We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Place Dont Stay here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 2 January 2010

This is one of the worst places I have ever had the misfortune to stay in

To start with both lifts did not work and have obviously not been working for some time! the pictures of both the out of order signs can be seen

After a long trip lugging my stuff up 3 flight of small winding stairs did not please me

Worst of all there WAS NO HOT WATER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I tried in the evening to shower, no hot water!! I then tried again in the morning before a 5 hour drive again to shower!! Again NO HOT WATER

Our party arrived in reception all looking rough and unwashed, the reception staff said nothing and clearly did not give a toss

The room was small old and basic, i hated it

there is free wifi is you sit in the corridor to use it

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rugbyplayer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrathdonGM, General Manager at Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2010

Dear Rugbyplayer25,
Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor, and I am sorry for the inconvenience you suffered during your stay.
As anyone who works in an establishment with lifts would tell you, they are never quite as reliable as you would hope. Both lifts have been in operation since before Christmas 2009, as they were for the vasy majority of last year. I am sorry that you came at a time when, in view of guest safety, both lifts had to be put out-of-order. We do offer luggage portering at The Strathdon Hotel, which can be requested 24 hours a day from Reception.
I am puzzled as to why there was no hot water. Obviously this operates on a timer , with storage heaters maintaining the surplus at other times, and I can only assume there was an inordinately large number of people running hot water at an unusual time of day. Once reported the boilers can both be put on override and the hot water will come through in a matter of minutes. Also, our Reception staff are very considerate, friendly and professional.
Free Wi-Fi is something we are committed to as part of Peel Hotels, and again, when reported, any given Access Point can be reset to boost the signal strength.
Again, I am sorry you did not enjoy your time at The Strathdon Hotel, but I am grateful that you have raised these issues so that they can be addressed.
Regards,

Martin Hunt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2009

The location of the Strathdon hotel is perfect, only a short walk to city center and university. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are small and clean, the variety of the offered breakfast could be better but is probably the typical British fare. The bar is fully equipped and Vera is an excellent and very friendly and helpful barkeeper. There is free Internet access but the wireless signal was too weak to access the internet at my room.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kilovolt500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The hotel was nice and clean. The staff were friendly throughout our stay. The room was really comfortable and nicely decorated. I can't fault the place really.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cakeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toon_local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2008

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kes_Jules_Jaik_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank journiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank busybeetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0.9 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#30 of 41 in Nottingham
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
701 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham

Address: 44 Derby Road | Nottinghamshire, Nottingham NG1 5FT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: £49 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Strathdon Hotel - Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathdon Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing