We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly more than adequate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Mostly more than adequate.”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed here one night to go to the theatre and the location is superb. Mostly everything was fine with the hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room (318) was small with a small double bed, two bath robes and one face flannel. On the whole it was well equipped although the shower was in the bath tub. I was flattered that the wardrobe had ordinary good quality hangars.
Breakfast was the sort you would expect at this type of hotel..In other words there was the horrible looking dying cooked breakfast buffet. It was improved by a chef there to make fresh eggs. However when I asked for two fried ones he pointed to a greasy plate of eggs that he had fried some time in the past. When I insisted on new ones he fried about twelve, gave me two and put the rest on the plate to die with the others.. I have seen egg chefs at much busier hotels cook all eggs to order.
There remains the problem of WiFi. At his hotel you get one hour free and it must be consecutive. They may think this is generous but I think it is so restrictive as too be hardly better than nothing. The hotel should provide free WiFi and that should be the end of it.
I think that soon when choosing where to stay on line people will look for free WiFi long before considering loyalty points.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Geraldmichael,

Many thanks for your recent review. It was great to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and best of all found our team friendly and helpful.

I will of course pass your comments on regarding the eggs at breakfast for our Head Chef to review.

In relation to the charging of wifi we currently offer this complimentary to Elite members of IHG rewards and pleased to say this will be changing in 2014 to all members.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    543
    343
    160
    104
See reviews for
153
544
67
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed as part of a concert package. The package stated superior room but on arrival we had only been allocated standard and had to prove we were entitled to the superior room. So glad we didn't have a standard because the superior seemed anything but. The bed was a standard double although there was room for something bigger. Bathroom ok clean enough but shower curtain made it seemed dated. We had to move the kettle to the dressing table to plug it in the space for the socket was an empty hole in the unit.
Getting from the car park proved an unnecessary challenge having pulled up outside and asked where to park no one offered to help with luggage and the lift from the car park doesn't go to reception so we struggled downstairs fully laden. Still no offer of help.
Breakfast was standard Fayre but the coffee was terrible and bitter. A chef was coking eggs to order so why was there a pile of fried eggs sitting on a tray going hard?
Location wise it was good with a short walk to shops, restaurants and theatres.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cel_longridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear cel_longridge,

Thank you for your recent review.

My apologies that you felt your stay to be 'Nothing Special' Through the service we provide we try to make our guest stay memorable for all the right reasons. We are truly sorry this was not the case for you.

Once again thank you for your review

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel and it was a great weekend. Check in was quick and friendly and out room on the third floor was spacious. It had a fridge, amenity tray, Temple Spa toiletries in the bathroom. We had a trouser press in the wardrobe, a nice double bed and a pull out sofa bed for our five year old son.

We had breakfast, which was well stocked and the staff were very friendly. We heard no noise from outside the hotel nor other guests inside. My only small complaint is that it was so hot. Or air conditioning didnt work and our room was very hot. In fact so was the whole hotel.

Its a very easy walk to the shops and nightlife of Nottingham. I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it and would definitely stay there again when in Nottingham.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeyandminniemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Mickeyandminniemad,

Thank you so much for you great review.

It was so pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular your kind comments regarding our breakfast experience. Your comments will mean a lot to the team so rest assured I will pass them on.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Having took the opportunity to go club room with exclusive use of the club lounge imagine my disappointment at breakfast to find it unsupervised and sadly lacking in breakfast ingredients!!! Pastries none, eggs none! Milk none!! Response from hotel staff breakfast ended at 10am, even though I'd been sat in there from 9am. Poor service to say the least !!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank James2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear James2252,

Many thanks for you review.

My apologies that the club lounge breakfast had finished earlier than you thought. I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of the facilities during your stay.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

manchester
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

A good room, well presented with all the bits and bobs you would expect. Clean and tidy but showing some signs of wear. The bar area is spacious and the service is good
The breakfast offers a wide variety of food and although the charge is high the quality is acceptable. The cost of car parking is what one would expect with a city centre hotel @ £12 it would put some guests off staying here

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank barry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Barryt,

Many thanks for you recent review.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and you found the service levels to be high during your stay. Your comments will mean a lot to the team so rest assured I will pass them on.

Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed in October as part of a large group and found the hotel to be pretty good on the whole. We had an executive room, which was great, and the lounge that we had access to was great also - somewhere to go for a coffee in the hotel and relax. One fault that I had with the hotel was that even though the bar was extremely busy for three consecutive nights, there did not seem to have been much done to speed up the service, which was somewhat frustrating at times, but to be fair, it was an exceptionally busy weekend for them. Simon at reception was fantastic and extremely helpful over the whole weekend, the star of the team! Will definitely stay here again if the opportunity to be in Nottingham arises - an overall fab hotel.

Room Tip: Club/Executive rooms are worth the extra few pounds for the extra space and for the access to the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Rachel D,

Thank you so much for your recent review. It was so great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and in particular you fantastic comments about Simon. Rest assured I will pass your kind comments onto Simon and recognise his great service.

Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here for one night on the 9th November 2013, good location for city and to all the shops, bars etc.
Reception staff very nice, clean reception area, some nice bars in the hotel,, when arriving to the room it was very small, walls a bit dirty, also the handle for the flush on the toilet was hanging off, disappointed to be honest in the room after paying £92.00 also on booking this we thought breakfast would of been included but no that was an extra £10.00 per person, which was exspensive, so off we went to wetherspoons. Not sure I'd would go out off my way booking it again. Also our room was facing a wall and also below was a night club which was slightly loud, parking was an extra £12.00 as well. So really it worked out very dear.

Room Tip: Don't ask for room 601 the view wasn't very good at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear jenny m,

Thank you for your recent review and in particular your kind comments regarding the reception team. Rest assured I will share your review with them. I will also make sure that the housekeeping and maintenance issues are rectified in your bedroom.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
641 reviews
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#22 of 49 in Nottingham
1,891 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,310 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Address: Wollaton Street, Nottingham NG1 5RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nottingham is one of the most stylish hotels in the Midlands. In the City Centre nearby many Government offices, both Universities, the Queens Medical Centre and Casinos, Crowne Plaza Nottingham has air conditioning in every bedroom plus an indoor swimming pool.Close to East Midlands Airport and the city centre attractions and shops, we have 210 bedrooms including flat screen TV's, mini bars and laptop safes (in most rooms). In addition we have a choice of bar and dining options, a leisure club and our own 600-space car park with direct access into the hotel. As the East Midland's No1 Conference and Meeting venue we offer 17 excellent rooms from a Boardroom for 6 to a conference for 400 including your own dedicated conference partner, use of Workbase and the services of our own in-house technician with the latest audio visual equipment with wireless internet access. From ancient to modern, Nottingham is the home of Robin Hood and Paul Smith, combining history with style as the East Midland's premier shopping City. Our sporting heritage is unparalleled too with Trent Bridge cricket club, 2 football teams, The National Ice Arena, Nottingham Castle and the National Watersports Centre, only a few of the great places to visit in Nottingham including the renowned nightlife. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing