We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing stay for a 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Oss, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Dissapointing stay for a 3 star”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I think the hotel has seen better days when you drive by. it's on the corner of a busy street and doesn't really look that pleasant from the outside. When we arrived at the inside the person behind the counter was very friendly and let us stash our luggage (unfortunately we weren't allowed to get to our rooms because we arrived at 13:00 instead of 14:00). The overall stay was average. not even good for a 3 star hotel but just average. The following + and - points apply to this hotel from my perspective.

+ The breakfast is good ( a bit greasy).
+ The staff is friendly
+ the rooms are clean

- There is no air conditioning or even a fan on the room. So the choice is to keep the window open with load noises or to keep it closed and get cooked in your hotel room.
- No curtains, only blinds which don't really help and still let a lot of light thru.
- The room has seen better days with age stains in the carpet, the bathroom with things broken and all sides of the bath have like 5 to 6 layers of kit to the sides.
- It has a bar, but only for beer and soft drinks. First we tried to get something to eat and they told us the restaurant isn't open (according to their menu it's open Mo-Su and we where there on a Saturday). After that we tried to order a espresso and a coffee. Even that wasn't possible because the coffee lady wasn't there (what??? no coffee because you don't know how the coffee machine works?)
- The girl behind the counter almost charged us double for the rooms because she didn't see that we paid in advance and luckily the manager intervened. we also needed to leave a deposit of 20 pounds on our creditcard just in case (first time for me after staying at many hotels when i prepay)
- The lift is way too small to fit three persons and it states a max of six. on the last day the lift to the sixth floor didn't work and we had to walk down (only one of two lifts go to the sixth floor).
- They serve breakfast until 09:30 which is fine. The problem is that they made a deal with one of the carparks nearby that you can exit for 7.50 inf you arrive after 17:00 and leave before 09:00. Because we needed to get our suitcases from the room and then checked out at 09:05 we had to pay 2 pounds extra (9,50) because we would arrive after 09:00 at the carpark. I would suggest making a better deal with the carpark for your customers because this felt like a ripoff for the extra 5min.

Overall i would not recommend this hotel or visit it in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niels W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    107
    85
    42
    33
See reviews for
31
84
42
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stornoway
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Booked for business but staff made us all feel welcome. ok for one or two nights. short walk into town. only criticism is that lifts are very small and seemed to have a mind of their own. meals in the 44 bar were good and fairly cheap.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drummondstornoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The last couple of reviews have hit the nail on the head. Nothing at all wrong with this place for a quick business trip. Clean, helpful staff, well presented rooms. A few negatives including location and road noise, too warm etc but for the money there is nothing wrong with it, perhaps not the sort of place for a romantic weekend, fine for a quick business trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flightlevel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The rooms are basic, but have hair dryer and iron and ironing board, along with a trouser press if that's your thing! The bathroom was antiquated with barely enough room to move in. The floor we were on was excessively hot and I had to ask a couple of times to have the heating pipes turned off in my room. The windows opened which was great but onto a noisy intersection and with their pub/bar on the side of the building, noisy patrons stumbling home. The restaurant was great for breakfast in the mornings. The staff were extremely helpful and incredibly attentive.They were in fact a very cheery bunch. It was a quick walk into town and it was great having the cathedral across the road which is a most beautiful place to visit with the restorations that they've done. Not a bad little place for value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crankyfrankieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the Strathson 21st April, the hotel is location about 5 - 10 mins steady walk to the center and about the same to the Castle.
The rooms have the basic facilities for a comfortable stay, there appears to have been a recent refurb so are quite clean and tidy, however the workmanship of the refurb is a tad questionable.
Check in and out is quick and painless and the guys on reception are quite helpful when asking for local directions places to go etc.
Breakfast, good produce and well cooked, however the event seemed manic, the room was'nt even full when we breakfasted but the self service small containers continually ran out, with the waiters running backwards and forwards trying to fill them.
I would stop here again if in Nottingham, just hope they sort the breakfast service though before I do!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

got a good deal on a one night stay at this hotel through Wowcher. I was very disappointed with the look of this hotel from the outside and feared the worst. However, the rooms were adequate and clean although too hot and having the window open meant it was very noisy throughout the night and on Sunday morning when the bell at the cathedral opposite started chiming at 0750, the breakfast was ok and the staff were not bad. The location was very good for the centre of Nottingham. The lack of parking was not very helpful. All in all I would say it is pretty average, nothing to complain about but nothing to rave about either.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Booked room through Groupon which when we booked, we immediately asked if we wanted an upgrade to a double room as the rooms from Groupon are only 3/4beds! We did upgrade but really wish we did not bother. We first arrived at the hotel with no car parking nearby, so had to pay £19 for two night car park which was 0.5 mile away, does not sound far but when you have heavy bags it feels miles away. Our room was very small, too small for a couple. It was over the restaurant and you could not open the window so no ventilation in the room. We woke to pigeons nesting on the window, knocking and kooing. Shower was disgusting, it smelt of mouldy pee and shower hose did not work as it had holes in it but the bath was also rusty. We moved rooms but to our despair it was worse. The room was over the restaurant and constantly smelt of chip fat so we bought some candles to disguise the smell. On our second night at around 10pm until 1am all that we heard was a disco but our room was over the restaurant where the party was and our room shook with disbelief as it was that loud. If we had a disco ball and opened the door to guests we would of had a room full of people dancing, honestly it was terrible. Reception would not divulge when the party would finish nor did they apologise. If you want a good night sleep do not bother staying at this hotel. Terrible stay!! They must only have certain rooms for Groupon as we were in room 413 then 213. NEVER AGAIN. BE WARNED!!

Room Tip: Do not travel through GROUPON, you don't actually save alot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
641 reviews
0.8 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#32 of 49 in Nottingham
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#21 of 49 in Nottingham
1,173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
2,315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham

Property: Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
Address: 44 Derby Road | Nottinghamshire, Nottingham NG1 5FT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathdon Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing