We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saved by the staff.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Via Fossa

Via Fossa
Ranked #438 of 1,395 Restaurants in Nottingham
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
218 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Saved by the staff.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We sat outside Via Fossa for lunch a couple of days ago. Great location, right by the canal - I can't comment on the interior as I didn't go inside. The menu was pretty basic pub food, and we put our order in. An hour later we were still waiting...... Luckily we weren't in a huge rush, but lots of people sitting near us were on their lunch hour and some asked for refunds as there was no sign on their food. When my partner went in to ask when we could expect to be fed, it was to find chaos at the bar with the kitchen asking front of house not to take any more food orders! Eventually our lunch arrived with many apologies from the waiter, plus a lady who I assume was the Duty Manager came out to apologise and offered us a round of drinks on the house as an apology for the delay. The gesture was appreciated and we left feeling appeased, thanks to the way the staff dealt with the situation. Food was fine - it's not fine dining, just pub food - and was very competitively priced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    10
    11
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous 21st Birthday Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My daughter had her 21st birthday party in the balcony bar - can't fault it - perfect in every way - food was fantastic - staff were lovely - nothing was too much trouble for them - reasonably priced well stocked bar - recommend DJ was brilliant playing everything requested - can't thank you enough for making my daughter's night absolutely perfect - one very happy Mum

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GirlsOnlyTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent food at good prices - not baby friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have been to Several pubs along the canal on nights out and just for lunch. Most are baby friendly with high chairs and changing facilities. I went for lunch with a friend and my one year old. Unfortunately there were no high chairs available and the baby change facilities left a lot to be desired. The food was really good value and came out quickly. The staff were friendly polite. I would definitely recommend this for a night out or lunch with friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Via Fossa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear SiobhanRhodes

Thank you for providing us with your review

I can confirm that I have passed on your comments about your visit to the management team and to the Area Manager of the Via Fossa who would like to thank you for your feedback and to let you know that they have taken your feedback on board and passed it to the relevant teams.

We do hope to see you soon in the Via Fossa soon.

Kind regards,

John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place too eat and drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

So glad we gave it a try. Fabulous cuisine that really puts others in the shade. Flavoursome yet distinctive, you recognise what you've ordered and the quality of indredients with masterful cooking really comes to the fore. So nice, so unexpected, and really made our evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocking and not in a good way”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Welcome staff were polite and friendly that's the end of the good points -
Food disgusting clearly powdered watered down soup , then they brought out veg that looked like scraps scraped onto a plate ready to be thrown , pork chicken frozen over done roast potatoes gravy and SALAD, salad was scrappish as well , wine that you get throughout the night took a few minutes to work out if they given us the wine or if it was just water with a funny taste, entertainment resembled that of a poor caravan park pub you get in skeggy and the wooden benches after 3 hrs of sitting on them do not do wonders for your bum , will never ever go again very poor

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie_donny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Via Fossa, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Suzie_donny,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Via Fossa - Nottingham in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Via Fossa also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Via Fossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing