We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just stayed for a big party booking and have to say the hotel were very accommodating, staff good and food ok. The package was very reasonable for city centre convenience but if it wasn't for the function I personally wouldn't stay there - wife's worse nightmare - but you get what you pay for. If your planning a big function, 200+ attendees and need a good deal to encourage attendance then this could be for you.
My room certainly didn't look like the pictures on the website.
It's very tired & dated and is in need of some big style investment. But I guess that would mean the prices would go up.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have stayed here twice now and thoroughly enjoyed it both times, i would most certainly recommend it. The hotel is clean, a good temperature, nice showers, has pleasant staff, commands a spectacular view of the city at night and at £35/night is very reasonable. I will most likely return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just come back from a St Patrick's event. One couple in the group had a dirty room and it took a long time for someone to come and look at the problem. When they finally arrived all they did was put towels on top of the wet carpet to soak up the wetness. On entering the dining room no one had any idea which table you were supposed to be sitting on. The food was poor. As a vegetarian I was given some vegetables with a very weak type of curry flavoured gravy. If you weren't sitting near the entertainment then you had no chance of joining in. Breakfast was buffet style and the tomatoes were cold so were the plates and the toaster broke down. What this hotel needs is someone to organise events and maybe staff need training in the kitchen and dining room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Choosey081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner took her disabled brother to this hotel. The hotel looks very dated and in desperate need of a refurb. Both lifts were broken when we got there and we had to get the wheelchair in through the service lift. The original room allocated was not at all suitable for a wheelchair user (a bath and no walk in shower) despite booking an accessible room. The food is dreadful - breakfasts swimming in grease and evening meals just generally terrible. The pints of lager were even worse. Wouldn't stay here again if you paid me!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Geordie_Foo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

As a Britannia Hotels regular I know what to expect from them. Fifty pounds got my partner and I a room on the seventh floor including breakfast! The room like many I have stayed in was tired and dated but perfectly adequate for a one night stay. It did however have tremendous views over the city an unexpected bonus! Breakfast was well cooked and fresh unlike my recent stay in its Manchester counterpart! The staff were cheerful and friendly and like most Britannias it is excellently located, could definitely do with some tlc though!! Good value for an inner city hotel but pay more elsewhere if you want luxury!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for spectacular city views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRMAGPIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

On arrival we were allocated an "Executive Double Room" sounded rather grand - but that's about as grand as things got. On entering room it was immediately apparent that it was dated, tired and badly in need of updating. From the threadbare carpet to the rickety chair, to the stained, grubby sofa - I wouldn't like to hazard a guess as to how many bodily fluids were visible on it's seat and cushions!! However, I guess it could have been worse - our friends "Executive Double Room" was little bigger than an average box room and they paid the same as us!! Evening meal/breakfast was included in our cost, so felt obliged to utilise facilities accordingly. Food, both evening meal and breakfast was bland, badly presented and served on greasy, grubby crockery. Bar facilities - not being able to obtain an alcoholic beverage at the bar after 11pm on a Friday night a somewhat new and annoying experience. Britannia is well located for all Nottingham has to offer - but so is the Travel Lodge opposite, which had I known it's location I would most certainly have opted for!!!!! Due to the company we were in, we had an enjoyable reunion weekend in Nottingham. However, this was inspite of and not in anyway due to the lacklustre Britannia Hotel. Whomever awarded this place 3 Stars must have pretty low standards. An experience most definitely not to be repeated.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyandVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This place is a Doss House
Scruffy Noisy Out of Date
Full of NUMPTYS ......Shouting slamming doors .....Students (w4nkers) up all night .
It's one of the worst places I've stayed......Please don't waste your money.
Spend an extra 30 pounds a night somewhere else.....It really isn't worth parting with money to stay here
Parking on nearby streets is nearly impossible.
Can't think of anything good to say really about this place .
Clean towels and bedding
Shower works!!.
I've given it 1 star as it had a bed and a door that closed.
Other than than its Rough as Toast !!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#18 of 41 in Nottingham
1,215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,463 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
1.0 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#29 of 41 in Nottingham
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: £29 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing