We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed - irritating and lovely!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St James Hotel
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Nottingham
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed - irritating and lovely!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Let me give you the plus points first - The hotel staff were on the whole very friendly and did try to be helpful. The room was very clean, the bed very comfortable, the breakfast excellent. Sadly it was let down by a number of points: The hotel states that free wifi is available in all the rooms however this is not the case. Our room was at the end of a corridor and by the time you had walked halfway down it the wifi stopped. There was no chance of getting any internet in our room.
If wifi is important to you (and it was to the teenager I was travelling with!) then check which room you're in advance and whether or not it is likely to have working wifi.
We had a good nights sleep until we were woken by a noise that sounded like a helicopter taking off from next to our room. On investigation there was a large cupboard next to our room with enormous pipes that started up (we were told it was the kitchen extractors) at 6am. No chance of a lie in then!
It was a shame these things spoilt what could have been a lovely hotel stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0mac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat R, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to leave your comments, very glad to see that your room was comfortable and that you enjoyed your breakfast. I will pass on your comments to the team.

Thank you for making us aware of the issue regarding WIFI connection as a result of your feedback we are looking into installing some additional transmitters to improve connectivity.

We are aware of the issue regarding the kitchen generators and are looking into a viable solution.

We very much hope that you will consider staying with us on your next visit to Nottingham.

Regards
Pat Roadley. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    217
    118
    30
    16
See reviews for
70
209
57
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Spent one night and everything about my stay was easy, convenient and an overall good experience. The hotel is walking distance from the station and city centre so there are lots of things one can do.
Check-in was done, keys handed and i was in my room in less than 5 minutes. Rooms are small but as it was just me, it was cosy.
Breakfast was very good and the staff excellent- great hospitality and full of smiles.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat R, Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your positive comments, they are much appreciated, glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Pat Roadley, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I spent one night there last week. Check in was v quick, the small was fine and the bed comfortable. It was v quiet!
Breakfast was above average.
The location is central - close to station and to main shops.
Inexpensive - v good value for money.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iskha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment, they are very much appreciated. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Nottingham.

Regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Loved the new decor. The room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. Lovely friendly staff. I would definitely recommend staying here. Great value for money and close to city centre.
Only downside was that the wifi didn't seem to work with iPads, only laptops. Also had to reprogram the tv every time it was turned on.
But overall a great hotel and would definitely stay again if visiting Nottingham.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Rachel

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear that you like our refurbishment.

Please accept my apology for the issue with the WIFI on your iPad and your TV. If you would like to email me on chris.davis@stjames-hotel.com and advise me of your room number I will ensure this is looked in to.

Regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

First impression on entry was promising. Then placed in the pokiest, dirtiest kennel imaginable. Complained obviously, and got a room change to the last refurbished room. Unfortunately, its a twin. All fur coat and ... comes to mind. Looks like its trying to be like Malmaison. But Delboy style.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JDS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Please accept my apology that we were unable to allocate you a refurbished bedroom initially however I am pleased to see that you were able to move rooms on request. I am pleased to advise that from early April all guests checking-in will be allocated a fully refurbished guest room.

I am sorry to hear that you are not in favour of the cosmetics of our refurbishment. The vast majority of feedback has been extremely positive however we do fully appreciate that opinion on interior decor is very much down to personal taste.

Regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed at the Rutland square hotel for a weekend with friends. The hotel was clean and rooms were amazing, the staff were really friendly and very accomodating nothing was too much to ask. The hotel itself is only a few minutes walk from Nottingham town centre. Even though the hotel was being refurbished at the time we were staying we had no distruptions or issues with noise. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would all highly recommend it, great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clo1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recommendation. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Nottingham.

Regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at the Rutland Square Hotel as we were attending concert at FM Arena. Very good location to centre and also Nottingham Trent Uni. Breakfast was absolutely delicious with good choice of fruit, cereal and freshly cooked full English. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D, Director of Sales at St James Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Carolyn

Your comments are very much appreciated, our team have done a lot of work upgrading our breakfast offering recently and it's great to see the hard work is paying off.

Regards

Chris Davis, Head of Corporate Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Hart's Hotel
Hart's Hotel
#15 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham City Centre (Chapel Bar) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Nottingham
Park Plaza Nottingham
#24 of 54 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James Hotel

Property: St James Hotel
Address: 1 Rutland Street, Nottingham NG1 6FL, England (Formerly Rutland Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St James Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet area of Nottingham city centre adjacent to Nottingham Castle, the St James Hotel is just a 10 minute walk from Nottingham train station and within a short drive of the M1 making the hotel a perfect choice for business and leisure travellers.Guest facilities include complimentary WIFI and onsite parking. Additional parking is available in the adjacent NCP car park. We operate a non smoking hotel policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Square Nottingham
Hotel Rutland Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing