We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID AT ALL COST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AVOID AT ALL COST”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked into this hotel as part of a package deal to Alton Towers from National Holidays.

Once we'd got over the shock of the rooms !! Filthy is an understatement ! Carpets stained, Shabby old furniture, Bathroom disgustingly outdated appliances, Bed linen and Towels smelled stale.
(Hotel was that bad - a number of the coach party refused to stay there & paid at extra cost to book themselves into another hotel )

Went to the restaurant for our evening meal (included in the cost of our package deal)

Wish we hadn't bothered !!

Soup of the day had a skin on it ! So we by-passed that option.

Roast Turkey dinner was then the only option left - the Turkey was passable (just) the veg had seen better days ! Sprouts & Carrots were frozen & with them being on the hot plate to long had turned mushy - there was no option for kids (there were quite a few in the party)

Again several people chose not to eat on the hotel and booked in for a pub meal once again at extra cost.

Breakfast the next morning was in fairness ok - full English option as well as healthy eating option all self service.

To sum the Hotel up I would personally say AVOID it - but please bare in mind that this review is my own personal account and all content is what I actually experienced.

p.s I'm not one who usually complains about much ( please view my other Trip Advisor reviews) but I feel justified in writing this negative review as I feel that other potential customers need to be well informed about The Britannia at Nottingham.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank OLLYsafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    213
    284
    258
    455
See reviews for
127
417
106
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Rooms were not bad, the old male staff at the desk was very moody and rude to us.
We were playing music not loudly at all and he came upstairs with another staff member and threatened to kick us out, considering we had just got there and already paid etc this seemed a little unfair as he did not want to even give us a warning. That immediately killed the mood for a night out, there is absolutely no need to speak like that to paying customers, all he needed to do, if anything, just come up and ask us nicely to just turn the volume down.
To summarise, rooms not bad, this specific staff member very poor, sounded aggressive and nobody wants to be threatened about being kicked out and having nowhere to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark123477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked this hotel last minute as me and the bf decided to have a weekend away in Nottingham. After booking read the reviews and was really dreading it but turned out to be better than expected. Had to wait about 5 min to be checked in as the receptionist was dealing with someone who had lost their key card. Only pre booked online and was told we could pay then or wait until check out. Got a room on the 3rd floor and was pleasantly surprised with the double room, plenty of space, the bath room was nice and clean, had a fridge, kettle and trouser press. The TV was very old and only had a few channels but we hadn't come to Nottingham to watch tv. The hotel is very close to the city centre and you could walk there in 5 min. We stayed a couple of nights and apart from the room being warm (we opened the windows) we had a great stay and asked for a late check out on the Monday morning and we were able to check out an hour later with no extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazzle1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Thats what we were told when we complained about the conditions of the room , so basically you have be on a jolly and out of the game to endure the place.
We had a cracked sink with sharp edges , uncleaned toilets with excrement , damp walls , with little or no room to manoeuvre as basically two beds had been put in a single room.
We checked out , though because staff did'nt process it and we did not complete on line got no compensation.
Avoid like the plague

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Do Not Even Consider Booking This HellHole

Blood On The Floor In Reception
Skids In The Toilet Bowl
Bath Didn't Drain
Sticky Carpet In Room
Stayed for 20 minutes, got our money back and went elsewhere.

Worst place I have ever seen

Room Tip: Don't Book It
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloydy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is utter rubbish. Stay here only if you can't sleep in your car. Dirty; filthy actually, noisy, hot,
Poor staff, horrid architecture 1960's high rise office block style building. There were so many stains on the sofa that it actually repelled us. Bathroom dirty.
It was so bad that we only stayed there four hours then left!
Awful. The owners and directors should be ashamed. They probably don't care.
An total embarrassment to the hotel industry.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Savagemushrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

As a frequent reviewer i rarely ever give bad reviews and at a two star i am being very kind.

Location- close to shops and casino
Room- the rooms here are very small i am very shocked at how much they've made it feel like student accomadation or a bit like a hostel. You can tell they have tried to renovate it but its still very outdated. The beds are not really double beds but can squeeze two people in. The only good thing about the room is the view of nottingham which you won't be looking at throughout your stay.
Reception- This place says a lot about how professional a place is. Britannia hotel needs to for starters let go of the chairs that the receptionist sit on that are ripped with the foam coming out its not a very good look. Especially the chairs in reception they all seem to bought from a carboot sale.
Staff- sometimes i do not know who recruits some people...but they seem like they have no idea what is going on and they have not got enough staff working. Very unprofessional.

Carrying the name of Britannia the hotel really needs to invest in professional staff and recover this very outdated hotel because at the state it is in it only attracts people that are desperate for accomodation. This hotel is very huge and can be one of the top hotels in nottingham with extra care and detail to be looked into. The reputation of it is very bad already i cannot see any improvements the rate of the room deserves nothing but £10 a night very dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#21 of 49 in Nottingham
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#22 of 49 in Nottingham
1,891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Nottingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Nottingham Hotel

Property: The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
Address: 1 St. James's Street, Nottingham NG1 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Nottingham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This purpose built hotel is situated near to Nottingham Castle, Trent Bridge Cricket Ground, Victoria Shopping Centre and the Nottingham City business district, making it an ideal location for both business and pleasure. Nottingham is also renowned for its vibrant and popular nightlife and this hotel is a short walk to all the popular bars and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Britannia Nottingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing