We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They try too hard to please”
Review of Haveli

Haveli
Ranked #68 of 1,441 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“They try too hard to please”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Made very welcome. Food good. Nice ambience.
I think my biggest problem is that the staff try too hard to please to the point of being obtrusive.
When we were in conversation the staff butted in several times and interrupted.
I suggest that they need to be obvious and available but not to constantly interrupt asking if everything is ok.
The attitude and attention is commendable but a bit OTT.
We will be going again and recommend this place for great food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Antwasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    67
    23
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
756 reviews
493 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 611 helpful votes
“Still the best in Nottingham..”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had another takeaway meal from 'Haveli' a couple of weeks ago and still can't believe the quality of the food. The food is always freshly cooked and full of flavour. Abit more expensive than your normal run of the mill Indian, however this is top restaurant quality food and well worth it! Will definitely be having another very soon. Would have no hesitation to recommend this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

First impressions were amazing - great welcome, lovely friendly staff who were 'all smiles', and nicely decorated restaurant and great staff uniforms. The food was fantastic, best selection of curries I have ever had and absolutely fantastic presentation of the food. Wow factor. This place does certainly go the extra mile. I could not fault one thing. Attention to detail was great. Don't know how you can sustain this but if you can keep this up great. Would definitely visit again even though a little out of the way for us.

Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
2 reviews
“Outstanding service & amazing food...”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I have been here couple of times.. and never been dissapointed... we were greeted by beautifully dressed waiters with smile on their faces. Food was on time and perfectly cooked releasing their aroma before you put it in your mouth.
Very good service and very attentive staffs. You will not even get chance to ask anything ,coz waiters are alwayz there to make sure whether you need anything.

In a simple words, best indian restaurant i have ever been..

Helpful?
Thank summer3629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We have visited on a number of occasions now and it isn't the restaurant it once was.
It used to be immaculate and almost intimate despite the size of the place.
Now they've packed in loads more tables it just feels cramped.
Lillies on all the tables when we visited were over powering with their smell - just no! Not everyone likes the smell of them.

Food too, the quality just isn't the same quality as last year. It doesn't have to wow factor anymore.

I think that it's probably my last visit for a while. There are too many great restaurants in Nottingham and most of them are cheaper.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Forest-Dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haveli also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing