We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but at a price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A really good looking former estate house set in Bestwood park, off the beaten track over some high speed humps, small but adequate reception area [ the receptionists needs attention] doors into the bar area leading to the stairs really good walk round gallery to the rooms overlooking the bar area, our room was fine with the usual bits and bobs, but not worth the £81 pounds room only price tag for a one night Saturday stay, breakfast was £11.90 per person so we declined again I think it's way over priced, the main attraction to this place is it's location but if you want to go into town then driving or a taxi are required. If I had a choice I would book the Hilton in the city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in desperate need of updating!
I stayed for 10 nights due to work.
The rooms were tatty, carpets didn't reach the walls, paintwork was cracked, the tv's didn't receive all channels and I had to put my alarm on 10 minutes earlier just to turn the shower on in order for it to get warm.
The staff were nice but things did lapse. 2 days I missed breakfast as it was put out too late, I put the iron out that I'd borrowed to be returned and it stood there for 3 days and the room wasn't hoovered the whole time I was there!
I wouldn't stay again and I certainly wouldn't recommend it for a function!
Sorry!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank LyndsayBayles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just stayed at the Best Wood Lodge Hotel for a wedding. A old hotel in beautiful parkland, however it needed some attention. just small things like lights not working, last occupants shampoo bottles left. however the room was clean. Another wedding on the Friday night kept us awake, as being hot the guests were outside, as did the wedding Saturday night (two weddings each day) Breakfast was the usual type of hotel breakfast, well presented and hot. The wedding reception we attended was nice and a good idea having afternoon tea, but more tea would have been welcome. The staff were a bit rushed. The evening reception was nicely laid out (a BBQ) and very heavy rain prevented the use of outside However there was room to mix with the extra guests. A typical 3* hotel and with a bit of extra attention could be very nice. We probably would stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms away from the noise of wedding reception or parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MarianBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely place with wonderful staff! The food is great. The place could with lick of paint and a bit of sprucing up but I think it's a listed building so not sure how much can be done. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine101_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is located in a Country Park on the outskirts of Nottingham to the North East. It is great place for peace and quiet. The staff are very helpful and friendly but the rooms are a little small compared with other Best Western hotels we have stayed in, although very comfortable. We stayed a week and it was ideal base to explore Nottinghamshire. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WickersWorld50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Was at this hotel on business and the view is great surrounded in own grounds but I would suggest parking in the main hotel car park as it does have a few persons passing through but the room was good although the remote did not work for the TV also the shower took forever to heat up. But that said lovely building and facilities.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mapledown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Aside from the obvious (in desperate need of an update/renovation) this place is lovely. So much character, you can imagine the Downton Abbey type lifestyle that went on here once upon a time. Only gripe I had was the toilet hadn't been cleaned properly, with (to be blunt) 'skid marks' left in the bowl. We didn't mention it as we had arrived late and had already had problems with the second room that been booked and paid for but was mistakenly not on their books. However, despite being fully booked, they took full responsibility and managed to upgrade this room to one with a lovely four poster bed.
Other than the cleaning issue, no complaints and a lovely stay! Look forward to going back when it's been done up, (I hope in keeping with the character of the property). Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank VettieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 41 in Nottingham
2,409 reviews
5.1 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#5 of 41 in Nottingham
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel

Address: Bestwood Country Park, Nottingham NG5 8NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: £59 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bestwood Hotel Nottingham
Best Western Nottingham
Nottingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing