We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Holiday Inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Nottingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average Holiday Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Pros:
- Good value for price.
- There is a Sainsbury's next to the hotel.

Cons:
- Not situated in the city centre, it is a good distance from downtown.
- Staff is helpful, but not as friendly as I would expect.

I would recommend the Holiday Inn Express City Centre instead. It is cheaper and better located.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_BusinessC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Max L,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. As you have mentioned we are roughly 15 minutes walk from the city centre and although it is a fairly pleasant walk down the canal I appreciate it may not be a suitable distance for all of our guests. We have negotiated a discounted taxi rate with a local taxi company where you can expect to pay approximately £5.00 to the city centre which our reception team would be more than happy to coordinate. I must say that I am concerned to read that you felt the team could have been friendlier as this is an area we really focus on. I will certainly be discussing you feedback with the head of departments.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    299
    127
    30
    9
See reviews for
101
195
26
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night with family in interconnecting rooms - could maybe have squeezed into one room as both had 2 double beds, but we liked the extra space. First impressions of reception, bar and restaurant very good, and this was confirmed during our stay. Staff very helpful and friendly. Walk to city very easy along canal side footpath. Would have liked to have a beer in the garden but unfortunately not enough time :-(.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Glen W,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We all take great pride in delivering excellent service and I’m really pleased that this has come across during your recent visit. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the relevant departments. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited from 8th May to 11th May. The staff were so lovely and friendly very accommodating too. Good clean rooms, wonderful breakfast and evening meal. We were in a large party and nothing was too much trouble for them. Would love to visit again next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromSouthampton715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear FromSouthampton,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience following your recent stay. As previously mentioned the team really enjoyed looking after your group and we all look forward to welcoming you back again next year. I will be certain to pass your feedback onto the team.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have just returned home following a three night booking at this fantastic hotel. I stayed with 32 other members of a group booking whilst attending a singing competition in Nottingham. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful from Reception staff, daily room attendance personnel to bar staff. The quality and presentation of restaurant food was outstanding and the chefs proved they coped with a moderate sized group booking with confidence. Portion control was very generous and the standard of service was high. A colleague also celebrated a "big" birthday during our stay and the hotel staff generously produced celebration gifts at the drop of a hat! A huge thank you to you all for making our stay very memorable during what can be a stressful time due to the nature of our visit associated with the competition. Not all hotels can cope so well with the demands of a barbershop chorus preparing for national competition!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SolentAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear SolentAnne,

Thank you for your fantastic review. I must say that the whole team enjoyed looking after your group and we all especially enjoyed your rendition of ‘Happy Birthday’ during breakfast service. It is our aim to provide excellent service and make our guests feel at home and I’m really happy this was the case during your stay.
We all look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Overall my stay was okay. The room I stayed in was on the old side, the carpet definitely needed changing (had quite a few marks on it). I stayed there at the end of March and when I got to my room at about 4 in the afternoon the room was cold. I asked if they could put the heating on and they said that the heating only came on at 6! (not really very professional for a hotel which is generally for people doing business, as I was).
Food was on the good side and the waiters were pleasant, however a little expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear EnSey,

Thank you for your feedback. I have passed your comments regarding our current heating setup onto our maintenance department as it is always our aim to ensure each guest room is set to a comfortable temperature ready for arrival, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused by this. We will be launching our new à la carte menu in June and I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon as we’d love to get you feedback once more.
I will be certain to pass all of your feedback on to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

David George Clark
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here last week and found the location excellent, it was quiet and peaceful with amenities just over the road, staff a friendly and helpful bedrooms are comfortable but probably need updating buy saying that they have everything you need for a stay over, didn't eat in the restaurant but it was very busy which is a good sign, bar was Cosey prices a little steep but it's a hotel! All in all a great stay and I will return

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Barry S,

Thank you for your 5 star review. I’m glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you felt well looked after by the team. We are currently investing money into refurbishing various areas of the hotel and hopefully you’ll be able to give us your feedback the next time you visit.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Room aircon (214) did not work at all even tried to switch it off. Room are basic needs refurbished. Bed not that comfortable to sleep in. Temperature was so hot could not sleep at all. Breakfast was dismal, choice limited. Staff are friendly though.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murf_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear murf_w,

Thank you for your feedback. Your review plays a vital role in assisting us to improve our quality and our service levels. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the temperature issues experienced during your recent stay. Our air handling system has recently undergone some maintenance work to improve its efficiency and I sincerely apologise that this impacted your stay. We are also investing money into refurbishing our bedroom/bathroom suites, restaurant and public areas. This work should be complete in the next couple of months. I hope we have the opportunity the welcome you back again soon so you can see what we’ve done.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nottingham

Property: Holiday Inn Nottingham
Address: 12 Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Nottingham is a deluxe hotel located just one mile from Nottingham City Centre, on a quiet Marina location. The hotel is one of the finest and most sought after in Nottingham, its 128 Bedrooms, Conference Facilities, Meeting space and Eaton's Restaurant and Bar area are well renowned for Quality, Service and Value. Relax in the stylish yet informal atmosphere of our Eatons Brasserie and choose from our varied menu, serving modern British cooking along with reasonably priced quality wines. The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the city, boasting a wealth of sporting activities, Trent Bridge Cricket, Nottingham Forest Football Club, Nottingham Race Course, Holme Pierrepont or the famous Nottingham Capital One Ice Arena home to Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Team. Famous for its shopping destination and home to Paul Smith, the legendary Sherwood Forest and Nottingham Castle. The evenings truly come alive with a range of Entertainment Venues that includes several Theatres including Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Hall, Dusk Till Dawn casinos and many Night Clubs to cater for all tastes. With over 115 complimentary parking spaces available on site, our aim is to exceed the expectations of Service, Value and Quality every time you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing