We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, city-centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a lovely little hotel tucked away in the middle of Nottingham. My wife and I were attending a concert at the nearby Capital FM Arena and this provided overnight accommodation.

The room was very nice. A good sized bed, lovely bathroom and a huge TV. There was some noise from the street as this was a second floor room but nothing a few beers couldn't handle.

The staff were friendly and helpful and we were even able to have a night cap in the bar at 1.00am in the morning.

The lack of parking is a bit of a pain but hey, this is an old building in the middle of an old city what do you expect. If I stay here again I will just remember to bring the suitcase with wheels.

Breakfast was a pleasant treat. All the usual stuff. I can wholeheartedly recommend the Cumberland Sausage.

So if/when we revisit Nottingham then this hotel is definitely included in the plans.

Room Tip: Higher the better to escape street noise. Ear plugs are provided though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nyamaropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was glad to read that you had such a pleasant stay here with us at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel.

I was glad to read that the staff we’re helpful during your stay, I will pass over your comments.
I hope to welcome you to the hotel again shortly.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Im afraid for the price £129 I was rather disappointed . An extra £ 10 perperson for breakfast (3.50) in witgerspoons nxt door and £10 car park fee. No mirror over dressing table to do your make up. Pillows lumpy .and receptionist seemed to be disappointed that we paid cash !! Tho still took my card details why? And pay me back in a week ! Fraid not worth the hype

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank billybob1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending the time writing your review.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. The pricing for breakfast is maintained by all Mercure Hotels nationwide.

The Lace Market Car Park is the only car park which we can validate the rate for, to reduce the rate down to £10.00 per 24hours. Without validation the rate can be between £14.00 and £17.00 per 24hours.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked tickets to take our 3 year old granddaughter to see Disney on Ice. As we had arranged to meet up on the Saturday morning and we lived 3 hours away we decided to stay over on the Friday night.
We checked out all the Hotels near the venue and made the right choice, the Mercure, very friendly staff, the Hotel is in a great location right in the City centre Lace area of Nottingham, a few minutes walk from the shopping area & the night life part of the City.
The Murcure use to be the George Hotel built a couple of centuries ago. It has been tastefully refurbished to a very high standard. If you want a centrally located Hotel, we would highly recommend it, it has a good Restaurant, with a good choice from the menu, discounted parking
a very good Breakfast hot or cold. All at a reasonable price for a well situated City centre resting place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding the time to write your review. I was glad to read you had such an enjoyable stay here with us at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel.

I will pass your comments over to our staff as they will be delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay.

We hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Mecure on business, the location is great right in the centre. As per other reviews the rooms are very small but it was very clean and had everything you could need and had free wifi. The bathroom was modern and spotless.
I eat in the bar in the evening, the service and food was really good, traditional british selection.
Would recommend anybody who wanted a central hotel in Nottingham.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Newy007uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay here with us at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel.

I will pass your regards over to the Chef who will be delighted to hear your comments.

We hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here with customers in March and the hotel is spotless, room small but very clean and comfortable, bar excellent and great atmosphere , breakfast spot on and staff a real credit.

10 minute walk from the train station and will stay here next time I am in Nottingham

Room Tip: Book early for best deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seandonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending the time writing your review. I was glad to read that you had such a pleasant stay here with us at Mercure Nottingham City.

We hope to welcome you again shortly for another enjoyable experience.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Hotel is very well located in the centre. Room sizes are small and the noise is not good if you are a light sleeper. We did request a late check-out and advised on arrival we had the late check-out but the next morning we had a phonecall from reception to ask what time we are leaving and then advised it's an extra £10 an hour, this was not advised on arrival very sneaky.
The hotel is okay for one night but I wouldnt stay any longer then that.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meleke10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding the time to write your review.

Our late check-out prices are fixed for every guest, even when booked online.

We hope to welcome you to the hotel again shortly.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Wasn't so keen on having to drag our bags from the car park but found the hotel very well located. The rooms were very small 2 adults and 2 suitcases were enough to fit in our room any thing more should have been left outside, not enough room for my husband and I to get ready at the same time, although the rooms were very clean, shower wonderful, we were a bit cold,and it was noisy hence the earplugs. The mirror light in the bathroom didn't work and there wasn't enough shower gels for 2 people for2 nights.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank LJWilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending the time writing your review.

We have a variety of room types which are complimented by our pricing strategy, ranging from our City Pads (Small Doubles) to our Suites.

Our upgraded room types, such as our Executives and Suites are wonderful if you require that extra bit of space and added luxuries.

We hope to welcome you to the hotel again shortly.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

Address: George Street | Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 3BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: £54 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottingham’s newest 4 star boutique hotel, now open following an 18 month, multi-million pound refurbishment. Originally a Georgian townhouse dating from 1822, the Mercure Nottingham City Centre has been restored to its former glory, reclaiming its place as Nottingham’s finest hotel.Located in the heart of the fashionable Lace Market district, this chic property is perfectly placed only minutes from the Capital FM Arena, Old Market Square and Nottingham Castle. 76 individually designed bedrooms are completely unique, ranging from cute and cozy to grand and gorgeous. Every room is equipped with the latest amenities including ipod docking stations, interactive flat screen TV’s, air conditioning and free wifi.The hotel also boasts a stylish brasserie bar, spacious event rooms and a state of the art fitness centre to offer the best in guest comfort in a great city centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing