We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel In a central location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice hotel In a central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were upgraded to a superior room as it was my OHs birthday. We were surprised that the superior room was basically just a normal room with space for a sofa bed (which was already made up). Once we'd made the sofa bed back into a sofa he room was much more spacious. Staff were polite in the main and delivered a complimentary fruit salad and birthday card and toothpaste (which I'd forgotten to pack).

Breakfast was over priced and veggie sausages had to be cooked to order and came up dry and hard. Drinks in the bar were also expensive as yu'd expect in a hotel. The spa was nice if you are early risers like us you get full run of it before it gets busy.

Location is very central, near the cinema and theatre. There's a slightly scary pub opposite the entrance - if you feel brave go in on a live music night!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiredMummy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    205
    272
    246
    422
See reviews for
118
394
99
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel last week as I had a conference in Nottingham. I specifically chose the hotel based on price and free internet connection as I had work to do whilst I was there. Big mistake! We checked into our room which was tired but clean with an aging TV that had a remote with no batteries in. I switched on my laptop and attempted to log in to the wifi and nothing for ages, then it worked - for 10 minutes, and then nothing. I tried to ring reception but I could hear the receptionist but they could not hear me! So, we were going out for a meal so we went down to reception, collected 2 new batteries for the remote, said I had rung reception - "oh yes you are room 618", we couldn't hear you...and was told that the system would need rebooting and it would take half an hour! So we went out for a meal (see my review on Chutney, just down from the hotel) returned later and it worked for about 45 minutes <o> agggghhh. Tried to ring, same problem. We decided to go down to the bar/restaurant area, assuming that maybe different floors and area's had better reception...but nothing - the bar was good and drinks reasonable however. The problem did not get better, the wifi was rubbish and I was totally frustrated by not being able to complete my work. So much so that despite the offers on the day for an all you can eat buffet breakfast - which we had the first morning, on the second day I was forced to go to the local Wetherspoons with my laptop for breakfast for the free wifi...

Parking incidentally is next door in St James Street multi-storey, my sat nav was confused! and you can walk out of the car park under cover on the ground floor to check in, or I believe the floor above has a walkway - maybe from the bar area but we did not use it. Don't forget to validate your ticket with the reception for a discount, its £16 over night otherwise - we paid £10 the first day and £7 the second with a different validation from where my conference was. The location is excellent, right near everything you can possibly need and there is a Tesco Express within a minute.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Ok so i found a really good online offer, £30.00 for one night for an executive room. great! me and the mrs decided to have a weekend away in nottingham so we booked 1 non smoking executive room.
we parked up in the adjacent car park, looked safe enough, went to reception, had to wait about five minutes before getting seen to. after a few minutes of staring at the screen the receptionist tells we've got the reservation but unfortunetly there aren't any executive rooms left??? how if we have pre paid and booked an executive room??? her response being they must have given your room away?? so i aksed to speak to the manager.

The manage comes along whilst eating a burger, has a look and tells us yes its been given away by mistake. they can offer us a double room but we have to pay the full price as that room is not in the offer! as most people would i kicked off and said this is just a joke, after faffing about he comes back and tells us we can have an executive room but it will be in a smoking room. i wasnt happy but it had to do.

The room was fairly spacious but had damp patches, blood on the sheets, the wooden curtain did not close, the shower wouldnt go hot and the television did not work. there were no towels so i asked for some, after my 4th request and 8 hours later they arrived and left on the floor outside the room, very professional!

The next morning i we were talking to a couple who were leaving and when asked why they were leaving they said because there was a rat/mouse in their room!!!

If you like to be spoken in a rude manor, like poor service, unprofessional staff and rats then this is the place to be! if not stay well clear! a joke of a hotel and staff which im sure will be closed down soon!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

this hotel has a shabby entrance. It is very tired and well worn. Furniture in the bedrooms are knocked and tvs are mostly the old ones with the deep backs . the tiles in the bathrooms are chipped. The rooms are very hot at night, and the other toilets on the first floor the basins have cracks in them and the floors have never seen a good mop or scrubb for years!. the furniture in the main lounge is all miss matched and nothing matches.
Food ! well the sweets contsist of - choc fudge cake, lemon meringue pie, mandarin gateau and black forest gateau al with running cream.ALL out of the freezer i presume and this is the same every night!!!! The soups all taste the same. Breakfast- okay apart from the bacon is very pale and chewy and the jam is tasteless.
It all needs upgrading and bringing into the 21st century.
Staff most of them are good but the main woman on the reception has an attitude problem!!!
but if you pay cheap you get cheap!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilcumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

we stayed here for one night in December,not expecting anything grand, in fact the food, ambiance,cleanliness,decor in public and room areas was dreadfull,the only redeeming feature was the comfort of the bed and linen. a subsequent mail to head office was brushed aside probably by the same one (not) used for cleaning!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swanrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed here on a recent stag weekend and it seemed like many of the guests were also on stag or hen weekends. The hotel was pretty cheap and central, however it is in need of refurbishment.

The main bedroom was small and a bit run down but it was actually fine for the price. The bathroom, however, needed some serious work. The mirror had messages from numerous previous occupants which appeared when the bathroom steamed up and the edges of floor, sink, toilet etc had grime building up. The plug backed up in a minute or so and the back of the door had quite a lot of stains. The worst thing was the shower as it was impossible to get it to a reasonable temperature, it was either freezing or scalding.

In my opinion when booking this hotel you have to weigh price against your desire for a more up to date hotel (or a decent shower). If I end up back in Nottingham I will probably give this hotel a miss.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CG_London45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heckington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

The rooms were small but clean & tidy - very helpful staff

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneysunshinexxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#24 of 54 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#15 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Goldsmith Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Property: Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing