We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly hotel with character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly hotel with character”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Have just spent a relaxing weekend at the Bestwood Lodge Hotel. We were in the King James Suite and our son had a seperate room (28). Bed was extremely comfortable, I often have problems sleeping when away from home, not here. Room was clean and tidy, adequately furnished, lovely views across the parkland and apart from some noise from a Wedding Reception on Saturday evening (finished at midnight, so perfectly acceptable) was lovely.
We were also travelling with our eight year old dog, a golden retriever, which sometimes makes for difficulty when staying in a hotel. However, the hotel staff were very welcoming, providing us with suggestions for walking the dog. The dog obviously was not permitted in the restaurant but we ate on two occasions in the Bar, where the meals were good value for money and very democratically priced. A wide selection of items for breakfast, the cooked English was all fresh and hot, my wife was slightly critical about the quality of the continental pastries (but she is Belgian) but other than that everythig was fine. In addition we found the free wi-fi throughout the hotel useful having been travelling for over a week and were able to check our mail etc. We would certainly return to stay at the Bestwood Lodge Hotel again. Lovely friendly staff in a comfortable hotel with character.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slaamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    126
    111
    81
    44
See reviews for
106
138
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed in the family room for wedding, oh boy it' really tired. It' drab, and uninteresting! Bathroom taps had remnants of toothpaste on, mirror smeared and the room in desperate need of a total redecorate.

Where do I start...

On arrival the reception desk needs sorting out. It needs to looks uinviting and business like, it's terrible.
The bar.... Man was pleasant and helpful when choosing the wine.
When organising a wedding...put the canapés out on the same table as the drinks and let guests help themselves , it works better. Also have on member of staff behind the table with the drinks and canapés on and ask the guests if they would like a drink when they arrive at the table, this is more professional.

The restaurant when eating our meal, slow service, and the waitress even asked me to to pass her the 'gravy boat' whilst I was eating...this is not on...sort yourself out staff.

As you have so many weddings going on do you not have a wedding co-ordinator etc and someone on hand to advise you how it's done?. I don't like to complain as the wedding was lovely but all these niggles just need to be sorted and can be!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank christinanevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

Arrived on Thursday night 4 our friends wedding on Friday . On arrival we were impressed by the building and the beautiful surroundings ,reception staff very welcoming room nice & clean ,go down 2 the bar beer choice not the best but good service . Breakfast on Friday day of the wedding was excellent self service but the choice was amazing, the wedding service was excellent followed by the meal which was cooked to perfection , evening food also , a excellent hotel as a wedding venue , or a stay just 2 enjoy the beautiful walks around its 700 acers. It's a well run hotel & the staff deserve a lot of credit , we would definitely give this hotel a return visit

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northamptonshire
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Have just come back from the bestwood as our friends had there wedding there, this is such a beautiful old building and they have kept the character really well, we arrived to a friendly reception and checked it our room number 18 was lovely clean and comfortable a bit of a maze to find but once we had found it it was ok.
The cleanliness of the room was excellent the shower was lovely, the room at night was very warm and the bed was quite comfortable
The breakfast in the morning was one of the best breakfast we have ever had everything you could think of, fresh fruit cereal full English and other things perfect
The wedding it's self was beautiful the chapel there is such a lovely place, the sit down meal was just heaven again we couldn't.t fault it.
We had a walk around the grounds it's such a tranquil place.
I would say the only mark down would be the 1 bar staff but that's about it.
Well done best western we would Defo stay at one of your hotels again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debsthewinehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Beautiful old country house set in good location for activities in and around nearby Nottingham.
Located close to A60.
Clean and comfortable and good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

3 members of our party could only have cold showers. One complained and was eventually moved to another room (so they seemed to accept that there was a problem with that room) - the second couldn't get ANY reply from reception, gave up trying and settled for just having a wash - tthe third complained to reception, was told that it would be fixed later that day, came back to find the same problem at end of day ... and was then told no-one else had complained!

Add to that the cold bacon for breakfast, the cold plates for hot meals & the less than warm welcome (at least from one rather grumpy member of staff on reception) & you might think this was a fairly COLD hotel - and you would be right (apart from some of the rooms which were so hot people had to try tosleep with their windows open all night & suffer a lot of noise!

Don't even think about staying here unless everywhere else is full! .... and even then, don't stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueWren_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Excellent location, set in the middle of a country park but only 10 min drive from nottingham. Very grand exterior. Room was basic but had plenty of character, modern bathroom with a powerfull shower. Good breakfast with plenty of choice on the hot buffet.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomholly1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.5 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Trowell M1
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
4.4 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#32 of 49 in Nottingham
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel

Property: Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
Address: Bestwood Country Park, Nottingham NG5 8NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bestwood Hotel Nottingham
Best Western Nottingham
Nottingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing