We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Nottingham
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location in the centre of Nottingham. Parking is a bit of a faff - you have to go right the way around the one way system to get there - we accidentally passed their recommended one too so ended up in the NCP. Was really close walking-wise to the hotel though. The room was nice - if a little noisy - but they did leave us with ear plugs which was considerate. The bar/breakfast room was also quite nice - although the guy did get cross with us for turning the bright lights down when no one else was in there at the end of the night. Overall was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagelobagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending the time writing your review. I was glad to read that overall you had a pleasant stay with us here at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel.

Being the oldest hotel in Nottingham, originally constructed in 1822, parking was not originally required. As the centuries past and the City of Nottingham developed, several Car Parks were constructed. We are lucky that one is in such close proximity to the hotel. We are aware that the one-way system of Nottingham can be troubling which is why we advertise upon our website that travelling to the Car Park is easier than arriving at the hotel. This can be seen at http://www.mercurenottingham.com/location.html.

We hope we can welcome you to the hotel again shortly.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    384
    173
    53
    48
See reviews for
98
438
61
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Newly refurbished and clean. However room I was in was one of the smallest I've had in a Mercure. Also had a shower not bath.

Disappointing especially as I'm an Accor Gold club member and wasn't offered a better room.

Location is great but being in the city centre meant a lot of noise from revellers which can mostly be drowned out by closing the windows and turning the a/c on. Hotel also offered earplugs.

Also had a little gym for guests to use. Built in one of the oldest buildings in Nottingham, it retains features such as an old historic staircase.

Was OK overall. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nnoriel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending the time writing your review.

We have a variety of different room categories, ranging from our City Pads to our Suite, each complemented by a pricing strategy.

We always upgrade our Gold and Platinum Members, subject to availability on the day of arrival. Unfortunately during your visit, the hotel was fully occupied and therefore was allocated the room type which you booked online.

We hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Nicely appointed hotel in old building of character. Check-in was not very efficient and initially I was given a room facing into an atrium full of airconditioner noise. This despite being a Platinum member. Bar ambience was poor and when we turned down the lighting we were told off (despite being the only people there).

Breakfast was poor - badly cooked eggs; slow service to remove dishes etc.

Would not stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I was disappointed to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We always upgrade our Gold and Platinum Members, subject to availability on the day of arrival. Unfortunately during your visit, the hotel was fully occupied and therefore was allocated the room type which you booked online.

I will take your comments into account and pass these over to the relevant heads of department.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again shortly.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were looking for a Hotel ideally situated for the Ice Arena and this was it!
Very comfortable room, we didn't have breakfast as we had to leave early but we would certainly return to this Hotel if we wanted to be in this part of Nottingham again. Recommended CP was fine and you get a discount on parking if you see reception before you leave. We weren't disturbed by too much noise, as some people have mentioned although it was probably quieter as we stayed on a Thursday night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding the time to write your review. I was glad to read that overall you had a pleasant experience here with us at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel.

As we are a City Centre Hotel, some external noise can be experienced. I was glad to read that you experienced such minimal noise.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again shortly.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West, Uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The receptionist was warm and friendly at check in. We'd booked three rooms with one early check in, but all the rooms were available at 11am which was fantastic. Upgraded rooms aren't significantly better than standard rooms, but all were clean and functional, if a little drab. The best and worst thing is the central location. The place is surrounded by late night bars, hence the provision of ear plugs. That being said it's a city centre, so it would be unfair to criticise the hotel for the excessive noise pollution. All in all it was perfect for what we needed. Have to commend the straight forward driving directions that were easily followed, and the breakfast was very good for that type of mid - range crashpad type hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Darcy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending the time writing your review. I was glad to read that overall you had a pleasant experience here with us at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel.

I was especially glad to read that our staff were able to accommodate all three of your rooms being able to check in before the allocated arrival time.

We hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the near future for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards

Stuart Pringle

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#16 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

Property: Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Address: George Street | Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 3BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nottingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottingham’s newest 4 star boutique hotel, now open following an 18 month, multi-million pound refurbishment. Originally a Georgian townhouse dating from 1822, the Mercure Nottingham City Centre has been restored to its former glory, reclaiming its place as Nottingham’s finest hotel.Located in the heart of the fashionable Lace Market district, this chic property is perfectly placed only minutes from the Capital FM Arena, Old Market Square and Nottingham Castle. 76 individually designed bedrooms are completely unique, ranging from cute and cozy to grand and gorgeous. Every room is equipped with the latest amenities including ipod docking stations, interactive flat screen TV’s, air conditioning and free wifi.The hotel also boasts a stylish brasserie bar, spacious event rooms and a state of the art fitness centre to offer the best in guest comfort in a great city centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing