We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pitts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Avoid at all cost and that's being polite!! This place doubles as a half way house for immigrants. The lift smelt of urine and tge carpets on tge landing and in my room were stained and thread bare in places. The whole place smelt of stale cigarette smoke. Spend an extra tenner and stay elsewear you won't regret it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
There are newer reviews for The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here last week for business.

Some positives such as a very comfy bed and friendly staff but the negatives stood out such as noise from the wind blowing through the windows, the parking is a nightmare and reaching the hotel due to the one way system is tough.

Having wooden panels instead of curtains was weird

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceri g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked for 2 nights , Friday and Saturday , and paid £70 per night . Good value for money . Double room was not very big , but everything you needed. Bed was comfortable , shower was powerful and hot . You get a discount off your car parking charges . Was ok

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sezle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I booked a one nights stay and was really worried about coming here after reading the reviews, But I was quite surprised the room was clean, friendly staff on the 8th floor. the furniture is dated could do with a revamp! But overall I would stay here again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Lola31xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Six friends and I recently stayed here for two nights and we were very impressed with it. Location could'nt have been better, the food was excellent, plenty of choice and well presented. The staff were all very friendly and helpfull, especially as I took ill one night and I rang reception who immediately sent two staff up who were absolutely amazing. I am a 73yr old lady and they looked after me and called Paramedics out, We all agreed it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in and will certainly go back again. Thanks again to everyone! V.ROWLANDS.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VALERIE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a bed for the nite, I was looking At late rooms, got bed and brelkie for £37, I was shocked at how cheap it was, breakfast had everything you could ask for, staff very helpful, it was clean and had everything you needed, carpets and things are a little worn, but is still nice, I defo will go bk the next time I am I. The area x

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Toriu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived and were angrily met at reception by a rude receptionist who had obviously not being introduced to customer service.

We were given the room key and left to find our own way. On leaving the lift we were greeted with stained carpets, wired protruding from gaping holes in the wall and plaster missing from Corners of the walls.

The room was dirty, the fridge was covered in a thick film of dust and smelled strongly of mildew. The bedding was stained and the glassware was chipped. There was an empty milk carton in the drinks tray and the sink was blocked meaning the sink overflowed. The toilet had not been cleaned prior to our arrival.

Upon speaking to reception they couldn't have been less helpful.

We quickly headed out and avoided returning to absolutely necessary.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JessicaLouise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#21 of 48 in Nottingham
1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 48 in Nottingham
2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#22 of 48 in Nottingham
1,939 reviews
0.0 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#18 of 48 in Nottingham
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 48 in Nottingham
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: £33 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing