We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't even bother.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
lincoln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't even bother.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner had to stay here for a friend's wedding when I arrived our room wasn't ready as the people before hadn't checked out yet but we were informed that as soon as they left it would be clean and we would be checked in. so we went into my sisters room, she had checked in the day before and our room was right next door we were there 10 minutes before we saw the people in the next room Leave so we thought we would be in soon enough but we weren't the coach for the wedding turned up and we still wasn't checked in. so we had to check in at 1am after the wedding.. We paid £105 for 11 hours in a room that should of been ready. The lounge was a massive disappointment also.. hardly any drink avaliable and no breakfast left. There was no air conditioning in our room so we were very hot. The only thing I can actually compliment is the comfy bed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sbaby24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sbaby24,

Thank you for your review.

My sincere apologies that your room wasn’t ready before you left for the wedding. We do try to accommodate early arrivals however we can not guarantee this due to guests departing the room. My apologies if the air conditioning wasn't working in your room, I hope the team managed to turn this around when you made them aware.

Once again my apologies and I hope you had a great day at the wedding.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    529
    340
    159
    102
See reviews for
147
528
64
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I would pretty much agree with many of the previous reviews, which I read after I got back. Lovely hotel, very well situated, very pleasant and charming staff who were helpful. Rooms are however, 'tired' and do need a boost. Generally the room we stayed in was good and the room staff were more than helpful with the additional folding bed and towels.
Upside - the pillow sprays were excellent and I feel I slept well. Nice to have a reasonably sized bath. Cosmetics were a touch better than those I have experienced before and I felt nice, walking out in the evening. Decor was nice throughout the main part of the hotel.
Downside - as usual, pricey wi-fi, dressing gown I had, was very well worn in fact the shoulder joins had worn away.
Strangely, the hotel always seemed 'empty' even a mealtimes. A good or bad point I don't know.

Would I stay there again, yes, the downside problems are easily rectified and did not put me off.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear James B,



Many thanks for your review.

It was great to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and in particular found our team charming and very pleasant. Rest assured i will pass your kind words on.

My apologies the dressing gown in the room was below standard rest assured i will pick this up with housekeeping. In regards to the wifi, I am pleased to say that all IHG reward members now receive complimentary wifi throughout their stay and these benefits start as soon as you sign up, even upon arrival

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Handy for city centre if going out for drinks or a meal. Rooms clean but in need of refurb, shower over bath. Hair dryer in room. Worth the stay for use of the spa, pool and gym....excellent spotless facilities. Was there the night of the fire in the old pool and the new set up is fantastic, couldn't get booked in for treatment as it was too busy. Food has also improved but service in bar area is still hit and miss. Breakfast as always great with wide choice of food. Still no free wi-fi unless a member of IHG

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Avril S,

Many thanks for your review.

It was great to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and in particular Urban Escape of brand new Spa. Rest assured I will pass your kind words on. You will also be pleased to know that we are finalising a refurbishment plan for our bedrooms which will address your comments raised.

Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

On entering the hotel it was modern and clean. Unfortunately the standard double room my wife and I had booked was looking a bit tired. The carpet and wallpaper were stained. The room itself was small and felt a bit claustraphobic. Its a pity we couldn't open a window to get a breeze, instead had to rely on the noisy aircon. After a good 1st impression with the reception and bar area we left disappointed with the room.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Darrell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Darrell F,

Many thanks for your recent review.

My apologies for your disappointment in your bedroom,. Whilst I appreciate it wont affect your recent stay we are in the final stages of finalising a refurbishment plan that will hopefully address the issues you have raised.

Once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for two nights at a weekend. When we arrived we had to park on the 8th floor of the car park, get a lift down to the first floor walk past the bar to another lift, catch another lift down to the reception then we had to get in another lift to our room as our room was on the 5th floor. When we came to check out ,all lifts were out of order so had yo use many stairs.Not good on a very busy weekend. Room was ok but small.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianV414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear AdrainV,

Many thanks for your review regarding your recent stay.

My apologies that the car park lift was out of order on the day you departed. Rest assured an engineer was called and the part needed was ordered.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in hotel as easy access to transport links and to middle of Nottingham. Good sized room and clean. Not at all noisy despite being close to nightclubs. Good breakfast though part of hot food was lukewarm. Over zealous staff taking plates etc. Would stay again though difficult to find attached car park.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Southealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_cpnottingham, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Southealing,

Many thanks for your recent review.

It was great to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you would return to the hotel.

I will pick up your comments with the head chef regarding the temperature of hot food at breakfast.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Natalia Dainty
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
219 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

As a touring theatre team member we get put into which ever hotel the company can get a good deal at.

Well we struck gold with this one. Great location - Next to the theatre. Lovely warm friendly staff. Very comfy rooms. Very clean, great choice on breakfast. Able to use the spa swimming pool, fantastic. The company always book us all in here and im glad they do. the location of this is great for us and are able to get some much needed quality time back in our rooms when ever we can.

The only negative point is the bathroom. It so needs a make over. dont get me wrong its clean but there grout is now discoloured and there is paint flaking off.

Would I recommend people to stay here, if you can afford it yes. Ive read some of the other reviews on here about the noise from the Rock City Nightclub and to be honest i was on the 6th floor and didnt notice anything. Yes there was a bit of noise coming from a drunken Hen night party, but as soon as they were in there rooms you didnt hear them.

Cant wait for 2016 cause im sure we will be back again

Room Tip: Higher rooms mean less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCrownePlaza, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear hmonster

Thank you so much for your very kind review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we too look forward to seeing back again when you next tour Nottingham.

Kindest regards

David Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#25 of 49 in Nottingham
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham City Centre
0.5 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Address: Wollaton Street, Nottingham NG1 5RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nottingham is one of the most stylish hotels in the Midlands. In the City Centre nearby many Government offices, both Universities, the Queens Medical Centre and Casinos, Crowne Plaza Nottingham has air conditioning in every bedroom plus an indoor swimming pool.Close to East Midlands Airport and the city centre attractions and shops, we have 210 bedrooms including flat screen TV's, mini bars and laptop safes (in most rooms). In addition we have a choice of bar and dining options, a leisure club and our own 600-space car park with direct access into the hotel. As the East Midland's No1 Conference and Meeting venue we offer 17 excellent rooms from a Boardroom for 6 to a conference for 400 including your own dedicated conference partner, use of Workbase and the services of our own in-house technician with the latest audio visual equipment with wireless internet access. From ancient to modern, Nottingham is the home of Robin Hood and Paul Smith, combining history with style as the East Midland's premier shopping City. Our sporting heritage is unparalleled too with Trent Bridge cricket club, 2 football teams, The National Ice Arena, Nottingham Castle and the National Watersports Centre, only a few of the great places to visit in Nottingham including the renowned nightlife. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing