We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“80th afternoon birthday tea”
Review of The Elwes Arms

The Elwes Arms
Ranked #23 of 1,455 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Privately owned, family run pub and restaurant in the heart of Carlton. The Elwes arms uses fresh locally sourced produce to prepare homemade delicious cooking. We cater for most allergies and can accommodate all special requirements. Functions are our speciality, with packages to suit all budgets and occasions from Baby showers, Christenings, Weddings, Family occasions, Birthday Parties,retirment and farewell parties including funeral wakes. We have a very active events and entertainment diary. Please visit Facebook for the latest updates.
Reviewed 15 October 2018

I can’t praise Beccy and her team enough for the welcome our family and 50 guests received on Saturday. It’s a lovely party venue, food perfect and everything was so well organised. Quite a few of the guests hadn’t visited you before but I’m confident that they will return. Thank you for making mums day so special.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Journey749924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

The elwes arms were kind enough to recently host a leaving party at very short notice for a colleague leaving us at work. They put on chip cobs for around 30 people for us free of charge and staff were continuously asking us if we'd like any more drinks and if everything was ok. Great local pub with brilliant staff who make all feel very welcome.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Brilliant service by all staff very helpful and the band Swing when you're Blue excellent as always.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Chose this venue for a big family party having been here numerous times for various events, meals and just for drinks. Didn't disappoint! Some guests also had disabilities. Service absolutely outstanding across the board. Nothing too much trouble.Excellent food, environment and dj Lee absolutely brilliant too. Played great selection and cross section of music. If you want a great time without having to worry, the Elwes is without doubt the best place to go. All is done for you. Becky, Dave, Luke, dj Lee and ALL the team THANKYOU. You made a lot of people very happy. Very very inclusive and respectful for customers with disabilities too and really do go the extra mile.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank hopkied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Hadn't been here for @ 25 years so we decided to visit after moving back to the area and reading the great reviews.
On entering, we thought the place looked great. A fantastic blend of modern and traditional, very impressive, spacious and comfortable.

For the record, I think it's a little bizarre that a "restaurant" only serves food for a 1.5 hour time window during the week - 17:30 - 19:00 - meaning we had to make a concerted effort to get there in time after work etc.

There was a reasonably varied array of drinks on offer, and the 2 barmaids (for 12 customers midweek?!?!) were friendly but a little over familiar and very scatty - mistakes with drinks orders were frequent, and vocalised long and loud after the fact.

The food was perfectly edible, but to be honest was very similar to the deep fried and microwaved fodder at a Fayre & Square or Hungry Horse (The Ferry Boat for instance) in my opinion.
Definitely nothing more than mediocre, just a little bit expensive considering.
Oh - I didn't appreciate the cat wandering around the lounge and dining area - I'm allergic to cat hair.

For our visit, the final nail in the coffin was as I was waiting at the till to pay the tab, the barmaids were actually openly discussing how to do the bare minimum while still appearing to be working !!! The staff were definitely more keen on chattering with each other and banter with customers at the bar than collecting empty glasses (or clearing tables of dishes)
Hope the owner reads this ......

Was hoping for, and expected much better after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, and it's a shame because it's within walking distance from home. I had hoped to have re-discovered a hidden gem =(

There are plenty of invitations around the place to "rate us on Trip Advisor" - well, here you go!

Unlikely to return I'm afraid.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anonymous T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Elwes Arms also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Elwes Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing