We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic day out for us nottingham locals”

National Water Sports Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Holme Pierrepont Country Park, home of The National Water Sports Centre is a hidden gem just 10 minutes outside of Nottingham City Centre! Boasting 270 acres of country park and a 2km Regatta Lake, which as well as being great to walk, run or cycle around, also contain a huge range of activities for all ages! Activities include: - Sky Trail High Ropes Course - Mini Golf - Segways - ECombat Laser Tag - White Water Rafting - White Water Tubing - Lazy River Tubing - Wakeboarding - FootGolf - X Runner Assault Course - Children's Playground The centre also has a state-of-the-art gym with lakeside views, conference facilities, en-suite accommodation and an 18 acre campsite with Camping Arches and Tipis alongside traditional camping pitches.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic day out for us nottingham locals”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

known locally as Holmepierre point water sports it has recently been granted lottery funding so since my last day out there last year was pleasantly surprised in quite a few improvements, well the parking is still free, there are new café bars, restaurant and skytrail , also Segway and cycle hire,. quite a good holiday feel about the place , relaxed atmosphere, watching the guys canoeing and white water rafting is good, not tried it yet though, and it adjoins the trent so lovely walks with the dog, he likes the watersking too which is just a little further down past a nature reserve and water skiing is in tow, all great fun and a lovely day out , xx so glad its on my doorstep

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Belinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWSC_Nottingham, Marketing Executive at National Water Sports Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Belinda,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - we're so glad you enjoed your time here and like all of the improvements we've made. We hope to see you again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    49
    7
    1
    10
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you go to a regatta you expect all weathers & we got them! Go prepared especially in the boot dept. as the area quickly turns into a quagmire when it rains. This is a great place to watch rowing events etc.& go for walks. It's best to take a picnic as there's only one food outlet & it's very busy. The events are extremely well organised & run to time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Wakebarding”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Great facility good times had only hampered by the continued breakdown of the cable ..
Shut early last year due to breakdown and broke again and closed for past two weeks ...
Fingers crossed its working again soon

Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A cracking day out”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I'd been white water rafting before but not at this centre. I'd heard good things and I wasn't disappointed. We were lucky enough to have George as our guide down the white water and he was excellent. A good briefing and spot on commands all the way down meant we kept the raft the right way up no matter what waves we surfed.
A thoroughly good time was had by all and all hangovers from the previous nights stag party were rapidly dispelled!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWSC_Nottingham, Marketing Executive at National Water Sports Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Great to hear you had such a good time Mark! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rafting review - no experience of hotel”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Paid £350 for hire of raft, instructor and wet suits for 2 hours. Plenty of waiting with 3 x 2 minute runs down the course. Manhandling the raft back to the start each time is not fun, tiring. Being in river water with run-off chemicals, animal waste and bacteria causes illness (no, cola doesn't help). Not good value compared to other options, more enjoyable ways to spend the money and the time. I reflected on these considerations before booking and still went ahead. With the experience now behind me, I would not book rafting a second time. Yes, a two-star experience, nonetheless an experience, but read on. Staff attitude contributed nothing, to put it politely. For this reason alone, I would not recommend a first booking to anyone, unless booking on behalf of a corporate team that require a salutory lesson in customer relations. The entire event can be ruined by such people, regardless of whether the earlier considerations affect your experience or not. The ethos seems to be that most people don't come back, so, once they have your money you don't matter. I am now on their "most people" list, you don't have to join me. Spend £150 on a 2-hour lunch and donate £200 to Save the Children. Divert resources from the greedy to the needy, you'll have a much bigger smile. :-)

Helpful?
4 Thank Asita-Piers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWSC_Nottingham, Marketing Executive at National Water Sports Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hi,

Thank you for leaving your review and we're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience of White Water Rafting. Can you let us know the time and date that you visited us so that we can follow this up for you?

Our White Water Rafting course is fed by natural river water from the River Trent, however we do everything we can to monitor the water quality and always outline these factors to customers on booking and arrival at the White Water Course.

Just let us know the date you visited we will look into this further.

Many thanks,

The National Water Sports Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Water Sports Centre also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to National Water Sports Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing