We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much improved from previous visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Nottingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Much improved from previous visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stayed one night room only after a concert in Nottingham, since the central location suited our needs.
Check in and efficiency of reception staff good, especially since a coach had arrived as we were walking up to the hotel. Were allocated a room facing Wollaton Street as requested. On our previous visit we were allocated a (much larger) room facing Talbot Street and experienced problems with noise from Rock City nightclub.
Room was nicely furnished, everything in working order.
Did not eat in hotel since we were dissatisfied last time we stayed here. Had a great meal at Loch Fyne restaurant - 5 mins walk away.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xenos-claybuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    510
    336
    159
    102
See reviews for
142
506
63
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

Having stayed at the Plaza this week, I would just like to highlight the excellent customer service provided by your concierge, Jim Cunningham. I was not happy with the size of the room allocated on the 8th floor and he facilitated a room change with the least possible upset possible. He went that extra mile that is rarely seen these days. Nothing was too much trouble.
I look forward to our next stay.
Thanks Jim.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoobsandscrapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

I love staying in this hotel and have never had a problem on the executive club lounge issue. The club is always well maintained to a 4*level and a phone call call to reception always swiftly remedies any faults. I always look forward to my future visits to the Crowne Plaza Nottingham especially the great meeting at the door from a certain concierge named *** who always seems to be able to break the rules of City life and gets me into the best restaurants. All in all a great hotel,what more can you ask?

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynzBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

Hotel was adequate but we paid extra for executive floor and access to executive lounge

Having been used to marriott we expected at least a basic level of facilities

We were extremely dissapointed


We stayed on executive floor and paid quite a bit more for executive lounge access since we often used marriott and found the lounges to be worth the extra
Our first experience of the so called executive lounge was on saturday 7pm

We tried to get a drink but there were No glasses and the canapes looked very tired A number of other guests were equally unimpressed so we headed into town for a snack because off lack of facilities.
We arrived back later aprox 11pm still no glasses. At this point in frustration we then rang reception to be confronted by an arrogant manager who told us that the fridge was now locked so now not only were there no glasses but the fridge was also locked since it was after 10pm

We were appalled at this lack of service and pointed this out to no avail

We are now wondering why we paid extra for the executive lounge access. Several other guests were equally puzzled at this dreadfull service

Hotel not bad but Do not pay extra for executive room it really is a waste of money

Maureen

Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank scarlett70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCrownePlaza, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham, responded to this review, 23 June 2009
Maureen,
Many thanks for taking the time to feedback your experience on our Club Lounge.
The Lounge is very popular, particularly earlier evening at weekends and as such it requires regular servicing. This evidently did not occur correctly on this occasion. Please be assurred this has been fed back to the relevent members of staff responsible. We only secure the alcoholic drinks later at night in order to prevent abuse. The soft and hot drinks are available 24 hours a day. Clearly this was not communicated in the correct manner on this occasion and this will result in further re-training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
Level Contributor
191 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

This was what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza (now or 15 years ago). But the hotel was comfortable and in good condition. Finding it wasn't easy but that was because I used Google rather than the hotel's directions.
The room was well equipped but not all that big as is often the case with older city centre hotels. It is very well located for the centre of Nottigham; less than a 5 minute walk to Market Square.
Breakfast was very good with a wide choice.
It was very good value at the rate that I got but even the normal rates seemed good value for a proper 4 star.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

I was booked in here with work for a conference. Unfortunately the conference was cancelled due to the snow so I did not get to experience everything at the hotel.

The general areas of the hotel are all really nice and look quite impressive. However the rooms are more tired and could do with a revamp. I agree the rooms are not huge however they did contain all we needed and were comfortable.

We used the spa area which was nice.

he hotel had a good location being close to the town centre.

I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah6969pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2009

This is the worst Crowne Plaza I have stayed at.

Extremely challenging to find, just another concrete monstrosity and by no means modern.

Inside they advertise a stylish hotel but plastic trees aren't stylish in my book.

Upgraded room provided on opposite side from nightclub however ear plugs still provided.

The bathroom had not been cleaned properly; toilet bowl, rubber bath mat, end of bath had various deposits remaining.
The wash hand basin drained sooo slowly.

Bedroom fair size but what an uncomfortable bed.

The privilege of paying £9.30 per night to park my car in their car park.

Handy for the city centre and wide choice of restaurants.

  • Liked — City centre location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#25 of 54 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Address: Wollaton Street, Nottingham NG1 5RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nottingham is one of the most stylish hotels in the Midlands. In the City Centre nearby many Government offices, both Universities, the Queens Medical Centre and Casinos, Crowne Plaza Nottingham has air conditioning in every bedroom plus an indoor swimming pool.Close to East Midlands Airport and the city centre attractions and shops, we have 210 bedrooms including flat screen TV's, mini bars and laptop safes (in most rooms). In addition we have a choice of bar and dining options, a leisure club and our own 600-space car park with direct access into the hotel. As the East Midland's No1 Conference and Meeting venue we offer 17 excellent rooms from a Boardroom for 6 to a conference for 400 including your own dedicated conference partner, use of Workbase and the services of our own in-house technician with the latest audio visual equipment with wireless internet access. From ancient to modern, Nottingham is the home of Robin Hood and Paul Smith, combining history with style as the East Midland's premier shopping City. Our sporting heritage is unparalleled too with Trent Bridge cricket club, 2 football teams, The National Ice Arena, Nottingham Castle and the National Watersports Centre, only a few of the great places to visit in Nottingham including the renowned nightlife. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing