We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strathdon hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Strathdon hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Excellent location if you're going to the concert hall or theatre just a short walk away.
Lovely helpful staff and comfortable clean room. Ideal for a city centre break.
Nice restaurant for breakfast, unhurried and peaceful start to the day,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    96
    80
    40
    31
See reviews for
30
79
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We were in Nottingham for a concert. We booked a family and double room for family and friends. The hotel couldn't do enough for us. Helped with taxis, advice and parking, and made our stay very enjoyable. If we ever visit Nottingham again I would certainly rebook.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc_Gwynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We wasnt expecting a lot from this hotel but we were pleasantly surprised, we paid a little more and paid in the executive suite which was well worth it, the WIFI strength was full and we had a large room with a comfortable bed.
It is very close to Nottingham Center which is what we wanted due to the christmas market.
Hotel drinks were nice however a little on the steep side which is expected in a hotel in the center. lovely little find and would love to come back!

Room Tip: definitely worth a little but more for the executive rooms, however bare in mind that the lift is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Comiskey1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I stay away probably three nights a month on average. This place is a reliable little haunt in Nottingham.

The rooms are clean, reasonably sized and nicely decorated.
Staff are well mannered and friendly.
The bar in the evening is a mix of Northern working lads and business types. A half lively atmosphere.

The food is ok, nothing special. Reasonable portions sensibly priced.
Breakfast is a bit on the small side for £7.50. Frozen deep fried sausages as standard.

For £54 for a clean bed, a good dinner and breakfast there's nothing to really complain about.
Will definitely be back again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellingassessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My single room was well furnished and the bed was very comfortable, tv had freeview so many channels to chose from. Hotel was a short walk into the city centre but far enough away to be quiet at night. I did not eat in the hotel because there are plenty of places to eat in the city. I parked on the street a couple of streets away which wa cheaper than the multistory.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and I, late sixties, availed ourselves of a Peel Hotel promotion and chose the Strathdon in Nottingham, a city we do not know well. We were impressed by the amiability and efficiency of the staff, cleanliness of the hotel, presentation of the room and excellent catering.

Our room was spotless, afforded ample storage, beds most comfortable though there was a slight problem with the TV, remedied within minutes. Breakfast whether cooked or continental more than satisfying, obviating the need for lunch. Dinner, table d'hote, was likewise enjoyable. Wine list quite affordable.

Al-in-all an enjoyable stay and a chance to have a detailed look at Nottingham. Would happily recommend or return.

Room Tip: Not for the room, but the City Centre is within easy walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Needed a hotel that was close to the Royal Theatre so that my retired parents did not have to walk very far. Ideal for this purpose, although you have to park in a nearby car park but you get a discount. The hotel stamps your parking ticket - cost only £8.40 to stay from 15.00 saturday to 09.30 sunday morning which is cheaper than taxis in/out from another hotel further from the centre. The staff at the hotel are very friendly. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but you get everything you need for a short stay in this city. The hotel and bedroom are comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank threesheds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Goldsmith Street) Hotel
0.3 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#14 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham

Property: Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
Address: 44 Derby Road | Nottinghamshire, Nottingham NG1 5FT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathdon Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing