We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is in a great city centre location just north of the main market square. Rooms are small (non executive ones) but cosy. Due to its age, 1970s I suspect, the decor is a little tired. There are some niggly things such as noisy air conditioning and windows that don't open that can only contribute to a an average rating. Staff were friendly and welcoming and there is a good car park on site, unlike similar hotels in the area.

Room Tip: I suspect the higher floors are better due to the improved view and distance from the foyer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanSwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear SansomSELondon,

Many thanks for your recent review.

It was great to read that you benefited from our prime city centre location and found the team freindly during your stay. I will of course share your review with the rest of the team.

Kind regards

Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Crown Plaza sits in an almost perfect location for anyone wishing to take in Nottingham's city centre sights - everything's within walking distance. The staff are welcoming & friendly, the rooms are as good as you'd expect for a hotel of this standard, the bar is nice, the restaurant (which I didn't use) I'm told is very good & I can vouch that breakfast is awesome.

The leisure club has recently reopened, that's most certainly worth a look. The pool is large enough that serious exercise can be taken if desired, there's a jacuzzi come hot-tub thing which is rather pleasant, but the best bit for me was the steam room, which really is a steam room, not a whimpering copy of a steam room. The ice station just outside was very welcome. There are treatment rooms & various things can be booked, I wasn't staying long enough to sample anything so I can't comment on those, but they're available. Oh yes, there's a gym too, for anyone who feels the need.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Phil B,

Thank you so much for your recent review.

It was great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found the team to be friendly and helpful. It was particularly pleasing to read your kind words regarding our new spa Urban Escape.

Rest assured I will share your review with the team.

Once again thank you and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

After a lovely day visiting Sherwood Forest we were hot and tired and looking forward to staying at the De Vere's hotel which would have been at a quiet location with a car park. On arrival we were informed that due to an electrical fault we would have to stay at the Crowne Plaza. When we arrived at the Crowne plaza the person at reception told us that they only had a double room and if we wanted another room we would have to pay. We had asked for a twin room at de Vere's. So I had to share the bed with my mum. Neither of us got a very good nights sleep which is not what you want from a relaxing weekend break. The room was quite small and the walls were dirty with black marks. There was also a bad smell in the room and the windows do not open. The carpet had stains on it. The view out of the window was of the air condition units. During the night there was the sound of the lift and some other guests outside the door making some noise around 4am.
Although the staff were friendly and polite I would not choose to stay here even If I planned to stay close to the city. Also we did not want to drive as it would have been difficult to find the hotel and a parking space outside the hotel. The previous day we had stayed at Jury's Inn for half the cost and found parking outside the hotel which was free.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midhath d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Midhath d,

Thank you for your recent review.

My apologies that you did not feel you had a relaxing break. I can appreciate that being booked out of the hotel that you had pre booked was not a great start to your weekend. I can also understand your dissapointment in not getting a twin room that you had booked at the De Vere, however we never had twin rooms available so a double was reserved for you.

Rest assuured I will make sure I pick up your comments regarding the walls and carpet in your bedroom. Howevere it was pleasing to read that you found our team freindly and helpful during your stay.

Once again thank you for taking the time to submit your review.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Crowne Plaza is very disorganised. They often lose my reservation, and all the hard work that staff at the individual hotels do to please customers are undone by the hopeless staff at reservations and the loyalty programme.

I have stayed at this Crowne Plaza at least four times. It is usually good, although the dining options within the hotel are rather limited and the lobby feels like it has been abandoned as a commercial enterprise. The rooms are rather variable. On this stay, I had to move hotels because they were full and the room for which I booked had the air conditioning system on the roof directly above the room. Too loud for work and too loud for sleeping.

Room Tip: Check you are not below the air conditioner - and don't bother with loyalty points - you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear R A,

Many thanks for your recent review.

My sincere apologies that you have had a problem with you reservation at the hotel and also your loyalty points. I would appreciate if you contact me directly at the hotel so we can rectify this as soon as possible.

Kind reagrds
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked this hotel as we were going to the Theatre Royal to see West Side Story and this hotel was close by - in fact it could not have been closer so we made the right choice. Just a couple of minutes walk to the centre. Also when looking for a hotel in the city we struggled to find one with parking - this one had parking @ £12 for a good 24 hours.
The staff were very helpful. We asked for an early booking in as our show was in the afternoon and this was possible. We booked a standard double room. The hotel and room were lovely. Very well looked after and very clean. The room was hot however and we struggled to get the room temperature to an even level, this was more obvious during the night when it seemed very hot and the air con was too noisy to have on.
Our room was at the back and we could hear noise from outside up to 2 - 3am, this seemed to be coming from either a niteclub or Rock City, located at the back of the building. If we stayed again we would ask for a room in another part of the hotel.
The facilities were excellent, although we were only there overnight, the breakfast was excellent, so much choice and we used the bar at night - a good atmosphere and plenty of people around.
So generally an enjoyable stay and well done to the staff all very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam211990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Sam211990,

Many thanks for your review from your recent stay.

It was great to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and found the team very helpful. My apologies that your room was a little warm during the night and that you experienced some noise from Rock City. Should you be returning please contact us prior to your visit so we can allocate you a room on the front of the hotel.

As ever I will share your review with the rest of the team.

Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights in a twin room of a very good size. The beds/mattresses were excellent and the bathroom clean with a good shower (over the bath). Bathrobes provided.Tea, coffee and biscuits as expected but also a minibar (not always available in standard hotel rooms) - not stocked but providing us with a place to cool our drinks. I really can't think of any negative comments on our stay - except that bar prices seemed high. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Public spaces attractive and well-kept. We'd recommend the hotel for your stay in Nottingham, especially as it is so central..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear IHD,

Many thanks for you recent review.

It was great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, found the team friendly and helpful and in particular that you would definitely recommend us.

As ever I will make sure I share your kind words with the team and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

It is never a good sign when the first thing you see on entering your room is a pack of earplugs with a notice warning you that the hotel can be noisy due to its structure and location in the centre of town. My room was on the second floor and the window was almost entirely obscured by the restaurant rook which runs alone the entire second floor. The windows do not open however the air-condition unit did work to cool the room down. The second advantage of the air-con was that the noise obscured the sound of the lift which radiated through the building. Gripe over. The staff were lovely and went out of their way to be helpful and the location is very good indeed. I probably would stay here again but would be pretty careful to get a room which was higher up the building.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor and avoid anywhere near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo9294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Jo92,94,

Many thanks for your recent review.

I am sorry that you experienced a little noise disturbance from the lift during your stay. It was great however to read your comments regarding the team and that you would return to stay at the hotel, but request a higher floor. Please contact us prior to arrival so we can allocate you a higher room.

Once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
688 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
0.2 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham

Address: Wollaton Street, Nottingham NG1 5RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: £55 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nottingham is one of the most stylish hotels in the Midlands. In the City Centre nearby many Government offices, both Universities, the Queens Medical Centre and Casinos, Crowne Plaza Nottingham has air conditioning in every bedroom plus an indoor swimming pool.Close to East Midlands Airport and the city centre attractions and shops, we have 210 bedrooms including flat screen TV's, mini bars and laptop safes (in most rooms). In addition we have a choice of bar and dining options, a leisure club and our own 600-space car park with direct access into the hotel. As the East Midland's No1 Conference and Meeting venue we offer 17 excellent rooms from a Boardroom for 6 to a conference for 400 including your own dedicated conference partner, use of Workbase and the services of our own in-house technician with the latest audio visual equipment with wireless internet access. From ancient to modern, Nottingham is the home of Robin Hood and Paul Smith, combining history with style as the East Midland's premier shopping City. Our sporting heritage is unparalleled too with Trent Bridge cricket club, 2 football teams, The National Ice Arena, Nottingham Castle and the National Watersports Centre, only a few of the great places to visit in Nottingham including the renowned nightlife. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing