We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”
Review of St James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St James Hotel
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I spent one night there last week. Check in was v quick, the small was fine and the bed comfortable. It was v quiet!
Breakfast was above average.
The location is central - close to station and to main shops.
Inexpensive - v good value for money.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Iskha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment, they are very much appreciated. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Nottingham.

Regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
There are newer reviews for St James Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Loved the new decor. The room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. Lovely friendly staff. I would definitely recommend staying here. Great value for money and close to city centre.
Only downside was that the wifi didn't seem to work with iPads, only laptops. Also had to reprogram the tv every time it was turned on.
But overall a great hotel and would definitely stay again if visiting Nottingham.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Rachel

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear that you like our refurbishment.

Please accept my apology for the issue with the WIFI on your iPad and your TV. If you would like to email me on chris.davis@stjames-hotel.com and advise me of your room number I will ensure this is looked in to.

Regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

First impression on entry was promising. Then placed in the pokiest, dirtiest kennel imaginable. Complained obviously, and got a room change to the last refurbished room. Unfortunately, its a twin. All fur coat and ... comes to mind. Looks like its trying to be like Malmaison. But Delboy style.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JDS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Please accept my apology that we were unable to allocate you a refurbished bedroom initially however I am pleased to see that you were able to move rooms on request. I am pleased to advise that from early April all guests checking-in will be allocated a fully refurbished guest room.

I am sorry to hear that you are not in favour of the cosmetics of our refurbishment. The vast majority of feedback has been extremely positive however we do fully appreciate that opinion on interior decor is very much down to personal taste.

Regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed at the Rutland square hotel for a weekend with friends. The hotel was clean and rooms were amazing, the staff were really friendly and very accomodating nothing was too much to ask. The hotel itself is only a few minutes walk from Nottingham town centre. Even though the hotel was being refurbished at the time we were staying we had no distruptions or issues with noise. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would all highly recommend it, great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clo1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recommendation. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Nottingham.

Regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at the Rutland Square Hotel as we were attending concert at FM Arena. Very good location to centre and also Nottingham Trent Uni. Breakfast was absolutely delicious with good choice of fruit, cereal and freshly cooked full English. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Carolyn

Your comments are very much appreciated, our team have done a lot of work upgrading our breakfast offering recently and it's great to see the hard work is paying off.

Regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Only stayed the one night, but I slept so well it was hard to leave. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious with an excellent variety to choose from. The entire hotel was quirky but spotless there wasn't anything you were left wanting for. The hotel it's self is literally round the corner from a row of quiet café/bars. Will definitely stay again next time we are in town to watch a concert.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Phillipa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Phillipa

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, I am very glad to see you had a good nights sleep with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Booked thru Laterooms and says Pets Allowed. Had a phone call later saying under new management and pets no longer allowed. As this was 21:00 with arrival 22:00 they did allow me and Oscar to stay in unrefurbished room. Otherwise good clean, well positioned hotel with nice food. Nice to have car park so close.

Room Tip: Would guess Refurbisahed rooms better than the un refurbished 5th floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar_The_Puppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Mike

Our sincere apologies for the incorrect information on the Laterooms website. This will be rectified as soon as possible. Thank you very much for making us aware.

Regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 48 in Nottingham
659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 48 in Nottingham
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#22 of 48 in Nottingham
1,939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#21 of 48 in Nottingham
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James Hotel

Address: 1 Rutland Street, Nottingham NG1 6FL, England (Formerly Rutland Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range: £57 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St James Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet area of Nottingham city centre adjacent to Nottingham Castle, the St James Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Nottingham train station and within a short drive of the M1 making the hotel a perfect choice for business and leisure travellers.Guest facilities include complimentary WIFI and onsite parking. Additional parking is available in the adjacent NCP car park. We operate a non smoking hotel policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your St James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Square Nottingham
Hotel Rutland Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing