We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest management, terrible treatment!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I recently stayed at this terrible "hotel". Unfortunately, my credit card was blocked because of a problem with my account, so I could not pay upon check in as requested. The staff showed no sympathy, and demanded payment straight away. I offered for my boyfriend to pay online from Italy, but they said the only way to do it was by cancelling my booking and making him do a new one. However, they charged me for the cancellation fee - although I wasn't actually cancelling!!!! Moreover, I was charged £86 for one night in a single room, when the actual price was £43. They essentially took advantage of me, as I was obviously distressed and in need of an accommodation - all other hotels in town were fully booked. This is absolutely disgusting!!! These people make money out of other people's misfortune, shame on them!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lalla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Probably the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. If you are on stag or hen party weekend and do not intend to sleep in a comfortable bed then this hotel may be just acceptable. Otherwise suggest go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had a very dated, noisy, not cleaned to an acceptable standard, hot room. Reported broken shower on first morning not fixed on checkout after 7 night stay. Coffee shop very disappointing only open short times during day but opening times not advertised. Restaurant only open for breakfast. Needs a major refurbishment to go with the good location.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room but got a very noisy room instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smurf186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Where to start with the poor quality of this hotel! Reception staff only mediocre...the place more like a demolition site...dents and scrapes n the walls and doors, pieces of baseboard missing, filthy and torn carpets, food that was limp and disgusting, sitting under heat lamps for hours, yet cold, and cold desserts and salads under lights so they were wilted and old looking. Dining room staff the best of all the staff...friendly at least.

Although the bed was comfortable, was afraid to touch the floor with bare feet or touch anything as the walls needed wiping down from spills. How were the walls damaged that high up?

Advertised a happening coffee shop that wasn't actually open and was the bar/lounge at night with no signage. Would have left except I'd booked online so couldn't get a refund!

Would definitely not recommend anyone staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight for a concert. Was greeted by a lovely receptionist and got a free room upgrade due to a bad experience in another Britannia Hotel.

The room was more than adequate for what we needed. Included all the facilities and even a fridge, iron and ironing board.

The bathroom was large with bath and shower. Was very clean and everything worked as it should.

Don't believe all the negative comments. We wouldn't hesitate to book again if we needed an overnight in Nottingham.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmaB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Filthy, dusty, rude staff! Whole place needs jet washing and updating. Don't waste your time and money here! Pay a little more and stay somewhere decent. I left here embarrassed and extremely disappointed. Certainly not 3 stars!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loobyloo3616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Looks nothing like the website photos. Rooms very dated and terribly dirty n smelt awful! And what can only be described as cum stains on the floor! When asked to change rooms even the staff said they didnt blame us n they wouldnt stay there !

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#18 of 41 in Nottingham
1,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
726 reviews
1 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#30 of 41 in Nottingham
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: £28 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing