We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
360 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Excellent service, comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here for one night ahead of working in the city the next day.

The hotel is situated in the Marina area, along with a number of chain restaurants, other hotels, and a supermarket. From the outside, it had all the hallmarks of an office building. However, once inside, the lobby soon disabused one of that opinion, being the usual, plush, Holiday Inn fare.

Check in was efficient and prompt, and I was soon in my room. The room was large and was well-equipped, albeit not as recently refurbished as some Holiday Inns in which I've previously stayed.

The lift was a little on the slow side; at times, it would have been quicker to catch a lift from a diseased snail. However, it did it's job, eventually. The air-con in my room also wasn't working, insofar as the room didn't cool down, a fact made clear upon returning to the lobby where the air-con was working well.

I would be more than happy to return, if staying in Nottingham again. Indeed, had it not been fully booked, I would have booked in for the following week had it not been fully booked. Service from every member of staff was exemplary.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear BigWoo,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. We all take great pride in delivering excellent service and creating a home from home experience and I’m really pleased that this has come across during your recent visit. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the relevant departments. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the air-conditioning issue you encountered, our maintenance department has been informed and I’m glad that this didn’t detract from an overall enjoyable stay.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    303
    128
    32
    10
See reviews for
105
197
26
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We were put up here for two nights whilst we had to attend clinics for two days at Nottingham City hospital. All the staff were lovely & attentive. The rooms were immaculately clean & the soap had a lovely scent. Breakfast on both mornings were really well cooked & tasty. We sat in a relaxed atmosphere, waiting staff were all friendly & carried out their duties efficiently. Nothing was too much trouble, will certainly look to stay here again when we next have to visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Joy F,

Thank you for your kind comments. We have recently upgraded our breakfast buffet offering and I’m pleased to hear such encouraging feedback. We work tirelessly to ensure that we deliver the best customer experience as possible and it is very rewarding to read your comments. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to all of the team. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed one night with my wife and ten year old son in a double room. Room was very clean, modern, and comfortable. But what made this Holiday Inn stand out was the service. It was truly above and beyond. The manager on duty, a young lady named Tracy, helped our family with a laundry issue. Laundry service was offered on the weekdays, but we had just missed it and as we had been traveling for days and would not see a washing machine for another week, desperately needed it. Tracy immediately found a solution and took care of us. But it wasn't just the laundry issue; she offered advice for anything we needed. I felt taken care at a level far exceeding the price of this hotel. It was our best experience of any hotel of our two week sojourn through England.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Charles H,

Thank you for your fantastic review. It gives me great pleasure to read your comments and I will certainly be passing on your praise to Tracy as I’m sure she’ll be over the moon with your feedback. We’ve spent a lot of time over the past few months focusing on customer experience and I’m glad you felt well looked after by the team. Hopefully we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The whole of the hotel, from reception area to the room, was in fantastic condition very clean, tidy, and comfortable. The bed I slept in was excellent, with a selection of pillows to choose from. The bathroom was clean and modern, and the shower very powerful!! The only complaint I had about the room (a very minor one) was the poor TV reception when watching Sky Sports, although this wasn't to much of a problem as I only watched it briefly during my stay. Tea and coffee making facilities were adequate. Breakfast in the morning was very good, although the sausages had maybe been out on the hotplate to long. My one major gripe was the confusing payment method. The total cost of the stay for my father in law and I was £74. For some reason £99 left my account and the difference was only sorted out 3 days later. This is something which Holiday Inn have still not explained to me, and something I was not told would happen at the time of paying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GYsps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear GYsps,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I’m pleased you found the hotel to be clean and in good condition. I must say that I find reviews such as yours very useful as they enable me to target specific areas for improvement and I will certainly be discussing your comments with the relevant departments. Please accept my apologies for the confusion regarding payment. For our current check-in procedure we require a pre-authorisation of a credit/debit card to cover the amount for the accommodation charge. If a guest wishes to charge extras back to their room account we also require an additional £25.00 pre-authorisation. Once a pre-authorisation is created the bank will hold the amount which will consequently show as a deduction on your bank statement even though the money hasn’t physically left your bank. When the guest checks out the pre authorisation code is used to finalise the actual payment required by the hotel. In your father in laws case this would have been £74.00 as no extras were purchased but a pre-authorisation of £99.00 was taken on check-in. The left over £25.00 will then be released by your bank within 7 working days which also show on your statement. The pre-authorisation process is currently used by the majority of large hotel chains however I sincerely apologise that this wasn’t fully explained to you at check-in.
I’m glad your overall experience was a pleasant one and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Pros:
- Good value for price.
- There is a Sainsbury's next to the hotel.

Cons:
- Not situated in the city centre, it is a good distance from downtown.
- Staff is helpful, but not as friendly as I would expect.

I would recommend the Holiday Inn Express City Centre instead. It is cheaper and better located.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_BusinessC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Max L,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. As you have mentioned we are roughly 15 minutes walk from the city centre and although it is a fairly pleasant walk down the canal I appreciate it may not be a suitable distance for all of our guests. We have negotiated a discounted taxi rate with a local taxi company where you can expect to pay approximately £5.00 to the city centre which our reception team would be more than happy to coordinate. I must say that I am concerned to read that you felt the team could have been friendlier as this is an area we really focus on. I will certainly be discussing you feedback with the head of departments.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night with family in interconnecting rooms - could maybe have squeezed into one room as both had 2 double beds, but we liked the extra space. First impressions of reception, bar and restaurant very good, and this was confirmed during our stay. Staff very helpful and friendly. Walk to city very easy along canal side footpath. Would have liked to have a beer in the garden but unfortunately not enough time :-(.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Glen W,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We all take great pride in delivering excellent service and I’m really pleased that this has come across during your recent visit. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the relevant departments. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited from 8th May to 11th May. The staff were so lovely and friendly very accommodating too. Good clean rooms, wonderful breakfast and evening meal. We were in a large party and nothing was too much trouble for them. Would love to visit again next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromSouthampton715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear FromSouthampton,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience following your recent stay. As previously mentioned the team really enjoyed looking after your group and we all look forward to welcoming you back again next year. I will be certain to pass your feedback onto the team.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#8 of 54 in Nottingham
2,085 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
565 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 54 in Nottingham
1,395 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nottingham

Property: Holiday Inn Nottingham
Address: 12 Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Nottingham is a deluxe hotel located just one mile from Nottingham City Centre, on a quiet Marina location. The hotel is one of the finest and most sought after in Nottingham, its 128 Bedrooms, Conference Facilities, Meeting space and Eaton's Restaurant and Bar area are well renowned for Quality, Service and Value. Relax in the stylish yet informal atmosphere of our Eatons Brasserie and choose from our varied menu, serving modern British cooking along with reasonably priced quality wines. BT Sports available in Eaton's Bar. The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the city, boasting a wealth of sporting activities, Trent Bridge Cricket, Nottingham Forest Football Club, Nottingham Race Course, Holme Pierrepont or the famous Nottingham Motorpoint Ice Arena home to Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Team. Famous for its shopping destination and home to Paul Smith, the legendary Sherwood Forest and Nottingham Castle. The evenings truly come alive with a range of Entertainment Venues that includes several Theatres including Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Hall, Dusk Till Dawn casinos and many Night Clubs to cater for all tastes. With over 115 complimentary parking spaces available on site, our aim is to exceed the expectations of Service, Value and Quality every time you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing