We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Someone call Food Standards Agency”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Overall an ok stay. The room was small yet adequate for what I needed.

A few things to point out:
Shower - very inadequate, not powerful enough
Room service - very reasonable prices but not much to shout about.
Staff - have to say the check in and room service staff were great, very friendly. Unfortunately not the same service received by the staff in the breakfast restaurant, rude and left you to fend for yourself. I got my room number wrong when asked and was rudely advised no and given an uncomfortable look until I rememberd my room number.
FOOD DELIVERY - I must comment on this, as its quite worrying. When went in for breakfast a food order had been delivered outside the kitchen in the public hallway (for everyone to see), This included frozen items. These were still in the same place when I left from my breakfast (20 minutes or so later). Not only not very nice to look at and a trip hazard but also worrying to see food kept this way.

Room Tip: No good if you are a light sleeper, walls very thin. The hotel does provide ear plugs.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnyCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

701 - 707 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank TracieEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Booked a three night stay for business in a city pad room. Small but perfect.
Excellent city centre location not far from multi story car park.
Breakfast was superb, one of the better ones in the area.
Didn't have the opportunity to sample the restaurant in the evening. Will definitely use again

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeSlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending the time writing your review. I was glad to read that you had such a delightful stay here with us at Mercure Nottingham City Centre.

We hope to welcome you to hotel again shortly where we hope you will sample our newly revised Brasserie Menu.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed in almost every hotel in Nottingham during a seven month stint working in that great city. The Mercure was consistently best of the bunch for welcoming and friendly staff, excellent service, spotlessly clean facilities. Good location too for getting around the city.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank LynneAndMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you had such an excellent stay here with us at Mercure Nottingham City Centre.

We hope that upon your next visit to Nottingham we get the pleasure to accommodate your stay.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I had to find a hotel in Nottingham due to a business. Im a Accor platinum member so i choosed The Mercure in the city centre.

I booked the suite to hope it was a nice room and quite. For 3 hours the ladies who made the room made noises and wow did those noises go thru all walls right into my ears! Frustrating when you try to rest/sleep. They turned on the cleaning/dryer and it made a vibrating sound and my whole room was shaking, I have stayed at many hotels and never experienced this kind of noise. When i called down to the front desk they told me it was sound outside the hotel.. and they were very rude. When the man told me to change hotel i had enough! It is rude to say it to a customer instead of solving the issue.. I was going to give Accor a chance, but after this nightmare stay with a room who wasnt a suite at all and the floor was crooked and crappy furniture i will now keep going with Hyatt and SPG. Accor should look into this hotels rude service cause its wasnt nice. I had to switch hotel to the Park Plaza after the rude service they gave me the same day where the service was like day and night against this hotel.

I will never stay here anymore!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have used this hotel on several occasions, just for the odd night when visiting Nottingham. It is the oldest hotel in Nottingham boasting many famous guests that have stayed there since 1822. It always appears as though it has just been refurbished, very clean and nicely decorated. Some of the rooms are on the small side but remember it is a very old hotel and just for one night, you just want a comfortable bed. A small comment with regards to the shower over the bath, it could do with a non-slip mat to reduce any potential accident. Breakfast food was very good although the tea was nothing special. If you are looking for a city centre hotel with a good location look no further. I can highly recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms at the front of the hotel can be a bit noisy due to the central location and nearby bars...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending the time writing your review. I was glad to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay here with us at Mercure Nottingham City Centre.

There are non-slip mats available upon request at reception. As these are not required for all guests we make these available only upon request.

We hope to welcome you to the hotel again shortly.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 48 in Nottingham
2,366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 48 in Nottingham
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#21 of 48 in Nottingham
1,183 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

Address: George Street | Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 3BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: £52 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottingham’s newest 4 star boutique hotel, now open following an 18 month, multi-million pound refurbishment. Originally a Georgian townhouse dating from 1822, the Mercure Nottingham City Centre has been restored to its former glory, reclaiming its place as Nottingham’s finest hotel.Located in the heart of the fashionable Lace Market district, this chic property is perfectly placed only minutes from the Capital FM Arena, Old Market Square and Nottingham Castle. 76 individually designed bedrooms are completely unique, ranging from cute and cozy to grand and gorgeous. Every room is equipped with the latest amenities including ipod docking stations, interactive flat screen TV’s, air conditioning and free wifi.The hotel also boasts a stylish brasserie bar, spacious event rooms and a state of the art fitness centre to offer the best in guest comfort in a great city centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing