We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

2 days on business and a quick stop over. Hotel was clean but a bit dated. Staff friendly and helpful. Good buffet meal and breakfast included. Wi fi naff in the bedroom and have to use the lobby downstairs. For booked in advance price of £25 per night, well worth it

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEET071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

spent three nights there room was dated needing a revamp. stuck it out the three nights did not spend time in the hotel it was only a bed for the night really. breakfast was ok self service should not be called a hotel should be b&b. but for what we paid for three nights should have known you'r not going to get much . the only good thing was the location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas_r681385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Came over to nottingham for the weekend on mates hen night me and a friend shared a room omg so dirty never seen anything like it the dust was unreal very stained carpet and the smell of smoke in the corridor was really bad told reception about this was not very helpfull at all would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: would not recommend to anyone sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiffany d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from 3days here unfortunately not as good as my last visit stayed in 608 standard twin room was ok the down side for us was the bar area I know it is may but the weather was damp and cold and there was NO HEATING on we actually thought the air con was on but were told no its just drafty then one of the staff informed us the manager wont put heating on because its summer !!! Really need to get a grip .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank avisburnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I booked two nights with my husband in this hotel, and we had a room at the 2d floor: we always had to keep the WOOD PANELS (!!?) closed, because of the carpark opposite our window; the carpets were dirty and the toilet wasn't so cleaned..the bed was ok, such as the blanket and the pillows.. but the room and everything in general looks like is there since the last century!!
Definitely we won't book other nights there again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 3lena81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked to stay here last weekend but it was so bad we drove home at 10.30pm. We checked in at 1.30pm and quickly dropped our bags off as we were going to see Sarah Millican. We got back to our room at 9.45pm and by 10.30pm we had checked out and were on our way home.

The hotel room was abysmal. It clearly hadn't been maintained for years, probably decades. The tiles on the bathroom were falling off, literally. The Carpets actually hurt my feet, the walls were battered and marked, the lights were all wonky and to make things worse the noise from other guests was shocking.
When we decided to leave we were told by the duty manager he couldn't refund us but head office would if we wrote to them. Since then I have emailed several times and phoned them having found the contacts on a website. So far they have offered me a £7.80 refund (i'm not joking) and a £20 voucher for their hotel chain (like I'd EVER stay in one again). They have said because we didn't complain earlier it won't be refunded properly, despite us not even being in the hotel all day.

I have found head office staff very dismissive too during phone conversations. The last lady saying in the middle of a conversation 'I have to go now because the other phone is ringing' and the fact the director refuses to speak to customers is a disgrace.

It is clear Britannia hotels have no respect for their customers, read the other reviews and you will see what I mean. The staff WORKING in the hotel even agree it is run down and needs money spending on it, they said this won't happen though. They have since denied this but I guarantee it was said.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Petet8385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for one night and that was enough. As we walked in there were 2 receptionist behind the desk who did not look up to aknowledge us and just told us to wait while they finished whatever it was they were doing. We don't mind waiting but some eye contact and a smile wouldn't have hurt. The room was small but clean. We got excited to see a mini fridge in the room and thought it would be perfect for keeping our drinks in as it was a very hot day. However after fiddling with the dial to no avail we asked at reception how to turn it on only to be told most of the mini fridges in the hotel 'don't work.' We thought this was odd - how can they all be broken? And why not remove them instead of leaving them in guests rooms? I wonder if there was some cost cutting going on here by switching them all off. This was supposed to be a 'superior' room but there was nothing superior about it. On the other hand the hotel was very quiet which was surprising for a saturday night and the extra towels we requested were delivered within moment of getting back to our room. I doubt we would stay again though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
1,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
0.0 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#20 of 41 in Nottingham
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: £32 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing