We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel with great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 25 July 2014

what a great location. I was a stone's throw away from the city centre. I had a great view of the skyline and could see the people walking on the street from my window. the room was quite spacious with a sort of armoire thing with a mirror and chair. there was lots of choice for breakfast and I very much enjoyed it. on my day of departure, I had my breakfast ordered and room service came up with it. I had cornflakes, orange juice, grapefruit segments and croissants. I had only intended to order one breakfast but the cereal, fruit and juice was duplicated so I had two breakfasts for £5 which is great. I would very much recommend room service.

Room Tip: all rooms probably have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you are looking cheap and not too worried about the décor this maybe the hotel for you but don't believe the pictures. My room, while clean, was substandard, a conference room chair shoved in the corner, a television (5 channels only) older than the ark, bathroom with dire need for a make over (a least the shower worked well) no internet access in the room.
Reception staff were pleasant, lobby mediocre and bedroom doors slam when being closed.
Would not stay here again although the location is reasonably good.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms to ensure you actually get one that is in the picture - if it exists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed for one night in room 815. Hotel was clean but worn. The bed was comfortable, staff were friendly. Nice view. Quite despite being near a main road. Tesco express just outside and town only 2 minute walk.
Overall a nice hotel but nothing special

Room Tip: Room on a high floor are quieter and have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CLM95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I had to find a hotel to stay at very short notice due to delayed trains! I found the Britannia Hotel the cheapest at £40 for a non-smoking double room. I checked in at 11pm so it was very quiet and I stayed in room 722. The man that dealt with my booking was very polite and helpful. The room was quiet, clean and plenty of space for the cost. I actually didnt stay for breakfast due to catching a very early train, however the bed was comfortable and I really can't complain for the cost.

Thankyou for pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

1 night stay for the cricket. Ideal location for town centre, 30 min walk to Trent bridge. Good value for money. Would stop here again on short trip to Nottingham. Right next to a car park as we'll so no problems with parking

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

nice hotel, friendly staff. rooms ok size and everything worked. stayed for my hen night . the only down side was that one of my party was pregnant and needed a drink of water/pop late at night however the bar was closed and the vending machine didn't work.
breakfast was excellent and just what we needed the morning after the night before.
would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsM-330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

There were a couple of black pubes on the bathroom floor and only one large towel for two people but it was cheap so can't really complain! Overall it was a pleasant enough hotel in a good location in Nottingham.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleenmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
0.0 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#20 of 41 in Nottingham
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: £29 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing