We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended as a wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Highly recommended as a wedding venue”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My daughter got married here a few days ago. The main wedding party stayed overnight after the service. The registrar came out to conduct the legal marriage in the morning and later on we had a Christian marriage ceremony in the chapel. Afterwards we had the wedding breakfast in the function room, went outside for photos and games in the wonderful grounds and inside again in the evening for the disco. So everything on the same site.

We are full of praise for this venue, the staff were professional in handling all aspects of the wedding and were helpful and polite in their dealings with us. They helped to make this memorable day run very smoothly. The rooms and breakfast were of a high standard.

On our experience I would recommend this venue for a wedding without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    126
    111
    81
    44
See reviews for
106
138
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is nice. It's an old building and there are lots of things that require fixing. It is probably a listed building though is that May be more difficult. Water leaking in the building in monsoon proportions in places. Rooms need updating but were very comfortable, clean and tidy. Breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our wedding was here in March and my most of our guests were not local so booked rooms at the hotel. The reception staff were very helpful when taking our bookings.
The chapel room has to be one of the prettiest civil ceremony rooms I have seen, none of the corporate look in here, and makes for stunning wedding pictures.
The ballroom, when decorated up with the flowers and the trimmings, looks amazing. The staff were brilliant in helping us to get the room sorted so we had exactly what we wanted, even down to a last minute slight change of plan in the reception bar. The hotel had no objections at all when we went a bit "all out" with extra decorations in the toilets, a sweet table, a photo booth and loads of little extras and the patience of the staff was excellent, coping with all my last minute adjustments to numbers, table sizes, room bookings etc with out any signs of despair! After completing all the decorating of the chapel and the ballroom in the morning, I was offered a complementary pot of tea with the manager so that I could sit for a minute and take in all the hard work we had acheived before the real action started.
Our 'toast master' kept every one informed of what was happening and where they were expected to be so there were no last minute stragglers following the bride down the aisle.
The wedding breakfast was delightful and was served quickly and without any fuss. They even arranged a special culinary treat for the father-of-the-bride. The evening buffet was so plentiful and with so much choice that there was actually more than the guests could manage.
All the staff involved were great, so helpful, nothing ever seemed too much trouble.They were always on hand, but were not at any time intrusive, and the wedding flowed seamlessly throughout the day.
Despite quite a few sore heads the next morning, many of the guests made it down in time for breakfast and by the amount of food consumed they appeared very impressed with the choice and quality! Again, the staff were on hand, offering much needed tea and coffee.
Some of the rooms were starting to show some signs of wear and tear around the edges but were clean, which I think is more important, and the bed was exceptionally comfortable which is essential. The building is not a new one, and so it is bound to have a few wrinkles showing here and there, some could be revised but some need to be accepted as part of the character of this lovely old house.
This hotel offers great wedding packages that can be tailored to any budget. They are happy to adjust the details to make the wedding the "fairytale" you were dreaming of and I cannot thank them enough for making our wedding perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuliaBE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager17, General Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed response. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your wedding and thank you so much for all your kind words. Congratulations once again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-Upon-Humber, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had our wedding here in July 2014; 90+ guests during the day and 130 in the evening. We can't recommend it highly enough. The staff were brilliant and the organisation prior to our wedding was faultless; the staff worked well with our suppliers of such things as flowers, sashes etc. On the day, everything went perfectly. Both the wedding breakfast and evening barbecue were truly outstanding in terms of quality and very generous in terms of quantity. The chapel, ballroom and terrace were beautifully prepared, although the outside tables/benches are nearing the end of their useful lives. The staff were helpful and polite throughout the event including in the early hours in the residents bar. The availability of the terrace meant that those more interested in catching up with each other, rather than listening to the disco, were able to do so in relative peace. We booked almost every room in the hotel and I heard no complaints from any of our guests. The rooms were all clean and well prepared with the normal selection of tea/coffee and the range of toiletries we have come to expect in hotels today. Breakfast was included and the buffet was well stocked and replenished regularly throughout the serving period. This is a venue with real character and a wonderfully interesting heritage set on the edge of a country park; for us there were many opportunities for woodland photos and some of our guests enjoyed a walk the following day before they left. If you want modern, soulless, antiseptic clean it is not for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager17, General Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for all your praise and kind words. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your day and that everything was such a great success. I can assure you that I have passed on your comments on to all the staff involved in your special day. Thank you once again and very best wishes for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The website and its gallery make the hotel look nice and inviting, but only a select few rooms are shown. The ones not shown are in a bad state, and in dire need of being updated! The beds were comfortable and a great nights sleep was had, it was exceedingly hot in the room and the helpful night porter provided us with a desk fan upon request. That was after he had to go and get a fold out bed as the room we'd booked with a Double and 2 singles only had 1 single bed in it. Breakfast was a disaster, once being served luke warm tea and coffee we had to listen to the lady serving constantly apologies to other guests for the same reason, luke warm tea and coffee, then again for the poor state of the food which was in the warming trolleys. The food in the warming trolleys looked like it had been sat untouched since 7AM when breakfast starts, we sat down at 8:30AM, after serving ourselfs we found most the food to be also luke warm and rather uneatable! When leaving I complained about the fact we had to wait for a bed on arrival, the receptionist who also happened to be the serving lady at breakfast said her usual apology which I'd heard a dozen times at breakfast then promptly blamed the night porter! Next time I'll stick to a Premier inn

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank taxigaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nottingham hotels

redbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

as a carer in need of short breaks this is an ideal venue to relax and unwind with fantastic rooms and a good restaurant if needed. The hotel is in extensive grounds so good for walking or jogging and there are stables nearby, although we did not try these out this visit. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A really good looking former estate house set in Bestwood park, off the beaten track over some high speed humps, small but adequate reception area [ the receptionists needs attention] doors into the bar area leading to the stairs really good walk round gallery to the rooms overlooking the bar area, our room was fine with the usual bits and bobs, but not worth the £81 pounds room only price tag for a one night Saturday stay, breakfast was £11.90 per person so we declined again I think it's way over priced, the main attraction to this place is it's location but if you want to go into town then driving or a taxi are required. If I had a choice I would book the Hilton in the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
3.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Nottingham
2.5 mi away
Cockliffe Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham Trowell M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
4.4 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#32 of 49 in Nottingham
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel

Property: Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
Address: Bestwood Country Park, Nottingham NG5 8NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bestwood Hotel Nottingham
Best Western Nottingham
Nottingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing