We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very old hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very old hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I booked two nights with my husband in this hotel, and we had a room at the 2d floor: we always had to keep the WOOD PANELS (!!?) closed, because of the carpark opposite our window; the carpets were dirty and the toilet wasn't so cleaned..the bed was ok, such as the blanket and the pillows.. but the room and everything in general looks like is there since the last century!!
Definitely we won't book other nights there again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 3lena81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    205
    272
    246
    422
See reviews for
118
394
99
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked to stay here last weekend but it was so bad we drove home at 10.30pm. We checked in at 1.30pm and quickly dropped our bags off as we were going to see Sarah Millican. We got back to our room at 9.45pm and by 10.30pm we had checked out and were on our way home.

The hotel room was abysmal. It clearly hadn't been maintained for years, probably decades. The tiles on the bathroom were falling off, literally. The Carpets actually hurt my feet, the walls were battered and marked, the lights were all wonky and to make things worse the noise from other guests was shocking.
When we decided to leave we were told by the duty manager he couldn't refund us but head office would if we wrote to them. Since then I have emailed several times and phoned them having found the contacts on a website. So far they have offered me a £7.80 refund (i'm not joking) and a £20 voucher for their hotel chain (like I'd EVER stay in one again). They have said because we didn't complain earlier it won't be refunded properly, despite us not even being in the hotel all day.

I have found head office staff very dismissive too during phone conversations. The last lady saying in the middle of a conversation 'I have to go now because the other phone is ringing' and the fact the director refuses to speak to customers is a disgrace.

It is clear Britannia hotels have no respect for their customers, read the other reviews and you will see what I mean. The staff WORKING in the hotel even agree it is run down and needs money spending on it, they said this won't happen though. They have since denied this but I guarantee it was said.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Petet8385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for one night and that was enough. As we walked in there were 2 receptionist behind the desk who did not look up to aknowledge us and just told us to wait while they finished whatever it was they were doing. We don't mind waiting but some eye contact and a smile wouldn't have hurt. The room was small but clean. We got excited to see a mini fridge in the room and thought it would be perfect for keeping our drinks in as it was a very hot day. However after fiddling with the dial to no avail we asked at reception how to turn it on only to be told most of the mini fridges in the hotel 'don't work.' We thought this was odd - how can they all be broken? And why not remove them instead of leaving them in guests rooms? I wonder if there was some cost cutting going on here by switching them all off. This was supposed to be a 'superior' room but there was nothing superior about it. On the other hand the hotel was very quiet which was surprising for a saturday night and the extra towels we requested were delivered within moment of getting back to our room. I doubt we would stay again though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a stag weekend in central Nottingham. Its location couldn't be faulted as it is within easy walking distance of the excellent bars and restaurants in the city. The hotel was really easy to find and there is a multi story car park to its rear with a direct walkway into the hotel. The car park rate is quite expensive but if you validate your ticket at reception on check out the rate drops to £9.50 per 24 hours. Check in was straightforward with very friendly reception staff. My room was on the ninth floor and was a good size, clean and with a very comfortable bed. As a result of the floor level there was very little external noise. However I was woken by an inconsiderate bunch coming back to their rooms adjacent to mine at 4.30 am. They were old enough to know better but obviously this wasn't the hotel's fault. The bathroom was fairly basic but clean but the shower was a bit on the weak side. All the lifts worked and were in perfectly good order. I didn't use the bar or have breakfast in the hotel and so can't comment but when I walked through the bar it was quite busy and everybody seemed to be enjoying themselves. The clientele was a mixture of stag and hen parties, young couples and more mature couples. I got an excellent rate and would recommend this hotel for its good central location and excellent rates

Room Tip: Higher floors are likely to have less external noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 14SRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Avoid at all cost and that's being polite!! This place doubles as a half way house for immigrants. The lift smelt of urine and tge carpets on tge landing and in my room were stained and thread bare in places. The whole place smelt of stale cigarette smoke. Spend an extra tenner and stay elsewear you won't regret it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here last week for business.

Some positives such as a very comfy bed and friendly staff but the negatives stood out such as noise from the wind blowing through the windows, the parking is a nightmare and reaching the hotel due to the one way system is tough.

Having wooden panels instead of curtains was weird

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Booked for 2 nights , Friday and Saturday , and paid £70 per night . Good value for money . Double room was not very big , but everything you needed. Bed was comfortable , shower was powerful and hot . You get a discount off your car parking charges . Was ok

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sezle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#24 of 54 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#15 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Goldsmith Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Property: Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing