We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive staff,good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for work purposes.From the outset,staff were great.
Our course organiser requested a different room and the hotel obliged.Whenever things needed sorting out,it was done quickly and cheerfully.
I needed help with internet connection and staff member came to my room to help.
The room was fine,but not sure if air con was very effective-only a minor issue all things considered.
I read reviews of the hotel and really impressed that it always triggers a response.
I feel that there are people at this hotel who really know what they are doing and it's not gone unnoticed-thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCrownePlaza, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Howard B

Thank you so much for your very kind review.

I am delighted to read that you found the team so helpful. I will certainly pass your comments onto them as we do genuinely care about our customers and how they feel about us as a team.

We look forward to seeing you back in Nottingham very soon.

Kindest regards

David Clements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very basic rooms for high prices, restaurant and drinks also highly priced,
not good value for money, location not so bad but noticed the Ramada Hotel opposite
which looked good for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Very basic rooms not worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Neil P,

Thank you for your review.

My apologies that you felt your stay not value for money. It was good to read that you enjoyed our prime city centre location.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed as a family while in Nottingham for a show. Room was great, just what we needed. The fridge was very welcome. Beds very comfy and sofa bed for the kids perfect. Breakfast the next morning was good in their airy and modern restaurant/atrium area. Only issue was finding the place. I had previously read that it was not really visible from the road in the nightmarish one way system going around town (signage is high on the building) and that the parking was tricky to find. We ended up parking in Talbot Street car park down the street and walking to the hotel - not a huge issue, we were just relieved to have arrived after going round the system three times! If using a satnav make sure you are following for Talbot Street as you may not see the hotel from Wollaton Street. Once you find it the hotel is lovely.

Room Tip: We were given a room facing the front of the hotel and were very happy with the noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jjcndl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear jjcndl,

Many thanks for your recent review.

It was really pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular our breakfast experience and a comfortable nights sleep.

I hope the journey wasn’t too stressful when you ended up going around the one way system more than once, as I can appreciate in a new city this can be very daunting.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

On the plus side great location, gym and breakfast and the bed is comfortable.
On the negative rooms are quite small and looking jaded. air con rarely works properly so rooms can get very stuffy.
The staff are always great so this is my hotel of choice when in Notts.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. I've stayed on several floors and rooms are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grommit41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Grommit41,

Many thanks for your recent review.

It was great to read your comments regarding our new Spa, Urban Escape, the team and our breakfast experience. My apologies for the problems you have experienced with air conditioning. Whilst I appreciate it will not affect your recent stay I am pleased to say that we are currently completing the last stages of our air conditioning replacement programme.

Once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is in a great city centre location just north of the main market square. Rooms are small (non executive ones) but cosy. Due to its age, 1970s I suspect, the decor is a little tired. There are some niggly things such as noisy air conditioning and windows that don't open that can only contribute to a an average rating. Staff were friendly and welcoming and there is a good car park on site, unlike similar hotels in the area.

Room Tip: I suspect the higher floors are better due to the improved view and distance from the foyer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanSwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear SansomSELondon,

Many thanks for your recent review.

It was great to read that you benefited from our prime city centre location and found the team freindly during your stay. I will of course share your review with the rest of the team.

Kind regards

Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Crown Plaza sits in an almost perfect location for anyone wishing to take in Nottingham's city centre sights - everything's within walking distance. The staff are welcoming & friendly, the rooms are as good as you'd expect for a hotel of this standard, the bar is nice, the restaurant (which I didn't use) I'm told is very good & I can vouch that breakfast is awesome.

The leisure club has recently reopened, that's most certainly worth a look. The pool is large enough that serious exercise can be taken if desired, there's a jacuzzi come hot-tub thing which is rather pleasant, but the best bit for me was the steam room, which really is a steam room, not a whimpering copy of a steam room. The ice station just outside was very welcome. There are treatment rooms & various things can be booked, I wasn't staying long enough to sample anything so I can't comment on those, but they're available. Oh yes, there's a gym too, for anyone who feels the need.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Phil B,

Thank you so much for your recent review.

It was great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found the team to be friendly and helpful. It was particularly pleasing to read your kind words regarding our new spa Urban Escape.

Rest assured I will share your review with the team.

Once again thank you and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

After a lovely day visiting Sherwood Forest we were hot and tired and looking forward to staying at the De Vere's hotel which would have been at a quiet location with a car park. On arrival we were informed that due to an electrical fault we would have to stay at the Crowne Plaza. When we arrived at the Crowne plaza the person at reception told us that they only had a double room and if we wanted another room we would have to pay. We had asked for a twin room at de Vere's. So I had to share the bed with my mum. Neither of us got a very good nights sleep which is not what you want from a relaxing weekend break. The room was quite small and the walls were dirty with black marks. There was also a bad smell in the room and the windows do not open. The carpet had stains on it. The view out of the window was of the air condition units. During the night there was the sound of the lift and some other guests outside the door making some noise around 4am.
Although the staff were friendly and polite I would not choose to stay here even If I planned to stay close to the city. Also we did not want to drive as it would have been difficult to find the hotel and a parking space outside the hotel. The previous day we had stayed at Jury's Inn for half the cost and found parking outside the hotel which was free.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midhath d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Midhath d,

Thank you for your recent review.

My apologies that you did not feel you had a relaxing break. I can appreciate that being booked out of the hotel that you had pre booked was not a great start to your weekend. I can also understand your dissapointment in not getting a twin room that you had booked at the De Vere, however we never had twin rooms available so a double was reserved for you.

Rest assuured I will make sure I pick up your comments regarding the walls and carpet in your bedroom. Howevere it was pleasing to read that you found our team freindly and helpful during your stay.

Once again thank you for taking the time to submit your review.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
0.2 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#21 of 41 in Nottingham
1,993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham

Address: Wollaton Street, Nottingham NG1 5RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: £56 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nottingham is one of the most stylish hotels in the Midlands. In the City Centre nearby many Government offices, both Universities, the Queens Medical Centre and Casinos, Crowne Plaza Nottingham has air conditioning in every bedroom plus an indoor swimming pool.Close to East Midlands Airport and the city centre attractions and shops, we have 210 bedrooms including flat screen TV's, mini bars and laptop safes (in most rooms). In addition we have a choice of bar and dining options, a leisure club and our own 600-space car park with direct access into the hotel. As the East Midland's No1 Conference and Meeting venue we offer 17 excellent rooms from a Boardroom for 6 to a conference for 400 including your own dedicated conference partner, use of Workbase and the services of our own in-house technician with the latest audio visual equipment with wireless internet access. From ancient to modern, Nottingham is the home of Robin Hood and Paul Smith, combining history with style as the East Midland's premier shopping City. Our sporting heritage is unparalleled too with Trent Bridge cricket club, 2 football teams, The National Ice Arena, Nottingham Castle and the National Watersports Centre, only a few of the great places to visit in Nottingham including the renowned nightlife. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing