We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite an A”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Cambridge
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not quite an A”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If this review were to be based on the staff alone, this hotel would certainly rate an A in my book: all the staff we met, at reception and in the dining room, were professional, friendly and helpful: when I mentioned that there were no croissants available at breakfast (a good buffet including freshly prepared hot food), a waiter immediately persuaded the kitchen to produce some.

We had booked a king room for an overnight stay, and the room was spacious and included a Nespresso machine and a fridge with complimentary soft drinks, but it was a little gloomy - not helped by the lighting. We also had trouble with the heating, and the room was chilly (though reception tried to help) and the heated towel rail in the bathroom (apparently the only heat source) wasn't adequate. Although the bathroom was spacious, the wash basin was small with an ill-fitting tap, the water was slow to drain, and there was no surround for a wash bag, etc., which was irritating.

The ear plugs provided were a nice touch, as there was a little noise from Saturday night revellers outside, but we didn't need them: the bed was huge and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay here with us at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel.

I was especially glad to read you enjoyed the space and extra facilities of our King Room and I will be sure to pass your comments over to the maintenance department to ensure that the bathroom issues you encounted are corrected.

The team at Mercure Nottingham hope to welcome you back shortly for another enjoyable visit.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    386
    175
    54
    48
See reviews for
99
439
63
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Upon looking for a cheap and cheerful hotel in Nottingham for my hen weekend I called the Etap phoneline to be told they were full but I could have the Mercure at the very reasonable price of £55 per room and I couldnt be happier.
The staff were wondeful, even when 14 noisy and wet women arrived after a day of outdoor pursuits, the rooms were lovely with large comfy beds and brilliant showers and the location was perfect. We were booked into the Tarn Thai restaurant which is literally down the road where the food was phenomenal, and the local nightlife was great with lots of bars within a 5 minute walk.
The only minor downsides were that some of our party had quite small rooms, although this was mentioned upon booking, and some people found the hotel a little noisy, however ear plugs were provided.

Overall a great hotel in a great location, with great staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending the time writing your review. I was delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us here at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel.

As we are in such a central location, external noise can be experienced upon the weekends but we have taken every precaution necessary to ensure the noise experienced is at a minimal.

We hope to welcome you to the hotel again shortly.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed one night with my boyfriend, I arrived early and my room was ready, which was a great bonus! Receptionist was very friendly.
We stayed in one of the Executive rooms on the top floor, lovely room, so spacious. Noisy with the windows opened but to be expected.
The location was great, right in the centre close to everything. The car park isn't right next door but it is literally 2 minutes down the road, £10.00 for 24 hours is good in a city centre!
Didn't have breakfast in the hotel, there's plenty of local cafes nearby.
All in all a great stay, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2010E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay here with us at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel.

We hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon in the near future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a lovely little hotel tucked away in the middle of Nottingham. My wife and I were attending a concert at the nearby Capital FM Arena and this provided overnight accommodation.

The room was very nice. A good sized bed, lovely bathroom and a huge TV. There was some noise from the street as this was a second floor room but nothing a few beers couldn't handle.

The staff were friendly and helpful and we were even able to have a night cap in the bar at 1.00am in the morning.

The lack of parking is a bit of a pain but hey, this is an old building in the middle of an old city what do you expect. If I stay here again I will just remember to bring the suitcase with wheels.

Breakfast was a pleasant treat. All the usual stuff. I can wholeheartedly recommend the Cumberland Sausage.

So if/when we revisit Nottingham then this hotel is definitely included in the plans.

Room Tip: Higher the better to escape street noise. Ear plugs are provided though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyamaropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was glad to read that you had such a pleasant stay here with us at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel.

I was glad to read that the staff we’re helpful during your stay, I will pass over your comments.
I hope to welcome you to the hotel again shortly.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Im afraid for the price £129 I was rather disappointed . An extra £ 10 perperson for breakfast (3.50) in witgerspoons nxt door and £10 car park fee. No mirror over dressing table to do your make up. Pillows lumpy .and receptionist seemed to be disappointed that we paid cash !! Tho still took my card details why? And pay me back in a week ! Fraid not worth the hype

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank billybob1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending the time writing your review.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. The pricing for breakfast is maintained by all Mercure Hotels nationwide.

The Lace Market Car Park is the only car park which we can validate the rate for, to reduce the rate down to £10.00 per 24hours. Without validation the rate can be between £14.00 and £17.00 per 24hours.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked tickets to take our 3 year old granddaughter to see Disney on Ice. As we had arranged to meet up on the Saturday morning and we lived 3 hours away we decided to stay over on the Friday night.
We checked out all the Hotels near the venue and made the right choice, the Mercure, very friendly staff, the Hotel is in a great location right in the City centre Lace area of Nottingham, a few minutes walk from the shopping area & the night life part of the City.
The Murcure use to be the George Hotel built a couple of centuries ago. It has been tastefully refurbished to a very high standard. If you want a centrally located Hotel, we would highly recommend it, it has a good Restaurant, with a good choice from the menu, discounted parking
a very good Breakfast hot or cold. All at a reasonable price for a well situated City centre resting place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding the time to write your review. I was glad to read you had such an enjoyable stay here with us at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel.

I will pass your comments over to our staff as they will be delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay.

We hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
2,217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 49 in Nottingham
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

Property: Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Address: George Street | Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 3BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottingham’s newest 4 star boutique hotel, now open following an 18 month, multi-million pound refurbishment. Originally a Georgian townhouse dating from 1822, the Mercure Nottingham City Centre has been restored to its former glory, reclaiming its place as Nottingham’s finest hotel.Located in the heart of the fashionable Lace Market district, this chic property is perfectly placed only minutes from the Capital FM Arena, Old Market Square and Nottingham Castle. 76 individually designed bedrooms are completely unique, ranging from cute and cozy to grand and gorgeous. Every room is equipped with the latest amenities including ipod docking stations, interactive flat screen TV’s, air conditioning and free wifi.The hotel also boasts a stylish brasserie bar, spacious event rooms and a state of the art fitness centre to offer the best in guest comfort in a great city centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing