with the team. I would really like to discuss your recent visit further and I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me on 0115 993 5000.

I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nottingham

Property: Holiday Inn Nottingham
Address: 12 Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Nottingham is a deluxe hotel located just one mile from Nottingham City Centre, on a quiet Marina location. The hotel is one of the finest and most sought after in Nottingham, its 128 Bedrooms, Conference Facilities, Meeting space and Eaton's Restaurant and Bar area are well renowned for Quality, Service and Value. Relax in the stylish yet informal atmosphere of our Eatons Brasserie and choose from our varied menu, serving modern British cooking along with reasonably priced quality wines. BT Sports available in Eaton's Bar. The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the city, boasting a wealth of sporting activities, Trent Bridge Cricket, Nottingham Forest Football Club, Nottingham Race Course, Holme Pierrepont or the famous Nottingham Motorpoint Ice Arena home to Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Team. Famous for its shopping destination and home to Paul Smith, the legendary Sherwood Forest and Nottingham Castle. The evenings truly come alive with a range of Entertainment Venues that includes several Theatres including Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Hall, Dusk Till Dawn casinos and many Night Clubs to cater for all tastes. With over 115 complimentary parking spaces available on site, our aim is to exceed the expectations of Service, Value and Quality every time you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing